We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Orchids”

The Orchids Restaurant
Ranked #466 of 549 Restaurants in Patong
Price range: US$1 - US$12
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Love Orchids”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We eat at Orchids at least twice whenever we stay... great staff and service, happy to accommodate a large group. Food is cheap and always delicious

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PrueS40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    121
    43
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average food, but nice mango sticky rice!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This rating is for their mango sticky rice.

Other than that, the food is average. Price is not as expensive as those on the main road, but was really disappointed on the tomyum as it's not as flavorful as the others. Ordered king prawn - not bad. Panang curry is average.

For some reason, the staff are quick to clear the dishes. We are not done eating one of the dish and the staff almost came and took it away. We stopped her saying we're not done and she lingered around and was lightning fast to come over once the plate is empty. A bit rude to me. Could have waited till we're done eating right?

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank corrine6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka
Level Contributor
143 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“worth it!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

A little way down one of the side streets off the main Patong beachfront road. Very friendly staff, delicious freshly cooked Thai food, good selection of drinks and reasonable prices. They don't stint on the ingredients.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Inftraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service, good value”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stumbled in here as it was close to the hotel after a day of traveling to get to Phuket and really wanting some good Thai food and really cold beer.

The Orchids delivered!

The food is really excellent, we had a selection of Pad Thai, Tom Yum (spicy!) and a fried rice of some kind, followed by mango sticky rice. With a couple of beers, fresh coconuts and soft drinks it was around $50 for the five of us, really great value for Phuket considering the quality and quantity was so good.

We came back the second night just for the mango sticky rice and a beer...

Definitely a place we will eat again

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aegisint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beveridge, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Scrumsious Meals”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Could not believe the meals in this little restaraunt off Thanwewong Rd in Patong. St Called Soi Dr i think but down the back of a busy little lane way and the food was so delisous. The staff were great and sooo cheap. There were 10 of us and we had drinks, entrees, mains and deserts and at the end of the night our costs were $14 AUD each. We could not believe it so we went there most nights as you cant go passed that price.. Is a Thia Restaraunt but cooks western meals too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Blondie308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Orchids Restaurant also viewed

 
Patong, Kathu
Patong, Kathu
 

Been to The Orchids Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing