We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in quiet area, friendly staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thanthip Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thanthip Beach Resort
Ranked #114 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel in quiet area, friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights in a deluxe room. Very clean, nice bathroom and good breakfast. The staff is very friendly. You can rent a motorbike for 250 baht. 20 min walk to shopping mall and Bangla road. 2 min to the beach!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adebruin32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    58
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
20
61
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

The staff were fantastic and very helpful,the staff and guard can speak Malay.....very nice and easy to communicate,lot of halal food near by the hotel....hotel is clean.make me to come again
only 5 minutes to patong beach.

Room Tip: the WiFi expensive 100 baht for 1 hour
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shahrilhassan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryborough, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Thanthip a while ago and , as it was my first trip to Phuket, i wasn't sure what i was in for. The staff were fantastic and very helpful. The rooms are very comfortable, very clean and a good size. I also liked the position, which was close to everything, beach was only 2 minutes walk and the hustle & bustle of Patong life (day & night) close enough that you don't need a tuk-tuk when you want to get into the thick of it. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McNevin's M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oss, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

Nice not to big hotel nect to ibis, with good room and friendly staff. Room are clean and big enough, although we had the smallest room, it was fine by us.
The hotel is about a 10 min walk from the centre of patong. If you take another rout, you'll be just a 3 min walk from the beach.
The swimming pool is nice and is cleaned ecery morning. There are rooms with swimmin pool acces.
The breakfast buffet is not big, but the staff offerd to bake you an omelet if you like.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joez1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

The hotel is very good overall, location is a kind of away from entertainment zone, but with taxi bikes no worries. At coming back after party, you better use transportations to avoid facing a ladyboy or a drugs dealer.
I truly liked the food they make as well as the friendly staff. House keeping is in need to be watched after.
The seaviewe from 5th floor was somehow poor, but the breeze was satisfactory. Try it!!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adnan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

We booked 2 pool access rooms and requested side by side as we were a family, it's one of the more reasonably priced pool access rooms in patong after doing my research. When we arrived, staff was welcoming but not SUPER friendly. The bellboy who took our luggage to our room was very sweet, smiling and helpful.

When we went in the room, i realised that for a hotel which is either new or has been recently renovated, it is still pretty old, dusty and basic looking to my surprise. For e.g:
1) I found a daddy long-legs spider on my couch in the room, which must mean that area must not have been cleaned for a long time!
2) My 2 deck chairs in the patio had alot of bird poo on it! Helloooo! I know its outdoor and pool access but more attention to detail on cleanliness please!
3) The toliet was nice, pretty modern but the toilet bowl has very bad flushing system. Both our toilet bowls in both rooms had problems flushing and we had to call housekeeping to fix it.

Another major issue i have with this hotel is - they only provide 1 key card per room!! When i ask for another as we have 4 of us, the staff at front desk gets very frustrated about it and says it is hotel policy to only give 1 key per room. I guess they must be trying to save electricity as they do not want us to leave a keycard in the room to leave the air-con on. I saw a few guests having the same issue with the front desk, tried asking for extra key but were turned down. Seriously, all other hotels i have stayed in Phuket have no problems with this. But then again, i guess that is the difference between staying in a 5 star resort and Thanthip.

Sadly, another issue with Thanthip is - the breakfast spread is horrible. Really. It had such a small selection of canned sauages, ham (which i dare not ask what meat is it), sometimes there would be baked beans, sometimes noodles and rice, bread to toast and some fruits which had a million flies on it. They also have eggs to order which you have to request for, no station. For the 4 days we were there, we only ate the eggs and bread. :(

Other than that, I must commend on 2 things:
1) Their pool, which is a medium sized, extremely clean and quite deep pool. LOVED IT! My kid couldn't stop jumping in from our pool access rooms.
2) Their bed. Huge bed with white clean satin sheets and comfy pillows and mattress.
3) Their driver, Mr Mongkok! THANK YOU MR MONGKOK! You were an exceptional personal driver for us and thank you for the ride to Paradise beach and the airport!
4) Very close to Patong beach, situated on quieter and cleaner side of the beach

Oh also, their cable tv could be improved. Their reception for most channels were terrible with alot of static! Couldn't watch properly even though they had some movies on. Wish they had WIFI though....Overall, a pleasant stay but could be improved!!

Room Tip: Come out and turn left and head for the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melovechups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2011

Me and my partner stayed at his hotel last year aswell. Its a great hotel, away from hustle and bustle of bangla road but not too far if you want to go, about 10-15 mins walk. The staff are all very friendly and polite.
We booked a standard room, which was on the ground floor overlooking the pool. The room was clean with all amenties, bathroom slightly small but manageable; big doulbe bed which was comfy.
Breakfast is ok, no eggs but didn't realise you have to ask for them to be done. Other than that we ate at the hotel restaurant a few lunch times and one evening and the the food is delicious. Also the hotel now has its own coffee shop which was not there last year and it looks good.
Swimming pool is lovely and big and there was always a sunbed for us even though there is not that many off them. I think people use the beach more which is only a 5 min walk away.
Overall, we will be stay at this hotel when we go to phuket again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nic1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
0.0 mi away
Swiss Palm Beach
Swiss Palm Beach
#60 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baramee Resortel
Baramee Resortel
#102 of 319 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Austrian Garden Tai Pan Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Studio Patong by iCheck inn
0.2 mi away
Orange Hotel
Orange Hotel
#163 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Nordic Ratana Suites
New Nordic Ratana Suites
#205 of 376 in Kathu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanthip Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanthip Beach Resort

Property: Thanthip Beach Resort
Address: 41/3 Chalermphrakiat Road (Soi Eden) | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Thanthip Villa Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thanthip Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and TravelUp so you can book your Thanthip Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanthip Beach Resort Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing