We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average stay - pay for what you get ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amata Patong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amata Patong
Ranked #84 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average stay - pay for what you get ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here a few times now and until this stay I have enjoyed it! I booked through email with them and asked for what I had last year and even sent the same email to them! When arrived was given a small room with huge bed so no room to move around room! The bathroom was ok but there was no brick around the shower so water went everywhere! When asked why I was given this room when I asked for what I had last time they said they upgraded me last year but didn't tell me! So had the option to upgrade for an extra $50 a night! Passed on that as already paying $90 a night! The staff were rude about it on reception! All the other staff are lovely and have been great though! When housekeeping come they don't knock they just come in which is strange! I always lock my stuff in safe so just make sure you this this as precaution! The pool on the ground is ok but most of the time covered By shade the roof top pool is cool but not enough chairs and no chairs next to pool so people lie on towels next to it! I don't think I will stay here again! But you get what you pay for

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    307
    169
    48
    60
See reviews for
106
231
109
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Amata Resort. Yes, in a way to be calling it a "resort" doesn't seem very appropriate, since it lacks the stereotype activities and facilities that a Resort could provide. For me it was generally a decent stay, I will rate it 3.5/5. A decent and value for money stay hotel with pretty good location and decent service from the staff. Good for ppl with a budget looking for value stay, not advisable for travellers used to staying in luxurious hotels.Shall elaborate on the specifics below.

General:
The name aside, this hotel has been around for quite some time, evident in its furnishings and exterior, though it does have the new wing (I stayed at the old wing). Old school lifts, check-in counter, magnetic key tag for power slot and the old school silver key to open locked doors. Wifi is available for free both in public areas within the hotel as well as in the rooms, though it may be abit slow to those who come from countries with lightning fast internet connections. A public use desktop computer with internet access is available for use in the hotel lobby as well should you need it.

Location:
Situated on the parallel road inland, it can be a hassle if you want to head down to the beach often cause it would be a 5-7 min walk to Bang La road then another 5-7 min walk along Bang La road which leads directly to the beach. The good thing (or bad) is that the journey there makes you pass by endless street stalls, food carts, massage parlours and also the Jungceylon shopping mall (3-5mins walk from the hotel). If you are thinking about shopping or doing massages, they are everywhere on the main street outside the hotel (1min out to main road from hotel service road). Street stalls easily open till 1am on weekends and massage parlours too for some.

Hotel facilities:
The hotel offers safe deposit boxes which you can use if you want to store your valuables with them. The spacious lobby provides ample seating and walking space which also house 1 desktop computer with access to internet. The whole lobby has wireless internet though, password is written clearly at every table. Not been to the rooftop pool so I cant comment on that, but the ground pool was pretty decent, but not big. One side of the pool offers shallow waters at 0.4m and the other side is the deeper side at 1.2m (if I'm not wrong). Deck chairs are also available for use for relaxing or tanning. The pool also has a "bar" which sells a limited supply of drinks while you are there. There is also a tour counter which you can book tours but this counter looks quite pathetic. Try booking one from the shop right under the new wing; it opens till pretty late.

Room:
(Note that my stay is at the old wing, so probably won't be the same for the new wing)
I stayed in the deluxe room, but did not opt for and pay a higher price for one with pool view since im not too particular and hardly relax at the balcony anyways. Room was spacious, with a double bed, ample space on both sides of the bed even with the side tables and table lamps. Tiled floor and relatively aged furniture but still in relatively good condition. TV sits on the dressing table (not those new LCD type TVs) with most channels in Thai. Input is still analog and not digital though (using antenna) so don't expect crisp and sharp viewing quality. Room comes with shower and tub, good if you like to soak in tubs (only deluxe rooms and above i think). A work table which allows for writing or a laptop, a cupboard with hangars and also a small safe. Hairdryer is available,and also a drink stocked bar fridge. Room is pretty clean, no foul smell, Pillows are soft but bed is pretty hard. Strong AC and a master switch next to the bedside.

Getting there:
It is a 45min journey from the airport, transport is available right outside the airport itself. Saloon cars take you there for about 700-800baht whereas minibus costs only about 180baht. Expect heavy traffic into and around Patong area on the weekends as well as weekday evenings. If you book a pickup service from the hotel it will cost you 900baht per way via saloon car, max 3 person. Anything more should probably get the minibus (1500baht, stated 3-10 pax depends on space for luggage as well)

Overall:
I was not expecting much from this hotel. The hotel did live up to my expectations. Fairing relatively good for a 3 star hotel. Don't expect too much from the hotel. But I would say its a good value for money stay considering what it can offer and proximity to locations. I got the rooms on a sale price so that makes it ok. However, at full price I do not think it will be the correct price to pay.

Room Tip: If you can fork out a little extra, get the deluxe room with pool view Recommend to wait for sale a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderlustKeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Myself and my friend stayed at the Amata just recently only returning home today 11th January.
Although our room was described as a standard room, it was very far from 'standard.'
There were stains on the walls and there was a leak in the bathroom which left the floor
treacherous. The bathroom window wouldnt close. There was a glass door leading onto
a very narrow verandah where one could touch the roof of the building beside us. Because of the lack of natural light the room was always dark. We had to get an upgrade and paid a considerable
amount of money for it but were very happy with what we got. The staff were pleasant and
helpful apart from one or two on the reception desk. Our room was kept spotless and well
supplied with towells and toiletries. The bedlinen was snowywhite and there was a big window leading onto a good sized balcony. Room service was very prompt.

Room Tip: If you are getting the 'standard' room you need to enquire if there are windows and a balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilakerr48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Firstly, some things advertised about this hotel is incorrect. There are only superior rooms in the new building, if you book a deluxe you will be in the old building and have to upgrade at a cost. I stayed for 13 nights and after upgrade was given a room on the 8th floor, where the rooms are much better. I found a pigeon nesting with two eggs on my balcony, after they were removed the pigeons kept returning and the mess was terrible. The balcony, bathroom sink and bathroom floor were not cleaned for the duration off my stay. My sheets were not changed at all. They did not check or replace anything in the fridge again for the duration of my stay. The rooftop pool and chairs was never cleaned and were really dirty. There was a bottle on my floor outside the lift that was there for a week before someone actually removed it, needless to say the floor was not cleaned either. They advertise 6 bars, the rooftop pool had a small fridge with a few drinks and there was no food advertised but if you did want something it came on a plate from the restaurant in the other building, 9 floors down and across the other side. The rooftop pool was never open at 11am. There was a small bar at the other pool and one in the restaurant, which you could access when it was open. The restaurant closed at 7pm, so I could not sample the food as I don't eat before 7pm. The breakfast was not worth the 280baht. The staff were all friendly, with the exception of one female on desk in new building. The Wifi worked well, after I had to ask for it to be fixed when I first arrived. Had no TV for 3 days till they fixed the ariel. If the cleaning was done I would say this was more like a 2 star hotel, but only in the new building, the old building a 1 star as the rooms were smelly and the furniture was so badly stained and old. There is a kettle in the room but nothing else. It is very close to Beach, Bangla Road and Jungceylon. Pool towels were provided. It was not worth the money I paid to stay over xmas and New Year.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the superior rooms in the new building with pool view. But maybe not too high for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Patong hotels

cape toenmm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Do not stay at this hotel the staff are the rudest most obnoxious staff i have ever stayed with. I paid $100 for one night i was refused outright the priveledge of second card key for the room so as not to have to wake partner. Charged 200baht for a late checkout of one hour as our transport was only coming in the afternoon. Upon forced checking out(earlier than we asked as the room was aparrently booked and needed to be urgently cleaned) we asked for our bags to be kept in the luggagge room for 2 hours and be available at 3:00pm so as not to keep the other passengers in our transport waiting. Upon return our bags where nowhere to be seen and nobody could recall anything regarding request however they knew exactly who we were as they demanded the 45 baht we owe them re minibar. A 25 min run around followed in which time one porter aparrently went to collect our bags another another leaned on the pole next to me and made rude gestures and cursed about our roundeyes in thai, 15 mins latr our popularity with our minibus colleagues waning we decided to get our own bags which we now realised stil sat in our unmade unoccupied room. Pls do yourself a favour if you respect yourself enough to not be snickerd at or outright ignored do stay here

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regulartravelll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed here for 1 night before moving over to the Casa Jip (which was better).

The positives: Staff are good with English and hotel is in a convenient central location. The rooms are a decent size and the hotel itself looks to be quite clean and spacious.

The negatives: Wifi was down when I arrived and stayed down for the next 24 hrs. When I queried this I was given conflicting stories during which a member of staff openly lied to me (I only found this out later). First room I was given had a dirty bathroom and I requested a move. Second room was nicer but note that the beds are firm. I was housed in the 'budget' wing which doesn't have an elevator. Also note that a lot of noise from the corridor can be heard in the rooms at night.

Verdict: An average value-focused hotel. There are better options elsewhere.

Room Tip: Try not to go for the budget wing if you can avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Very clean hotel, large room, nice bathroom. Good firm bed.

Unfortunately very poor sound insulation - can hear noise from several nearby rooms, resulting in one sleepless night. Also certain inconsiderate guests using entire corridor as their private space making a great deal of noise.

Rooftop pool is actually swimmable at around 12-13m, although the water taste (it's Phuket) and pigeon poop around the edge do not bolster your appetite for dinner. Can Thai pigeon poop be cleaned off I wonder?

Somewhat depressive staff insisted on charging me 40 baht for the one water I drank from the fridge, despite the fact that the cleaner did not always deliver the promised two free bottles. Shame - a little give and take there and a smile might have ensured my return on the next visit.

Good wifi, works even from top floor. Maps in lobby available only in Russian - great for brushing up on the Cyrillic.

At USD 57 per night however (including service + tax, after Agoda's phoney 60% mega-discount based on laughable initial rate), I rate the value as average even for Christmas week. There are still Mom & Pop places that will rent you a reasonable room for 450 baht in Patong.

First trip to Patong for a decade. Disappointing to see that they still cannot even run so much as a bus between Patong and Karon & Kata, preferring to hand the business to the Tuk-tuk and motorbike mafia - the latter now quoting THB200 just for the few kilometers to Karon. The Thais will eventually be eaten up by their greed once they've completely trashed their environment.

Room Tip: Top floor room nice, even on side facing away from pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LordMikey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
The Viridian Resort
The Viridian Resort
#106 of 319 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep With Me Hotel
Sleep With Me Hotel
#39 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Baipho Boutique Residence Phuket
0.3 mi away
C & N Hotel
C & N Hotel
#51 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sai Rougn Residence
Sai Rougn Residence
#86 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amata Patong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amata Patong

Property: Amata Patong
Address: 189/29 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Amata Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amata Patong 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to Amata Patong Resort Stay at Amata Patong to enjoy modern comforts and the convenience of being in the heart of Patong, just five minute's walk from the world-famous walking streets of Bangla and only a short walk from Patong Beach on the west coast of Phuket in Southern Thailand. Amata Patong is an affordable accommodation option offering full-board, half-board and self-catering options in the centre of Patong, all serviced with Amata Patong's homely hospitality. Whether you are holidaying alone or with friends and family, Amata Patong offers excellent value for money with a variety of rooms to suit different budgets. Accommodation at Amata Patong offers options for single travelers with excellent facilities for traveling executives with city-view and pool-view rooms as well as partial sea views. We also have excellent options for honeymoon couples as well as a few complimentary romantic extras. You never have to go far to enjoy the excellent facilities in and around Amata Patong, including a large swimming pool and pool bar in the courtyard plus a rooftop pool and bar with a view across Patong Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Amata Patong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amata Hotel Patong
Amata Patong Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing