We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is perfect”
Review of Grand Orchid Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Orchid Inn
Ranked #153 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We had a wonderful experience at the Grand Orchid inn. The rooms were clean, staff was friendly and most of all the location was perfect. The hotel is close to the Beach and all night life, but was very quite at night. If your wanting a pool and ocean views this probably isn't the place for you, but for the price (cheap) we were very impressed! Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monica m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Grand Orchid Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

Best location! Close to the best, restaurants, bars, clubs, shopping. Public transport, taxis and tuk-tuks are right outside your door. It was cheap to stay here and the staff were really nice and helpful!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeccaDee9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

What a great little place, we arrived there initially to stay for two days but within the same day of arriving extended it for the duration of our stay, we even got upgraded to a better room at no extra charge. Everything in the rooms are basic and simple for day to day living...so do not expect out of the ordinary luxury. It is just the perfect place to lay your head down. There is aircon, warm water(should you want it) and complimentary water daily. The service was immaculate and we enjoyed very good experiences with the hotel staff who are really friendly and helpful. Hotel is in on a great spot...close enough to get to the beach and madness of Bangla rd yet far enough to chill and rest peacefully.

Room Tip: rooms at lower levels are recommended as there is only stairs to get to higher levels and get a balc...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hainsworth11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We selected this hotel as it had good reviews and was in a good location and it did not dissapoint. What was especially nice is that it is set back off the main road so was very peaceful.

We arranged a couple of day trips with the travel agent that was attached to the hotel and found them to be very helpful.

A word of warning to single guys (or gals) booking this hotel. If you bring back 'a friend' for the night then the hotel will charge you a 500 baht surcharge for the pleasure, which is a bit cheeky. The way to get around this is to book the room for two people (same price) and then when you check in, you tell them that you'll be meeting your gf / bf later.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank On The Go W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anycando, Owner at Grand Orchid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

The Hotel Policy is NOT to charge for Overnight Guests - If you can provide us with the date and time of the incident we will investigate it and take disciplinary action

If you have the receipt we will refund the money and if you don't have a receipt please INSIST on one next time - you can contact me direct on email : Yonlada.collis@thegrandorchidinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

PROS:
- close to the beach (1 min walk) and awesome restaurants like the Sea Hag
- clean rooms
- I recommend staying in the deluxe rooms with balconies
- free beach towel rental
- free bottled water

CONS:
- no elevator; could be a challenge if you have tons of luggage and are staying on the 4th floor
- very hard mattress...took a few days to get accustomed to it
- 10 minute walk to the main bar area; 20 min walk to the paradise complex area (gay area)
- very far from the airport...a 700-800 baht 1-way trip

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daloneranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Good location, close to food/markets/beach.

Stayed in two different rooms on two different occasions on the same trip. The first night we were in the cheapest rooms (Deluxe) aircon didn't work but couldn't turn off the lights without turning off the fan. Also the bathroom was flooded because there isn't enough of a slope in the shower. We were on the top floor so it was really nice and quiet.

The second time we stayed was awesome. We got upgraded to a room which was on the 3rd floor and it was really nice, everything worked fine as well. The only thing is that because it's close to everything it's a bit noisy at night, though not terrible.

The staff we all really lovely and we were allowed to check out and leave our bags in the foyer for a couple of hours instead of lugging them around everything.

Would stay again, but not in the cheaper rooms.

Room Tip: Higher up is quieter. On the 3rd floor you can still sometimes hear stuff from outside. Spend a b...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jencal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Pros:
Close to the beach and bangala rd
24h reception
Friendly staff
Clean room
Fridge
Safe
Good shower
Fresh sheets daily
Room sprayed with anti mosquito spray

Cons:
No windows in room
Slightly over priced

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
0.1 mi away
Break Point Hotel
Break Point Hotel
#128 of 384 in Kathu
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Patong Rose Guest House
Patong Rose Guest House
#181 of 328 in Patong
64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#73 of 328 in Patong
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Black Pearl
Black Pearl
#115 of 328 in Patong
114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Patong Swiss Hotel
Patong Swiss Hotel
#247 of 328 in Patong
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rico's Hotel
Rico's Hotel
#124 of 328 in Patong
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Orchid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Orchid Inn

Address: 78 / 17 - 18 Soi Dr Wattana | Thaweewong Rd, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Patong
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £11 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Orchid Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION - The Grand Orchid Inn is located at Patong Beach, steps away from the great white sand and blue turquoise waters of the Andaman sea, we are so close that we provide complimentary use of beach towels and children under 12 receive a free beach bucket and spade set. We are only a few minutes walk away from the famous nightlife of Bangla Road so you get the best of both worlds - day and night. We have family suites, family deluxe rooms and budget rooms to suit all tastes and free Wifi Internet available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Orchid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Orchid Hotel Patong
Grand Orchid Inn Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing