We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but in the location”
Review of The Bird Cage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bird Cage
Ranked #111 of 407 Patong B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Small but in the location”
Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

We had this booked for one night whilst moving on to kata beach. The room was clean but very small. No natural light in the room and felt quite claustrophobic. Staff were friendly however and location is good. Five min walk to the nightlife.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lauryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    72
    25
    10
    2
See reviews for
1
27
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here a few years ago and it has deffinalty declined since then . Spend the extra money and stay somewhere else , the beds were so hard we did not have a good sleep all week , by the morning you felt battered and bruised . Their was even a cockroach in our room. It is budget accom in a good position for young party gooers if you want somewhere relaxing stay at karon beach any where but patong ! Hotel staff friendly enough . Will be staying else where next trip . Also bathrooms were no overly clean on arrival witch is off putting .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

OK so this hotel is not 5* luxury, but the staff are friendly & helpful, it has a great location, the rooms are clean & it's not overly expenisve - what more could you ask for?
The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the huge shopping centre & also Bungla Road (where you will find hundreds of bars/night clubs/restaurants to choose from). Its just a few minutes further on to the bottom of Bungla road where you will find the beach - and if it's the beach you are mainly looking for I'm sure you could find something a closer.

Only downside is that there is no lift and when you have a girlfriend with possibly the heaviest suitcase in the world then carrying it up 3 flights of stairs isn't ideal.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Friendly owner and staff who attended to my enquiries. If you want to buy day tours, there is an agent outside the guesthouse which offer at a reasonable rate (able to buy airport transfer if you are staying here till the last day of your trip).

Located very near Patong beach (5-10 mins) walk just turn right from entrance. Jungceylon Shopping mall, restaurants, pubs are within walking distance. Staff recomended Banzaan Market near Jungceylon if you looking for nice streetfoods. Try the Thai tea/ coffee at one of the vendor.

Hotel room has basic facilities and good for backpackers. Also offer laundrette services as well.
Recomend to stay.

Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank kytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legazpi, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed here for two nights and I was surprised how friendly the receptionist was to us. The guesthouse was strategically located, takes about 10 min walk to Patong Beach. I only took a swim in patong beach once anyway.

It is very close to the bars, restaurants and the mall.
Room we had was small but was okay. No lift so if you have so much stuff with you, get the lower floors. I went to the rooftop to get a view of Patong.

Room Tip: lower level rooms as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ib_yang14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights , cheap,comfortable,friendly staff & strategic location, we happened to get a room on the 4th floor,no lift available, its not reccomended for eldery travellers.
Food,shopping,beach,bar street is within 10-15 minutes walk

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank litaindahsari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Stayed here for 1 Night before heading to Cape Panwa.

Rooms was Ok. Paid for abt USD40 so, cant complain much.

Food was easy to get. And shopping also.

2 streets from Bangla Road.

Walking distance to the Beach and JungCeylon.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
0.2 mi away
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
#93 of 322 in Patong
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
La De Bua
La De Bua
#104 of 407 in Patong
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nouveau Guesthouse
Nouveau Guesthouse
#110 of 407 in Patong
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fong Kaew Mansion Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Phusita House 3
#95 of 407 in Patong
8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Patong Budget Rooms
Patong Budget Rooms
#146 of 285 in Kathu
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bird Cage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bird Cage

Property: The Bird Cage
Address: 6/1-3 Rat- U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 407 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bird Cage 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Bird Cage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bird Cage Hotel Patong
The Bird Cage Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing