We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Album Hotel - Phuket”
Review of The Album Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Album Hotel
Ranked #89 of 412 Patong B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Stayed at this little hotel for 3 nights. Recommend this quirky little hotel, but only for a short stay. The rooms are very clean, nice comfy bed and pillows. The staff are lovely and happy to help with all the stupid questions you ask. The street noise is bearable but if you are a light sleeper, you will probably need earplugs. It's close to everything, walking distance to Bangla Road (if you into that sort of thing) and close to the Jungceylon Shopping Centre where you can lose yourself for a few hours while it's bucketing outside and catch a movie.

Tip: If you take a taxi from the airport make sure the driver knows the address, as there a two Album hotels in Phuket. The other one is on Nanai Road.

3  Thank Tracey367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2013

We liked this hotel back in our previous release. Loved the design of the hotel, but more like its location. To the sea 10 minutes walking at a leisurely pace, and thus to the center about the same.
Hotel rooms are small. But comfortable enough. There are bathrobes, umbrellas, beach bag with mat, tea set, hairdryer, safe. When enough is not a big room, a pretty normal shower, which is a big disadvantage - low permeability of water, so there was always enough wet. This room has no beds, and a large podium on which there are beds. There was a small bedside table with a telephone and a lamp. All very cozy and quite good. Cleaning rooms do only if you put a plate. The hotel has a good free wi-fi with good speed. On the roof of the hotel has a small pool was more like a hot tub and 4 deck chairs. All rooms at the non-smoking hotel.
The hotel lobby is on the mornings breakfast. Breakfast is quite modest - a boiled egg, toast, jam, juice, fruit. A big plus that the hotel during the day you can take out of the fridge in the lobby juice and cookies. In the lobby there is a lot of board games.

Room Tip: in the corner rooms have balconies numbers upgrade :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexeySkalkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

It's a reconfigured local residence building and inside the room you can still see the architecture of the house (not fully recon). Exterior of the building looks no different from a local house, reception area is also small but when you get into your room, you feel the comfort.

Beds are good, rooms are clean, water pressure is good also. I stayed one night here and enjoyed the stay there.

I arrived Phuket at night, around 9pm and checked in here. After leaving my luggage I go down walking around the street and found the location is very good. It's just walking distance to beach and to Bangla road. Along the streets there are many convenient shops (at least three 7/11 outlet in the row) and many local food hawker. The foods might look disgusting but trust me you like it if you tasted it. It's near to the crowded area but surprisingly it's quiet at the hotel.

The lobby, which is the reception area and breakfast area is just like a typical living room of a normal house. A table, a few chairs but many great decorative collections. Having your breakfast here is just feeling like eating at your home.

At the roof top, many don't know that there is a rooftop pool jacuzzi. A small pool but it is just perfect for my family and I which is a group of 7 including a 2 years old kid. We enjoyed our great time there after having breakfast. Until around 12pm we walked to Patong beach for a seafood lunch. Most traveler don't know the existence of the pool so it's very quiet and clean there. The environment is good.

Room Tip: Tell the receptionist what you like and they will help to match your preference as much as they can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank siauhwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Didn't want to be in the center of Patong beach with all its human and vehicle traffic. The location we got was perfect. Everything is close. On the street of this hotel there are a lot of massage parlors, 7-11, family mart, laundry, subway and it is on the corner of a crossing. The hotel itself is a kind of 'does the job' hotel. We weren't planning on staying in the hotel due to the nature of being in Phuket ( a lot of full day activities). Hotel itself, is generally hot and humid, no AC in the lobby corridors etc. The beds in the room were very comfortable, the bathroom was a bit hot and humid, no fan just a window. The shower was nice, its a walk in but the kind that would get the whole bathroom floor wet. That was a downside. The water from the bathroom sink literally was pressure-less, only gravity was bringing it down. It was just trickling water. The mini fridge was very good. In the room you get 2 umbrella's (came in handy), a basket with two towels and a straw mat for the beach. Breakfast was really good in the morning although ants could be seen on the counter. Tour booth right outside and the young couple working there were very friendly, helpful. Room service efficient. If you are a Muslim, there is a hose for butt washing ;) The AC had to stay on at all times, otherwise it can really get hot in that hotel.
Would stay again, but would also be interested to explore more.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

For the price, the hotel was ok. We stayed mid-April for 3 nights and wish we only booked one night. Not so much because of the hotel, but the area is terrible. It's close to the beach, but the rooms overlook a busy intersection that is bustling all night long. Music blaring from cars and the trucks advertising with loud speakers. Even with earplugs it was difficult to sleep.

It has potential to be the hipster-chique hotel that it's trying to be, but needs some attention. We switched rooms trying to get away from the noise and to get a better wifi signal, only to find the wifi was better and the noise was worse! Not sure why they would've put us closer to the noise after asking if there was a quieter room...
In our second room, the bathroom shower had the floor chipped away with the dirty concrete exposed, the ceiling was mouldy, and the sink wouldn't drain.

We stayed at a total of 7 hotels while in Thailand and found the overall service standards are way below North America. When comparing this hotel to the others in Thailand, it was on par, but nowhere near what we're used to back home. Don't expect service staff in this hotel (or any other in Thailand) to go out of their way for you. On the rare occasion it does happen, consider it a blessing!

Patong itself is a terrible tourist destination that I would recommend staying away from. We are a couple in our 30's travelling Southeast Asia and this is a spot we could've done without. Don't expect any culture here - just parties and a lot of trashy tourists.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeffPatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Overall the stay was fine except that on the last 2 days, the water in the bathroom had a very strong chlorine stench which probably explains the yellowish water. We informed the front desk of the problem to which they said they would check but never got back to us with an explanation. The smell was so strong that I chocked while showering and used bottled water to brush my teeth. Aside from this issue, the bed sheet had a couple of very obvious stain marks. TV reception could be better.

The above said, the hotel is at a relatively good location away from the pubs and bars and is a short walk to Patong Beach. It was nice that the hotel provided a basket with a beach mat and towels. Breakfast was really simple - toast, cereal, pastries, fruits and juices.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tylermus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Overall the whole experience was not bad. It is just less than 5 mins walk to the beach and 7-10 mins walk to Bangla Road and Jungceylon Mall. They seriously do have unique furniture in the room, everything was compact but i was amazed by the dressing table and a fridge cupboard. They standby a bag with a mat to be used on the beach together with 2 towels, how considerate. There are many eateries, convenient stores and massage parlors nearby, super convenient!!

Something which i dont really fancy was that their housekeeping was rather simply. When i first checked in, the floor was sticky, second day's housekeeping, the cleaner did not clear all the rubbish in my room. Other than this, everything was great.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YokeYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
Patong Pearl Resortel
Patong Pearl Resortel
#201 of 329 in Patong
165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baipho Boutique Residence Phuket
0.7 mi away
The Royal Palm Beach Front
The Royal Palm Beach Front
#114 of 329 in Patong
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Gallery Hotel
The Gallery Hotel
#21 of 412 in Patong
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Phusita House 3
#101 of 412 in Patong
8 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bird Cage
The Bird Cage
#92 of 412 in Patong
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Album Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Album Hotel

Address: 29 Sawatdirak Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 412 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range: £13 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Album Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Album Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Album Hotel Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing