We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Summer Breeze Hotel
Ranked #5 of 405 Patong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I've stayed at the Summer Breeze on numerous occasions and know the place quite well. I have also previously stayed at a number of other hotels in Patong and although some have been very good, all, with the exception of one, have lacked that sense of familiarity you get when you stay at the Summer Breeze. Situated on Soi Sansabai, it is a five minute walk from the Jung Ceylon shopping centre and the entertainment of Bangla Road and ten minutes from the beach, so it's an ideal place to stay.

It's a relatively small hotel with four floors and I'd guess at around twenty something rooms. All are comfortable and clean and bright although natural light levels vary from room to room depending on where the room is situated. The rooms are cleaned and the bed linen is changed every day and there are two complimentary small bottles of water. The laundry service is quick and relatively cheap, and you also have an option of taking it next door where there is another independant laundry. As with many other similar hotels there is no lift, just stairs, which has never been a real problem and the staff will help you with luggage if necessary. The bar and restaurant area is spacious and airy and looks out onto Soi Sansabai which can be very entertaining at times. Breakfast isn't included in the price of the room but there is a wide selection to choose from and it is relatively inexpensive. If there's one thing that wasn't too good it was the television. Out of seventy or so channels, there were only a few that were in english and only one or two film channels. But it was a minor point and didn't detract from my stay.

As with any hotel, the staff form an important part of the experience. Impolite and poorly trained staff can be a nightmare and can make an otherwise nice stay into a very good reason not to return. Here lies one of the Summer Breeze's strengths. All the staff are polite, courteos and well-mannered. Most speak good English. They are professional yet at the same time friendly and informal and make any stay a real pleasure. Their relaxed and humorous attitude brightens up every day and there's always a warm greeting no matter which staff are present. The hotel owner is American and he manages the day to day business well, which can be seen in the way the staff respond to customers. He should be proud of his staff.

My stay was in July and August this year and unfortunately I had to be taken to hospital urgently. The staff were brilliant, checking up on me throughout the day as I became unwell and organising transport to the hospital when it was realised it was more serious. They were genuinely concerned and so caring, even visiting me in hospital in their own time. They also packed my bags and kept them safe until I returned. It's this level of personal service that sets the Summer Breeze apart from other hotels I've stayed in. I can't thank them enough for looking after me when I really needed it. Well done to them all.

So, will I return? Of course. A great hotel with excellent staff. Why wouldn't I?

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. The ones at the front have good views, the ones at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    36
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
8
33
125
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

This was my second stay at the Summer Breeze and it did not disappoint. I stayed for just over three weeks this time (July/August 2012) and felt very sorry to leave.
The location is excellent, within easy walking distance of the large Jung Ceylon shopping mall and also the Bangla Road nightlife.
However, the friendly and attentive staff meant I stayed in many nights. The food is very good, offering a mixture of Thai and Western cuisine.
A special thank you to the owner, Bill, who was always available to offer useful advice and to the bar staff who kept me company during my stay.
Looking forward to returning in 2013.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and ask for a lower floor room as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkMcQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I stayed in two different rooms, a superior and a junior suite. The superior was 33 dollars US and the junior suite was 40 dollars. I write this for the novice traveler to Phuket, as if you are seasoned, likely you don’t need my advice. Patong is a place that should be on ever man’s bucket list. If you have a pulse and a wallet, you have to go. If you have never been to Asia or Thailand, Summer Breeze is a great starting point.

Summer Breeze is located on Soi Sansabai, basically a small street off the main road. It is about a block to all the action and night life without itself being too loud or busy. You have Bangla road to the west and if you are gay, Paradise Complex to the north – literally minutes away. Most guest houses or small hotels are similar. The ground floor is usually a bar, restaurant and lobby which is open day and night, maybe not the restaurant. Most of the these guest houses do not have elevators. But otherwise they are charming, have a local owner and staff.

Summer Breeze is owned by an American named Bill. You can usually find him in the morning hours in the lobby and he’ll be happy to talk to you or answer any questions. Need laundary done? It’s about $1.50/kg, and it will take maybe two hours. If you do it through the hotel they will put it in your room folded or hung. Need a taxi? It can be arranged. It might be cheaper to get a taxi down the street, but I enjoyed the security of having them arrange it and the driver was polite, the car was clean and pumping the A/C.
Want to do a side trip, rent a motor bike, looking for a legit massage or tailor? Bill will personally help you out.

The rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly and kind. You will not find geckos chirping about. Most of the staff speak English quite well. There is a terrific night watchman (his name escapes me), who will take care of things in the evening hours, and look out for your welfare. The Thai people are kind and if you respect them and show that respect, you will be repaid 100 fold. One night there was a power outage and while Summer Breeze did not have a back up generator, there were battery operated emergency lights on every floor, and the night watchman was alert with flashlights. Summer Breeze is a guest friendly hotel. If something seems amiss, the night watchman will call your room to make sure everything is okay.

I would definitely book at the Summer Breeze again. The prices are quite reasonable. For my preference, I would get a junior suite at the back of the house, as things can get quite noisy around 4am in the street when people start to leave Bangla. For some, this might not be a big deal. In fact, when I go back, I would probably just book for the entire duration, and take side trips. HKT has direct flights to Koh Samui, Penang and other destinations. You also have the option of leaving your major baggage securely with hotel staff if you are coming back. This is very nice.

Room Tip: lots of good restaurant choices nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cody w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I've been coming to Phuket since 2000. This was my first time staying at this hotel and it was recommended by a friend. This is my last night here and I am actually sad to leave. Everything at this hotel is perfect. The room is great, super clean, the staff is exceptional, food is great, location is perfect and I will start staying here from now on. You can very much tell the owner cares about his establishment and has done an excellent job. The reviews aside from mine are spot on and I would encourage you to stay here first before anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveitinAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel, the hotel and staff where absolutely perfect. Located a two minute walk to the nightlife and local mall makes this a great place to stay. But with the staff you dont need to go out full of entertainment at the bar

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelheaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel, the hotel and staff where absolutely perfect. The food served both western and local foods where excellent. Located a two minute walk to the nightlife and local mall makes this a great place to stay. But with the staff you dont need to go out full of entertainment at the bar. A special thanks to Bill the owner and the staff for a fantastic stay. Next time I am in Patong I will be definiately staying

Room Tip: All excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris622_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Best hotel in the world! Not the best rooms, but they are clean and the staff is probably some of the nicest people around. The bar is a great place to pre-game and the food is about as good as it gets!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trond R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#25 of 322 in Patong
1,262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 322 in Patong
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#28 of 322 in Patong
1,561 reviews
0.1 mi away
C & N Hotel
C & N Hotel
#47 of 322 in Patong
317 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Breeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Breeze Hotel

Property: Summer Breeze Hotel
Address: 171 / 12 Soi San Sabai, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 405 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Summer Breeze Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Summer Breeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Breeze Hotel Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing