We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
47
27
10
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
27
10
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Upon my arrival at the Airport there was a taxi waiting for me, cheaper than the regular taxis. Iñigo, the owner, was awaiting for me and he was really helpful during my stay in Phuket. He was available all the time for giving advice and suppont. He even took a few people for a trip one day!.
The guesthouse is well located, very close to restaurants and bars, and just 10-15 minutes away from Bangla Road/Patong Beach and 5 minutes away from Joycelon. Nanai Road is not a very busy street, so it is not noisy at all. Rooms have A/C and are quite nice, with cable tv and free WI-FI. The swimming pool is not too big, but fine. The staff, from Iñigo to the cleaning ladies, are really nice and helpful. A very good place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patong_Accommodation, Manager at Valero Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for your great review, we hope to see you again in a future trip to Phuket,
don t forget to visit our website for last minute promotion and direct deals.
see you again soon ;)
Valero guesthouse, Patong Beach, Phuket.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We were celebrating our honey moon... We went to Valero.trying to save some money combining luxury hotels and comfortable/cheap hotels during our stay in Thailand.
This Guest house is perfect!!! It is not a luxury hotel, of course not but it is clean and comfortable...We were hosted in luxury hotels during our stay in Bangkok (Ramada 5*), Chiang Rai (The Legend 5*) and Chian Mai (Le Meridien 5*).... We came here just for 2 or 3 nights and we stayed 5 nights...then moved for 4 days to Le Meridien (5*) -we have saved 3 nights cost of le meridien...more than 450€...-
We are not habit to this kind of quality hotels but 4*-5*...It was acceptable and good choice for us as 1st time in a guest house.
Valero guest house is close to Patong beach and the crowded area of pubs (less than 15 minutes walk) and at the same time is in a quiet area for a good rest and sleep..
The street were the hotel is located has restaurants,supermarkets, laundry, exchange money...All you can need at home you can find in this street...if not...the owner will help you.
Rooms are spacious (similar in space than hotels mentioned) with a big size fridge, A/C (a must), balcony (all with pool views), FREE WI-FI in the room, a nice pool, a 7-Eleven Store at 100meters, they also organize tours, motorbike rental...and perfect explanations and suggestions of the owner about where to go for sightseeing or at night for party.
The owner (a big Basque guy from Northern Spain) has lived in UK, China and now Thailand.
He is friendly and has a special willingness to help and make you feel comfortable.
I insist that this is not a luxury hotel but it is clean and you can rest there. I can consider this guest house as a 3 star hotel (CLEAN room, basic furniture and comfortable bed): all these 3 points are approved
We stayed 5 nights...and we were considering to stay just 2 or 3 nights initially..

Our next trip to Thailand... we will repeat...1st time i have this feeling with a "hotel"...Now I have understood what VALUE is: to get more than paid

Jose (Spain) & Karina (Russia)
Thanks for everything to our new friend Iñigo (the owner)
thanks...many thanks

Room Tip: I was in the 2nd floor (top floor)...It was good. I think any room could be correct.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patong_Accommodation, Manager at Valero Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for your great review, we hope to see you again in a future trip to Phuket,
don t forget to visit our website for last minute promotion and direct deals.
see you again soon ;)
Valero guesthouse, Patong Beach, Phuket.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

Valero guesthouse is located in a quieter part of patong not far from other conveniences like the shopping centre, bars and cafes. Taxi service outside is very efficient and the food around the area very nice and cheap

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydwest49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patong_Accommodation, Manager at Valero Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for your great review, we hope to see you again in a future trip to Phuket,
don t forget to visit our website for last minute promotion and direct deals.
see you again soon ;)
Valero guesthouse, Patong Beach, Phuket.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

better find a others place around before you check in this G.H.
paid 900 baht , no wifi works properly. A/C is noisy. Bad experience.
far from the beach. at least 25 mins walk. A lots of others lodging nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aungzaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patong_Accommodation, Manager at Valero Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

thank you for your review
you came in february and paid 900 bahts, it s cheap for the season,
our wifi network work perfectly, i use it everyday, maybe you were not lucky that day, but it s not our fault, it s fault of the internet provider.
our aircon are well maintened, maybe you are a light sleeper as you don t use aircon in germany.
about location, we are like 20-25 mn walk to the beach as describe on all websites, i suggest you, next time to look at the map, before making a booking.
some people like to be on the beach, but it s croweded and way more expensive than the 900 bahts you paid.
you get what you pay for, don t expect a 4 star hotel when you book a guesthouse.
valero guesthouse, patong beach, phuket, thailand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

This place is as the name says, a guest house.. Has a swimming pool and calmness effect to it. Walk of 20 minutes from here will take you to patong beach and Soi bunglow. The owner was helpful,but didn't knew a great deal around the place.We could do better off going around. A/C was not comfortable enough and wifi was coming to the 2nd floor.No lifts. Probably little overpriced for what they offer. If you are looking for a basic stay.. perfect

Room Tip: Take rooms below if you cannot live without wi fi..Ask for discount
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanhasrinath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews