We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall fine but what a difference a room makes ....”
Review of Amata Patong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amata Patong
Ranked #91 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Overall fine but what a difference a room makes ....”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Booked and prepaid (non-refundable) for three nights, with clear special requests such as high-floor with decent view, but was first given an uninspiring room with no view whatsoever and I did feel claustrophobic. Luckily, the TV in that room did not work and maintenance tried to fix but failed. I was then moved to a much nicer room, within the same building (the old building with no elevator) with a nice pool view and thus the title for this review. If you have a decent room then you should enjoy you stay in this "resort" as everything worked well in my 'new' room: TV (with ample cable channels, WIFI (free of charge) and good A/C. Room size, bathroom and bedding are definitely adequate. Buffet breakfast (if included) is plenty but standard and quite satisfying. Plus the hotel has two rather nice and big swimming pools and is only a short walk to the beach but crossing a very busy road and through busy roads. I would recommend this hotel but prepaying for the standard rooms (in old building) bares a risk!

Room Tip: Go for pool view (otherwise you might get no view at all).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madjid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    312
    172
    50
    64
See reviews for
109
237
113
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

stayed eleven nights april 2014 my wife and i.
very efficient front desk on check in and out.breakfast not 5 star but more than adequate. egg station cereal, bacon etc.we found the bed hard but that is a personal preference.
situated in patong at the end of a soi [ laneway] well lit and safe.better bthan being on main road to avoid the noise. hotel itself was very quiet. we were in the old building and the room was a good size with large balcony [no real view]. room was cleaned every day with fresh towels etc..
our one complaint would be no shade at pool area, there are fixtures for ubrellas but no umbrellas.
still as value for money we thought it good and would return.

Room Tip: we stayed in old section and cannot comment on new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenpatSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

First up, I'd give this place 3.5 stars if I could, not 4 as its definitely better than 3, but not a 4.

I had a funny experience not long after I had just checked in here that although I decided I already liked the place, I observed a couple who were most definitely NOT liking the place and were instead having a row with reception over their laundry bill and getting nowhere. I guess that happens a lot with many places, so it occurred to me that if I was someone unfamiliar with the place, and reading reviews here, how do I get a feel whether its good or bad, because surely that couple will get on here and condemn the place, as they should if they feel they have been hard done by. So I guess, essentially its pot luck as to what your mileage will be.

I found the staff helpful, yet like most places, not that fluent in English, so if you do have a problem or a slightly out of the routine enquiry, you could be in trouble. I came here fresh off a very negative experience elsewhere, and so I asked if I could see the room I was about to book online BEFORE I made the booking (to avoid the mistake I had made at the other place). They were happy to show me the room I was interested in, and I stressed the point that I would be booking online that style of room they had shown me. So I went down the street and booked their deluxe room, one without a pool view, but with a bath, as that was my main requirement, and I didn't care to pay extra for the pool side view. When I arrived back at the hotel, they had my booking, and were offering something they considered to be an upgrade, but since it didn't have a bath, I declined their offer and pressed for the room I had booked online. Which was not a problem happily. What they did then was to give me a pool view version of my room which did constitute an upgrade to me as it had a view AND the bath. So the point I am labouring is I got the room I saw advertised on booking,com, (or better as it turned out). Sometimes, all you want is for the picture on line to be a fair and reasonable version of what you actually end up with (unlike the Front Hotel but that's another review).

The communal pool on the ground level is also a nice quiet spot, no silly doof doof music or poolside bar to ruin the peace. Its clean and not to busy. More brownie points there.

The deluxe room I had is just as the online pics represent but happily looks even better in real life. The room photos on booking.com don't actually do them justice (which is unusual in my experience). i.e. you get a nice bathroom and a nice balcony which aren't shown at all for the room I booked. This was in the wing containing the main reception. There are 2 other wings I cant speak for. I did not get up early enough to sample the breakfast, and they do not appear to do an evening restaurant meal, so I cant speak to that either.

But for A$51 a night for the Deluxe double with bath in March I think its one of the best values I've had in Patong. I don't do the luxury places, my budget is usually anywhere between A$30 and $90, so at $51 its waaaaaay better than the $30 joints, but to be fair, not in the same ballpark as the $86 junior suite I had at the Deevana a few days later.

In short, I would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: not sure if the pool side option is worth the extra money IF your room is high up. My room was on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blisteringbarnacles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Book a deluxe room with agoda. Stayed in this hotel for 6 nights.
Upon arrival we were informed that deluxe room is not pool view rooms, if we want pool view rooms have to upgrade to superior room with additional 1000 baht per night. Hence if you want a pool view from book a superior room.

Staff at the hotel were very nice and friendly however it becomes disturbing. As they will 'disturb' you like how the people on the streets asking you where are you from and all. However this is just 1 or 2 staff. The other staff were very nice. One night my friend and I decided to visit the Phuket town nightmarket, and ask the staff for some information. He was very friendly and helpful with our questions.

Fyi, these staffs are not the front desk staff. They are like bell boys?

Room was quiet dissapointing as from the pictures provided by the hotel it look classy and new. However, it is not like that actually. The wood in the room looks old. Toilet amenities provided was only cotton bud, shower cap, soap bars and shampoo. No toothbrush or toothpaste was provided. No bedroom slippers too.

Hotel location is very good. As its just a few minutes walk to Junceylong. Along the way there are stalls and street food to eat and buy. And its around 10 mins walk to patong beach. Across the road there's a family mart. Quite hidden though.

2 pools at the hotel. The roof top pool is the best! As it is always sunny. Another one is just beside the main entrance. I feel that the pool is really dirty as i can see a lot of floating objects when i'm in the pool. Staying there for a week, I dont see anybody to cleaning up the pool.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank aardnassacmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We were very impressed with this hotel. Service was great, pool was really nice and big with a little bar area out there. There was lots near by and walking distance to the beach (Maybe 10 minutes) included breakfast which was a good buffet with omelet bar. Nothing else you could ask for. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCB842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Can't really complain for cost, the room had smaller tv and large room. But had everything i would need. Not far from the malls and bangla road area.

Really dark reception and quite open entrances. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenjAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

This place is built like a five star but has been down graded to three star service and facilities. Staff were friendly but seemed somewhat indifferent. They wern't very helpful when it came to specific requests. A lot of it was language difficulties.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
The Viridian Resort
The Viridian Resort
#103 of 322 in Patong
319 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Sleep With Me Hotel
Sleep With Me Hotel
#38 of 322 in Patong
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
C & N Hotel
C & N Hotel
#46 of 322 in Patong
318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#37 of 322 in Patong
374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
#65 of 322 in Patong
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amata Patong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amata Patong

Property: Amata Patong
Address: 189/29 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Amata Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amata Patong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to Amata Patong Resort Stay at Amata Patong to enjoy modern comforts and the convenience of being in the heart of Patong, just five minute's walk from the world-famous walking streets of Bangla and only a short walk from Patong Beach on the west coast of Phuket in Southern Thailand. Amata Patong is an affordable accommodation option offering full-board, half-board and self-catering options in the centre of Patong, all serviced with Amata Patong's homely hospitality. Whether you are holidaying alone or with friends and family, Amata Patong offers excellent value for money with a variety of rooms to suit different budgets. Accommodation at Amata Patong offers options for single travelers with excellent facilities for traveling executives with city-view and pool-view rooms as well as partial sea views. We also have excellent options for honeymoon couples as well as a few complimentary romantic extras. You never have to go far to enjoy the excellent facilities in and around Amata Patong, including a large swimming pool and pool bar in the courtyard plus a rooftop pool and bar with a view across Patong Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Amata Patong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amata Hotel Patong
Amata Patong Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing