We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanthip..not so great” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thanthip Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thanthip Beach Resort
Ranked #120 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Thanthip..not so great”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

My husband and I arrived at the Thanthip Hotel for a 10 night stay in November 2012. Sadly there isnot much in the way of good things I can say for this property.
Tour buses back up to the open lobby, with engines running the lobby quickly fills with diesel fumes. At the time we were there (only stayed 1 night then moved on) the other guests were noisy and ferral. Yelling from one table to another at the breakfast tables. The food was poor, not what I would call a buffet by any means.
the rooms were old and tired, holes in the doona cover, light fittings falling from the ceiling, mould in the shower. at $100 AUS per night is is NOT value for money.
We spoke with management after only 1 night and explained how disappointed we were. Although he was reluctant to discuss, he eventually agreed to supply us with a letter of credit, which we have since received a full refund minus 2 nights. 1 for the night we stayed and 1 night cancellation.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, dont stay overlooking the pool. its very noisy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howards88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    58
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
20
61
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

Pool access rooms are great,
we took full advantage of that, and the lovely swim was great.
Rooms themselves could do with a little more luxury for this price, concidering competition along the street ;
Breakfast is a bit of a shabby affair ;

Location is great, just off the buzz of Patong.

Shame about the single room key policy and the not always friendly reception staff.

Thank you.

Room Tip: ground floor by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

it was just what we wanted clean ,quite,food was great and it was friendly
we where on the 1st floor loved it the room was small but when you are on holidays you do not need a big room
close to beach and night life we walk every where

Room Tip: go to the ROLLERBALL KALIM it was the best fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianne1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed at this hotel last year and found the rooms clean and pleasant and the staff friendly and helpful. 10 minute walk to Patong along the beach road is no problem.
Big downside is the extorionate rate for internet use - 100 baht per hour! In the modern world wi-fi is generally included in the room rate.

Room Tip: Be prepared for expensive internet use :) rooms in 'new' section of Hotel are nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BritabroadLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Have been to Patong over 10 times and tried many different hotels. THANTHIP is by far the best. We have ground floor room facing the pool (but not pool access). It was average size, but ample room for sleeping and changing! Clean and well laid out it was a hop to the pool! The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The area is far enough away from the crowds of Bangla, but yet a 10 mins stroll along the beach would take you there if you wished. We preferred the nightlife and atmosphere that was around the hotel area much better though and the people were more attentive. Will definiately be staying there again soon!

Room Tip: There are no sea view rooms so dont be fooled by the pictures. The rooms on the ground floor are lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mags1970Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights in a deluxe room. Very clean, nice bathroom and good breakfast. The staff is very friendly. You can rent a motorbike for 250 baht. 20 min walk to shopping mall and Bangla road. 2 min to the beach!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adebruin32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

The staff were fantastic and very helpful,the staff and guard can speak Malay.....very nice and easy to communicate,lot of halal food near by the hotel....hotel is clean.make me to come again
only 5 minutes to patong beach.

Room Tip: the WiFi expensive 100 baht for 1 hour
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shahrilhassan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
Swiss Palm Beach
Swiss Palm Beach
#60 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baramee Resortel
Baramee Resortel
#100 of 319 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Austrian Garden Tai Pan Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Orange Hotel
Orange Hotel
#162 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Phuket Patong
ibis Phuket Patong
#53 of 319 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Studio Patong by iCheck inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanthip Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanthip Beach Resort

Property: Thanthip Beach Resort
Address: 41/3 Chalermphrakiat Road (Soi Eden) | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Thanthip Villa Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thanthip Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp and Expedia so you can book your Thanthip Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanthip Beach Resort Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing