We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, only staff could be more "Thai smiling"”
Review of Amata Patong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amata Patong
Ranked #90 of 329 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We spent in Amata Resort 17 nights. Check in was really fast and comfortable. Room was clean, towels etc. were changing. Breakfast is fine (only if you are more nights, the food is mostly the same). Hotel has 2 swimming pools, one is on the roof and the second is by the entrance. Wifi connection was OK, in a room, by pool. I don´t like one thing: staff. I don´t know, if they can´t smile and be "thai", the worse staff was by the pool in a bar.. It´s detail, but Thailand is very nice country because of the people, nature, history etc. From Amata Resort´s staff "you don´t feel Thailand".

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeandKe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 360 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

This resort is located conveniently close to night life, restaurants Italian, Egyptian, Thai, English; as well as shopping centres; the closest beach is 10 minutes walk away, but for 200Baht you can ride a Tuck Tuck Taxi to a much quieter beach (Phuket Graceland). There you will be looked after by a wonderful bunch of beach lads.
Now for the Resort itself, we found it quiet as it is well off the main road. It is not 5 star but very good 4 star. The resort is split into 3 building forming a horse shoe shape. We were located in the main building where the restaurant and reception is housed. Our room, with private balcony, overlooking the pool was very clean and very well looked after by the staff. The staff are young, friendly and helpful to ensure your stay at the Amata is a memorable one.
The breakfast menu caters for various international tastes and the lunch and diner menu is varied too, but do try the local restaurants for ease of budget.
Use the travel agencies, by the resort, they have a variety of suggestions for you and will offer you some very good deals.
One word of warning - avoid using motorcycle taxis, touting for business around hotels and resorts; some are not insured. Enjoy your holiday and avoid, for the sake of a cheap ride, the use of a scam which may put your life in danger and spoil an enjoyable and perfect holiday for you and your family.....

Room Tip: Once you have viewed your room, do speak to the reception staff if you are not happy as they will do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EW2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

An old hotel, it is 2 or 3 Star hotel located in central Patong. It is not on beach road. The room is old with old designs. The bathroom is old and not equipped with basics. The staff is friendly. Check-in and checkout is easy and smooth.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PANAM-Air
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This is a very good hotel for the price. Not to be confused with a luxury hotel, the rooms are a little run down, however, the location is excellent. A 10 minute walk to the beach and close to all the action. The balconies are large and service is very good. I recommend it if you are in a budget, you get good value.

Room Tip: There are two towers, one is more modern, but I liked the older one, the rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flavio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here a few times now and until this stay I have enjoyed it! I booked through email with them and asked for what I had last year and even sent the same email to them! When arrived was given a small room with huge bed so no room to move around room! The bathroom was ok but there was no brick around the shower so water went everywhere! When asked why I was given this room when I asked for what I had last time they said they upgraded me last year but didn't tell me! So had the option to upgrade for an extra $50 a night! Passed on that as already paying $90 a night! The staff were rude about it on reception! All the other staff are lovely and have been great though! When housekeeping come they don't knock they just come in which is strange! I always lock my stuff in safe so just make sure you this this as precaution! The pool on the ground is ok but most of the time covered By shade the roof top pool is cool but not enough chairs and no chairs next to pool so people lie on towels next to it! I don't think I will stay here again! But you get what you pay for

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Amata Resort. Yes, in a way to be calling it a "resort" doesn't seem very appropriate, since it lacks the stereotype activities and facilities that a Resort could provide. For me it was generally a decent stay, I will rate it 3.5/5. A decent and value for money stay hotel with pretty good location and decent service from the staff. Good for ppl with a budget looking for value stay, not advisable for travellers used to staying in luxurious hotels.Shall elaborate on the specifics below.

General:
The name aside, this hotel has been around for quite some time, evident in its furnishings and exterior, though it does have the new wing (I stayed at the old wing). Old school lifts, check-in counter, magnetic key tag for power slot and the old school silver key to open locked doors. Wifi is available for free both in public areas within the hotel as well as in the rooms, though it may be abit slow to those who come from countries with lightning fast internet connections. A public use desktop computer with internet access is available for use in the hotel lobby as well should you need it.

Location:
Situated on the parallel road inland, it can be a hassle if you want to head down to the beach often cause it would be a 5-7 min walk to Bang La road then another 5-7 min walk along Bang La road which leads directly to the beach. The good thing (or bad) is that the journey there makes you pass by endless street stalls, food carts, massage parlours and also the Jungceylon shopping mall (3-5mins walk from the hotel). If you are thinking about shopping or doing massages, they are everywhere on the main street outside the hotel (1min out to main road from hotel service road). Street stalls easily open till 1am on weekends and massage parlours too for some.

Hotel facilities:
The hotel offers safe deposit boxes which you can use if you want to store your valuables with them. The spacious lobby provides ample seating and walking space which also house 1 desktop computer with access to internet. The whole lobby has wireless internet though, password is written clearly at every table. Not been to the rooftop pool so I cant comment on that, but the ground pool was pretty decent, but not big. One side of the pool offers shallow waters at 0.4m and the other side is the deeper side at 1.2m (if I'm not wrong). Deck chairs are also available for use for relaxing or tanning. The pool also has a "bar" which sells a limited supply of drinks while you are there. There is also a tour counter which you can book tours but this counter looks quite pathetic. Try booking one from the shop right under the new wing; it opens till pretty late.

Room:
(Note that my stay is at the old wing, so probably won't be the same for the new wing)
I stayed in the deluxe room, but did not opt for and pay a higher price for one with pool view since im not too particular and hardly relax at the balcony anyways. Room was spacious, with a double bed, ample space on both sides of the bed even with the side tables and table lamps. Tiled floor and relatively aged furniture but still in relatively good condition. TV sits on the dressing table (not those new LCD type TVs) with most channels in Thai. Input is still analog and not digital though (using antenna) so don't expect crisp and sharp viewing quality. Room comes with shower and tub, good if you like to soak in tubs (only deluxe rooms and above i think). A work table which allows for writing or a laptop, a cupboard with hangars and also a small safe. Hairdryer is available,and also a drink stocked bar fridge. Room is pretty clean, no foul smell, Pillows are soft but bed is pretty hard. Strong AC and a master switch next to the bedside.

Getting there:
It is a 45min journey from the airport, transport is available right outside the airport itself. Saloon cars take you there for about 700-800baht whereas minibus costs only about 180baht. Expect heavy traffic into and around Patong area on the weekends as well as weekday evenings. If you book a pickup service from the hotel it will cost you 900baht per way via saloon car, max 3 person. Anything more should probably get the minibus (1500baht, stated 3-10 pax depends on space for luggage as well)

Overall:
I was not expecting much from this hotel. The hotel did live up to my expectations. Fairing relatively good for a 3 star hotel. Don't expect too much from the hotel. But I would say its a good value for money stay considering what it can offer and proximity to locations. I got the rooms on a sale price so that makes it ok. However, at full price I do not think it will be the correct price to pay.

Room Tip: If you can fork out a little extra, get the deluxe room with pool view Recommend to wait for sale a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WanderlustKeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Myself and my friend stayed at the Amata just recently only returning home today 11th January.
Although our room was described as a standard room, it was very far from 'standard.'
There were stains on the walls and there was a leak in the bathroom which left the floor
treacherous. The bathroom window wouldnt close. There was a glass door leading onto
a very narrow verandah where one could touch the roof of the building beside us. Because of the lack of natural light the room was always dark. We had to get an upgrade and paid a considerable
amount of money for it but were very happy with what we got. The staff were pleasant and
helpful apart from one or two on the reception desk. Our room was kept spotless and well
supplied with towells and toiletries. The bedlinen was snowywhite and there was a big window leading onto a good sized balcony. Room service was very prompt.

Room Tip: If you are getting the 'standard' room you need to enquire if there are windows and a balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheilakerr48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Aspery Hotel
Aspery Hotel
#97 of 329 in Patong
828 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crib Patong
The Crib Patong
#73 of 329 in Patong
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#38 of 329 in Patong
381 reviews
0.8 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 329 in Patong
750 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Viridian Resort
The Viridian Resort
#121 of 329 in Patong
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amata Patong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amata Patong

Address: 189/29 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Amata Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £18 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amata Patong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to Amata Patong Resort Stay at Amata Patong to enjoy modern comforts and the convenience of being in the heart of Patong, just five minute's walk from the world-famous walking streets of Bangla and only a short walk from Patong Beach on the west coast of Phuket in Southern Thailand. Amata Patong is an affordable accommodation option offering full-board, half-board and self-catering options in the centre of Patong, all serviced with Amata Patong's homely hospitality. Whether you are holidaying alone or with friends and family, Amata Patong offers excellent value for money with a variety of rooms to suit different budgets. Accommodation at Amata Patong offers options for single travelers with excellent facilities for traveling executives with city-view and pool-view rooms as well as partial sea views. We also have excellent options for honeymoon couples as well as a few complimentary romantic extras. You never have to go far to enjoy the excellent facilities in and around Amata Patong, including a large swimming pool and pool bar in the courtyard plus a rooftop pool and bar with a view across Patong Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amata Patong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amata Hotel Patong
Amata Patong Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing