We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff. Quiet Location.”
Review of Lamai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lamai Hotel
Ranked #249 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Cairns
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Helpful staff. Quiet Location.”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed in on the top floor 18-28/07/2014 in one of the "Sweet Suites" and my brother had the other for 6 days. The rest of the top floor we had to ourselves as there is only a large patio/sundeck occupying the rest of the floor. The rooms were a good size with a good sized bathroom including bathtub. The air conditioning is very effective but the computer would have bouts of not being able to access the internet. I overcame this by just logging my tablet and phone into the wifi and using my own laptop. The food is tasty but at hotel prices (Thai style) and that's before the 10% service charge plus 7% V.A.T. Coming from Australia however, the prices were still worth me ordering room service and eating in the restaurant on several occasions. My favourite part of the stay was the friendly and helpful staff but I will probably make more of an effort to go out for food on my next trip.

Room Tip: The "Sweet Suites" are good sized room. 2 suites on the top floor then the rest is a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    30
    15
    8
    6
See reviews for
2
12
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I decided to stop at this hotel for their low room prices. I would say that the room is as per the price so no big surprised on this aspect. But, the bad surpised was coming from the staff which was surprisingly not friendly at all. I tasted the food once and it was not very good.
It is usual practice to give complimentary water bottles in hotels, not here i've been charged for small mineral water bottles and also nescafe.
To summarize, I would say if you dont have any money and you want to stay in patong, that's a right place but you need a bit more, At least a smile, Avoid it

Room Tip: the sweet suites are only a joke despite an access to huge horrible terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Yann_Fanch_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Patong hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We have just returned from a months stay at this hotel.
Booked because it was central to all things and each room had a balcony. Booked on the advice of local Flight Centre.
Unfriendly customer reception on arrival. Hotel very dated although it appeared clean. Balcony narrow and unusable and dirty.
Permanent wi fi was poor and unreliable. Wi fi broke down and hotel appeared reluctant to reconnect informing us it might be unavailable for at least five days. After regular complaints it was reconnected four days later.
Mid week as a result of attack by blood letting insects in large numbers a room change was asked for. Response to the request was not received with good grace although once holiday rep was contacted it was achieved.
The room was fumigated although mattresses were left on main stairway for duration of our stay. Room was cleaned every day and clean threadbare towels left in place.
Hotel not cheap by any standards.
Prices tended to have 4per cent stuck on for use of credit card 3per cent local tax and 3per cent plus service charge.
Much better accommodation in same locality and cheaper.
Roof terrace untidy and well past its best.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. Plenty of accommodation nearby and of much higher standard, for less money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KGSmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Field, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

A friend of mine and I just spent 4 nights at Lamai Hotel. The location is great, close to everything you could ever need. Our room was very nice, quite big and well cleaned, it even came fully stocked with a variety of things all for an additional charge of course. We asked the front desk to remove the extra items so we could go to the store and purchase our own supplies. I only have two negatives about this hotel, the first being the price on their menu, you can walk less than 5 min down the road to the markets and eat an amazing meal for half the price and have a lot more options. The only other thing I would say they could improve on is their customer service. The front desk staff seemed less than friendly and acted as if they would rather be elsewhere. On more than one occasion I stood at the desk waiting for assistance while the agent was texting on her cell phone or joking with a coworker. Don't even dare to say excuse me (politely) because you will get the look from hell, as if you were disturbing them from something more important. Like I said the hotel and location were wonderful but the staff at the front desk, not so much. Everyone else that we met that worked there appeared friendly enough. I wouldn't go back personally based on the service alone, nor would I recommend to family or friends.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank vacatime81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonta, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I have been to Patong 6 times and the last 5 times have stayed at this hotel. The rooms are always clean, staff very friendly. I have even met the owner late one night on my last trip and she was very happy to say hello to me. 24 hour room service is a bonus. Very close to everything including the beach and Jungceylon Shopping complex and 10 minute walk to Bangala Rd. No pool but anyways I wouldn't stay anywhere else and will be back again. Look forward to seeing all the staff again

Room Tip: if you don't like noise don't get a room at the front of the hotel, personally I dont mind i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moontafella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed here for a couple of weeks based on area close to Bangla Road and budget price.Loved being close to the Jungceylon for shopping and food. The rooms were of average size but had everything you need. My only minus points was the cold customer service from reception staff and the many insects and small bugs crawling over the bed. The roof terrace has seen better days and could do with a clean. The reception staff did manage a smile in the last few days of my stay. Try asking for a room away from the front of hotel as it's quite noisy at the front.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We didn't stay at the hotel but the massage & beauty shop attached was recommended to us. We had the BEST massage in Patong. Wish we had discovered them earlier in our trip. We had two pedicures & manicures which were both fantastic and professional and two massages. Would definitely check them out in your stay in Patong. The massages were 500 Baht and pedicure & manicure 400 Baht. A little more expensive than other massage places but SO worth it :)

Professional & friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarElise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.3 mi away
Lamai Inn
Lamai Inn
#146 of 322 in Patong
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Limburi Hometel
Limburi Hometel
#190 of 322 in Patong
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Orchid Inn
Grand Orchid Inn
#150 of 322 in Patong
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#58 of 322 in Patong
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acca Patong
Acca Patong
#139 of 322 in Patong
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sino House Patong
Sino House Patong
#207 of 407 in Patong
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamai Hotel

Property: Lamai Hotel
Address: 207/1-4 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#74 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamai Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Lamai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamai Hotel Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing