We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overwhelmed by that great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Flora Resort Patong
Ranked #40 of 321 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overwhelmed by that great hotel”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

In February 2010 we stayed (only) 1 night at that beautiful hotel. I would say that it was the best hotel I stayed at until now!
When we arrived at the hotel, they gave us flower-necklaces and a delicios coconut to drink out of it. They also asked us which kind of music we want to hear and which type of aroma we want in our room.
The room was big, very tastefully equipped and offered everything: TV, WIFI, DVD/CD-Player, a coffee-maker, a mini-bar, ...
The bathroom is also great with a walk-in-shower, hairdryer, and shower-accessoires.
The breakfast-buffet was amazing with a big variety of food (cereals, sushi, bread, cakes, ...)! The friendly waiter served coffee, tea and hot chocolate.
There were 2 swimming pools with very elegant divan beds. I really enjoyed swimming there.
We also got huge orange beach-towels that were very cosy.
I think that the central position of the hotel was great because it connected the beach and the hustle and bustle in phuket. I never felt disturbed by that.
So if you want a great and modern hotel to stay at you should definitely pic La Flora!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clauda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    167
    73
    28
    20
See reviews for
92
393
38
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This review is based on my third stay at La Flora.

I have had the privelage of staying in this stunning hotel on three occasions in the last 8 months and with each visit I can honestly say the management and staff are beyond reproach.

I am an Ex Airline Pilot hence I have stayed in over 1,000 hotels worldwide and La Flora is the best in every facet.

I stayed in a pool access room of which one walks out from your room and is confronted with a magnificent pool, what a view.

It gets better just walk 20 metres and you find yourself on the beach.

Room Service, The Current Of The Sea Restaurant, The Breakfast Buffet are outstanding both in the food and the outstanding service.

The location of this hotel is the best in Patong and the staff are an absolute delight, nothing is a problem for them and time and again they do anything to accommodate anything one needs.

It astonishes me that anyone would have any complaints when it comes to La Flora although I did notice while I was there some guests could never be pleased no matter where they stayed as some people have stupid expectations as noted on some recently added reviews here lately.

People if you want to stay at what is in my opinion a 10 star hotel look no further than La Flora, you will not regret it.

The only thing bad was the day I had to leave but I will again return soon.

Without doubt this is the best of the best, thank you to all the staff for making my stay full off wonderful memories.

Room Tip: Pool access rooms are outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fabian111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My husband and I stayed in a loft pool villa on our recent trip to Phuket. We were very impressed with the location, it was right in the middle of the action, although our room was very quiet. The only noise we heard was some fireworks going off a couple of nights, although our room was positioned in the middle of the resort and surrounded by other rooms which may have helped with the quietness. The service was fantastic both at reception and during breakfast. I ordered the waffles for breakfast each day which were yum. We had drinks at the rooftop bar a couple of nights and the view of the sunset was amazing, highly recommend this.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Nice beach-front hotel! This is one of four hotels located right on patong beach. We were very satisfied with the overall experience. The hotel itself is located within few minutes walking to the heart of patong. Room was nice, modern and clean. Service was great. They greeted us with a cold towel and coconut upon arrival. Staffs were very friendly and helpful, they would help you find taxi, recommend restaurants as well as confirming your flights.

Don’t forget to visit the rooftop bar, you can sit back and relax while watching the sun set. The view was amazing around 6ish.

Would definitely stay in this hotel next time

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nayuthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estepona, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed for two weeks, and were unfortunately very disappointed with our stay. We had prepaid the stay through agoda.com, at a price that seemed steep for what we got. Deluxe pool access room (at more than $400/night) was small. We changed rooms a few times, out of the manager’s good intention, but obvious inability to understand the needs of people travelling with a baby. Instead of listening to us, he maintained that moving to a more expensive room would be an upgrade – even if just for a couple of days…

The design of the hotel is bad: Most of the rooms have no privacy – you look straight onto the rooms across. The villas have absolute privacy, but (apart from the very best ones) make you feel caged in, with high walls surrounding a small terrace and pool. The bathroom designs are unpractical, and the quality is very bad. Dampness and smell is a problem.

Breakfast buffet is average for Thailand. Very good service on the “egg station”, but getting coffee took too long, and the veggies on the buffet where dry, the bacon was chewy and the fruit salad full of little flies.

Staff are nice, but so are they everywhere in Thailand. The location ON the beach sounds attractive, but it means a lot of noise (music and fireworks). We will not return to this hotel on our Patong visit next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank N0rwegians_0n_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We chose this hotel partly because of its high rating here on Tripadvisor. Their own website describes the establishment as "sparkling", "high-end", etc. We booked a pool access room at USD 400 per night. The first room we got was very small, and for sure there was pool access: Our toddler would fall right in to the pool, with no ladder or steps to get out again... The next day we were given another room which had a 80 cm wall up to the pool, and the room was bigger. Very well!

We are booked in for two weeks - have now spent six nights. We are travelling with our baby of 14 months, and for sure this hotel is not a family hotel.

The best thing is that is in ON the beach. The staff are very nice, but so are they in every other Patong hotel (we have stayed in five different hotels and rented an apartment here earlier years).

The worst thing is the nightly noise, from fireworks set off on the beach as late as five o'clock in the morning, plus the noise from the street (car stereos, promo of thaiboxing matches, etc.)

We also had a rat on our terrace, and the housekeepers never remember to leave us an extra set of towels for the baby. One evening we came back from dinner, the door to our room was left open, because housekeeping had forgotten to close it behind them. All these things have been reported to the staff and handled/apologized.

Lastly, the room is not exactly luxurious, the bathroom is smelly and poorly lit. At 400 USD per night I did expect a lot more. And even if I got a deal at 200 USD per night, I would much rather go to Burasari at the southern end of Patong Beach, comparable in ambience but with much nicer rooms - with privacy.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Norwegians_on_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

The last time I reviewed La Flora I summed it up as an "Exclusive Oasis in the Heart of Patong Beach". Well a lot has changed since then.

The oasis label is still appropriate despite some sleep quality problems due to the noise of fire crackers being randomly set off on the beach at around 3am - Chinese New Year or not - a matter referred to by another reviewer. This is a particular problem for La Flora with its absolute beachfront, albeit public - the only up market hotel with this amenity. In addition, the madhouse of Patong has got worse with no infrastructure improvements despite an endless stream of vehicles along the main streets in what has become a pedestrian unfriendly environment. It is now a very risky proposition just trying to cross the road. There is no obvious presence of a local police force. Patong has indeed descended into the sleazy tourist pit that I was once warned about and is now a haven for the hoi polloi.

As for La Flora, I think the overall quality of the resort has deteriorated somewhat compared to my previous stays. For example, I did not appreciate the overpriced and under strength cocktails, the now average food quality, the painfully slow internet, dimly lit bathroom, and the spacious but poorly furnished room. It is actually impossible to sit comfortably almost anywhere in the resort due to the hard edged furniture and either permanently reclined or bolt upright chairs. Mind you, on previous stays I was in a suite with a private pool, and those rooms are very private. However, most of the ordinary rooms are facing each other across a long narrow swimming pool and I was staying in such a room this time. Lack of privacy is one thing but looking at clothes drying draped over balconies is quite another.

Unfortunately, the more private room I requested (located on the 2nd level, north wing towards the beach - rooms numbered 236 thru 239) was not available even though I had made the booking months in advance. I was offered an "upgrade" to a pool access room which I declined because I consider these rooms on the ground floor to be less desirable, but I did manage to get an upstairs room close to the beach, even if only in the south wing.

To be fair, my stay at La Flora this time was during the peak season and the hotel was full and with many families with young children, and so the "oasis" label with its connotations of peace and tranquillity tends to be undermined somewhat.

In any case, the staff works hard to make your stay as pleasant as possible and I rate their service as mostly top notch. However, I don't think I will return to Patong any time soon.

Room Tip: The suites are best, otherwise rooms 236 thru 239 because they are on the 1st floor close to the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crdaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
1.6 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#26 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lupta Hostel
Lupta Hostel
#3 of 221 in Patong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Burasari Resort
Burasari Resort
#10 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Flora Resort Patong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Flora Resort Patong

Property: La Flora Resort Patong
Address: 39 Thaweewong Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Patong
#16 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#24 Spa Hotel in Patong
#28 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Flora Resort Patong 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Flora Resort Patong…Beachfront bliss embraces at your stay…Discover contemporary design, only a step to the beach, features truly relaxing Pool Villa, Pool Access, Surface Bar with panoramic views and indulge yourself throughout lifestyle entertainment in tropical paradise on Patong Beach. Just steps away from the pristine white sands of Phuket’s finest beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Flora Resort Patong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Flora Resort Patong Hotel Patong
La Flora Hotel
La Flora Patong
La Flora Resort Patong Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing