We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Amari Phuket(Patong)
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Phuket Resort(Patong)(Great Value!)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deevana Patong Resort & Spa(Patong)(Great Value!)
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong(Patong)(Great Value!)
US$296
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burasari Resort(Patong)(Great Value!)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$541
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (821)
Filter reviews
821 results
Traveller rating
168
338
188
55
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
338
188
55
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolbangla roadmin walkjungceylon shopping mallnight lifestayed nightsan upgradesuperior roompoolsotopmassagenightlife
Filter
Updating list...
385 - 390 of 821 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2014

An old hotel, it is 2 or 3 Star hotel located in central Patong. It is not on beach road. The room is old with old designs. The bathroom is old and not equipped with basics. The staff is friendly. Check-in and checkout is easy and smooth.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PANAM-Air
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This is a very good hotel for the price. Not to be confused with a luxury hotel, the rooms are a little run down, however, the location is excellent. A 10 minute walk to the beach and close to all the action. The balconies are large and service is very good. I recommend it if you are in a budget, you get good value.

Room Tip: There are two towers, one is more modern, but I liked the older one, the rooms are bigger.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flavio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here a few times now and until this stay I have enjoyed it! I booked through email with them and asked for what I had last year and even sent the same email to them! When arrived was given a small room with huge bed so no room to move around room! The bathroom was ok but there was no brick around the shower so water went everywhere! When asked why I was given this room when I asked for what I had last time they said they upgraded me last year but didn't tell me! So had the option to upgrade for an extra $50 a night! Passed on that as already paying $90 a night! The staff were rude about it on reception! All the other staff are lovely and have been great though! When housekeeping come they don't knock they just come in which is strange! I always lock my stuff in safe so just make sure you this this as precaution! The pool on the ground is ok but most of the time covered By shade the roof top pool is cool but not enough chairs and no chairs next to pool so people lie on towels next to it! I don't think I will stay here again! But you get what you pay for

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Amata Resort. Yes, in a way to be calling it a "resort" doesn't seem very appropriate, since it lacks the stereotype activities and facilities that a Resort could provide. For me it was generally a decent stay, I will rate it 3.5/5. A decent and value for money stay hotel with pretty good location and decent service from the staff. Good for ppl with a budget looking for value stay, not advisable for travellers used to staying in luxurious hotels.Shall elaborate on the specifics below.

General:
The name aside, this hotel has been around for quite some time, evident in its furnishings and exterior, though it does have the new wing (I stayed at the old wing). Old school lifts, check-in counter, magnetic key tag for power slot and the old school silver key to open locked doors. Wifi is available for free both in public areas within the hotel as well as in the rooms, though it may be abit slow to those who come from countries with lightning fast internet connections. A public use desktop computer with internet access is available for use in the hotel lobby as well should you need it.

Location:
Situated on the parallel road inland, it can be a hassle if you want to head down to the beach often cause it would be a 5-7 min walk to Bang La road then another 5-7 min walk along Bang La road which leads directly to the beach. The good thing (or bad) is that the journey there makes you pass by endless street stalls, food carts, massage parlours and also the Jungceylon shopping mall (3-5mins walk from the hotel). If you are thinking about shopping or doing massages, they are everywhere on the main street outside the hotel (1min out to main road from hotel service road). Street stalls easily open till 1am on weekends and massage parlours too for some.

Hotel facilities:
The hotel offers safe deposit boxes which you can use if you want to store your valuables with them. The spacious lobby provides ample seating and walking space which also house 1 desktop computer with access to internet. The whole lobby has wireless internet though, password is written clearly at every table. Not been to the rooftop pool so I cant comment on that, but the ground pool was pretty decent, but not big. One side of the pool offers shallow waters at 0.4m and the other side is the deeper side at 1.2m (if I'm not wrong). Deck chairs are also available for use for relaxing or tanning. The pool also has a "bar" which sells a limited supply of drinks while you are there. There is also a tour counter which you can book tours but this counter looks quite pathetic. Try booking one from the shop right under the new wing; it opens till pretty late.

Room:
(Note that my stay is at the old wing, so probably won't be the same for the new wing)
I stayed in the deluxe room, but did not opt for and pay a higher price for one with pool view since im not too particular and hardly relax at the balcony anyways. Room was spacious, with a double bed, ample space on both sides of the bed even with the side tables and table lamps. Tiled floor and relatively aged furniture but still in relatively good condition. TV sits on the dressing table (not those new LCD type TVs) with most channels in Thai. Input is still analog and not digital though (using antenna) so don't expect crisp and sharp viewing quality. Room comes with shower and tub, good if you like to soak in tubs (only deluxe rooms and above i think). A work table which allows for writing or a laptop, a cupboard with hangars and also a small safe. Hairdryer is available,and also a drink stocked bar fridge. Room is pretty clean, no foul smell, Pillows are soft but bed is pretty hard. Strong AC and a master switch next to the bedside.

Getting there:
It is a 45min journey from the airport, transport is available right outside the airport itself. Saloon cars take you there for about 700-800baht whereas minibus costs only about 180baht. Expect heavy traffic into and around Patong area on the weekends as well as weekday evenings. If you book a pickup service from the hotel it will cost you 900baht per way via saloon car, max 3 person. Anything more should probably get the minibus (1500baht, stated 3-10 pax depends on space for luggage as well)

Overall:
I was not expecting much from this hotel. The hotel did live up to my expectations. Fairing relatively good for a 3 star hotel. Don't expect too much from the hotel. But I would say its a good value for money stay considering what it can offer and proximity to locations. I got the rooms on a sale price so that makes it ok. However, at full price I do not think it will be the correct price to pay.

Room Tip: If you can fork out a little extra, get the deluxe room with pool view Recommend to wait for sale and not pay the full price for this hotel
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WanderlustKeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Myself and my friend stayed at the Amata just recently only returning home today 11th January.
Although our room was described as a standard room, it was very far from 'standard.'
There were stains on the walls and there was a leak in the bathroom which left the floor
treacherous. The bathroom window wouldnt close. There was a glass door leading onto
a very narrow verandah where one could touch the roof of the building beside us. Because of the lack of natural light the room was always dark. We had to get an upgrade and paid a considerable
amount of money for it but were very happy with what we got. The staff were pleasant and
helpful apart from one or two on the reception desk. Our room was kept spotless and well
supplied with towells and toiletries. The bedlinen was snowywhite and there was a big window leading onto a good sized balcony. Room service was very prompt.

Room Tip: If you are getting the 'standard' room you need to enquire if there are windows and a balcony of some sort as it would get very claustrophobic.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheilakerr48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews