We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location.”
Review of The Bird Cage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bird Cage
Ranked #122 of 420 Patong B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 September 2013

A affordable, simple, quiet and comfortable hotel in a crazy place. The room was clean and room was always cleaned by the time we got back at the end of the day. The location is great as it is near the center and where all the party is. From the hotel you don't hear too much noise and sleeping can be enjoyed. Also on this street you have laundry services, motorbike rentals and tour options. Ideal place for couples that don't have too much luggage.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vuli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

The hotel building is not exactly new, but there is always a housekeeper who cleans every day. Check in and check out pretty quick process. The receptionist guy is unfriendly, but the lady was very friendly people. Overall, the hotel was quite nice with the cheap price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gotourtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

The room was very small, The sheets were dirty and full of stains and throughout the five days we stayed, they were not replaced.
We stayed here in very high seasonand pay a very high price compared to what we get!


Staff was nice, helped us take cheap airport transportation.

Great location!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebecca_davidov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I had an economy room here. Room was small but cheap. It was clean. Quiet street although very central location. Most of the crew was good. The surly one working at night hardly knew a word of English :-) WIFI was fast and reliable. Laundry delivered on time (Thanks). They also offer to book 'cheap' transport to the airport for 600 baht. I paid 1000 baht for the room in January 2013. Cheers! /Anders

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tretjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We had this booked for one night whilst moving on to kata beach. The room was clean but very small. No natural light in the room and felt quite claustrophobic. Staff were friendly however and location is good. Five min walk to the nightlife.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Lauryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here a few years ago and it has deffinalty declined since then . Spend the extra money and stay somewhere else , the beds were so hard we did not have a good sleep all week , by the morning you felt battered and bruised . Their was even a cockroach in our room. It is budget accom in a good position for young party gooers if you want somewhere relaxing stay at karon beach any where but patong ! Hotel staff friendly enough . Will be staying else where next trip . Also bathrooms were no overly clean on arrival witch is off putting .

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

OK so this hotel is not 5* luxury, but the staff are friendly & helpful, it has a great location, the rooms are clean & it's not overly expenisve - what more could you ask for?
The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the huge shopping centre & also Bungla Road (where you will find hundreds of bars/night clubs/restaurants to choose from). Its just a few minutes further on to the bottom of Bungla road where you will find the beach - and if it's the beach you are mainly looking for I'm sure you could find something a closer.

Only downside is that there is no lift and when you have a girlfriend with possibly the heaviest suitcase in the world then carrying it up 3 flights of stairs isn't ideal.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.1 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 334 in Patong
6,414 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Little Moon Residence
The Little Moon Residence
#49 of 334 in Patong
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Patong Studio Apartments
Patong Studio Apartments
#26 of 237 in Patong
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
0.7 mi away
Burasari Resort
Burasari Resort
#6 of 334 in Patong
3,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bird Cage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bird Cage

Address: 6/1-3 Rat- U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 420 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range: £12 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bird Cage 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Bird Cage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bird Cage Hotel Patong
The Bird Cage Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing