We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rico's”
Review of Rico's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rico's Hotel
Ranked #122 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rico's”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

First off, Rico's is best for party animals since it is situated right on top of a popular nightclub. So don't expect a good nights rest, especially on a friday or saturday night. Secondly, as you reach the first floor and all the way to your room there is a horrible stench of dampness and it does not go away no matter how much Yardley perfume you spray. Alrighty, enough meanness.. A big plus point was that the room is quite spacious and the ladies at reception are eager to help. They called our taxi when it wouldn't show, organised our airport trip and let us use the printer. So thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownKaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    35
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
3
16
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Belait
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

During my first trip to Phuket in May 2012, staying in Rico's hotel was heavenly bliss and less noise pollution from the popular nightlife in Bangla, but enough distance strategically located to all places we need to go (Jungceylon Mall, Patong Beach, etc).
When I came back to Phuket again in end 2012, I noticed that there are 2 brand new clubs and the tiger live band was extended facing the front location of the hotel. So, sleeping was a challenge for me.
Don't get me wrong though, I have no issue with the hotel because it has all that the essential accommodations I need (helpful staffs, good housekeeping, laundry service, elevator, airport transfer, very affordable room rates). Unless I'm a very heavy sleeper or am super wasted, I have no problem sleeping. But since I'm a very light sleeper, wearing ear plugs helps ALOT! :)
i don't mind staying there again. But, like I said earlier, due to the new clubs located right next to the hotel, earplugs are a must for me.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAJORPAINE1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

The hotel is in the heart of the Bangla Road action. Actually the location (being 100+m from the road) is okay. If you arrive after 6pm then you'll have to walk to the hotel as Bangla Rd is closed to vehicles after dark. The hotel is cheap. The rooms okay other than the big cock roach in the bathroom. The problem is that there is a massive, thumping disco on the ground floor so sleeping is difficult if not impossible. Phuket (or at least that part of Phuket) is awful ... too many blocks dressed as gals and the bars simply hustle to take your money. You'll be better to find a quieter area with nicer bars and proper gals.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SP, Brasil
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I've stayed in Rico's on different occasions since 2009 and found the hotel to be very consistent over the years. They offer clean, well equipped and spacious rooms in the heart of Patong’s Bangla Road. The prices are reasonable, and although they have increased a bit for the high season, you can still find great deals for the period outside Dec-Feb.

In my opinion, there is no reason to stay in Patong other than the nightlife. If you are planning to go to bed early or is travelling with children, there are much better places in Phuket, Krabi and in other great beaches of the Andaman coast. But if you find yourself considering a night out in Patong, Rico’s is a great place to stay. It’s located on a small Soi on Bangla Road, so you are in the middle of the action and still getting a little away from the noise when you’re done with the party. During the day you are a short walk from Patong beach, which, although not the best on the island, may help ease your hangover with a dive in the Adaman sea. Also within a few steps is the huge Jungceylon Mall, with hundreds of shops and restaurants.
Besides the rooms, the hotel does not offer much. Service is alright (rooms cleaned everyday with fresh towels if you want) and the staff, although a little bit reserved, can help you with the basics. There’s no restaurant on the premises, but again, you are in the middle of Patong, with hundreds of places to eat covering all price ranges.

I don’t know if I’m going to Patong anytime soon, but if would definitely stay at Rico’s next time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miguelitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Isa, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I have stayed at Ricos several times over the years and you cant beat the location in a Soi off Bangla road and a short walk to either the beach or to a large shopping mall with all the restauruants you would ever need and the best part about is that its staggering distance from the bars.The rooms are clean and comfortable but they cant seem to get rid of the sewerage smell that comes from the bathroom .As the hotel is at the end of the Soi its just far enough away from the bar noise as to be very quiet, so if you want an early night sleeping is no problem .I highly recommend this establishment , but be warned... LADYBOYS are not welcolme.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davowavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This hotel is at the heart of Bangla Road, which is the most happening party street in Patong.
Because it's at the center, you may expect some music noise from the clubs, but when the AC is on, and feeling exhaust, its not hard to fall a sleep.
This is a guest friendly hotel, but no LadyBoys allowed.
If you wanna have fun and party late night then stay here, but if you are looking for quite relaxation then stay away from this street.
The hotel has good size rooms, very clean, safety box in room, and staffs are very friendly.
The price is also amazing fro what you get.
I highly recommend this hotel, and would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikhil_b77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I booked a room for USD16 per night and when I reached there I was surprised that my room is spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and spacious. It is located right in Bangla road so if you're looking for something right in the middle of the action, Rico's is the place. Even though it's located in the busy area, it wasn't noisy at all at night. It's just few minutes walk to Patong Beach and there are lots of options for entertainment & food along the street.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaRachman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
P.S. Hotel
P.S. Hotel
#119 of 322 in Patong
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
K-Hotel
K-Hotel
#67 of 322 in Patong
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamai Inn
Lamai Inn
#146 of 322 in Patong
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Safari Beach Hotel
Safari Beach Hotel
#151 of 322 in Patong
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
C & N Hotel
C & N Hotel
#47 of 322 in Patong
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#58 of 322 in Patong
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rico's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rico's Hotel

Property: Rico's Hotel
Address: 64/10-11 Soi Bangla Square, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rico's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 348
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rico's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ricos Hotel Patong
Rico's Hotel Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing