We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice guesthouse with Cheap price in quiet surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lamai Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lamai Guesthouse
Ranked #305 of 400 Patong B&B and Inns
Surat, India
Level Contributor
115 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice guesthouse with Cheap price in quiet surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

I was travelling with my uncle and we were staying in the delux room of this guest house ! This guesthouse is located away from the famous patong beach and nearby entertainment areas ! However, the room was quiet big and clean with all necessary room ameneties working in the proper condition ! The staff as well as lady at the reception was very co-opearative ! Nice guesthouse I will stay again here but with family not alone !

Room Tip: All rooms are good but away from the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dipeshkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    11
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
4
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

13 dollars a night and you get so much. Desktop with internet, DVD player, balcony and own bathroom. Not to mention AC of course. It is a little far from Bangla Road but chances are if you're staying here, Bangla Road is not your thing. Beach is about a 15 minute walk and they provide towels for you to take. We only stayed one day after staying at resorts for five days. Best thing to do is rent a scooter if you know how to ride one. Going around town is best and cheap that way. They offer them for cheap. Food was great, service was excellent. Some guys are mentioning a rude lady but I didn't see one. Just dealt with 3-4 really nice workers. No elevator so the stairs can be exercise but most of us could use more of that anyway.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony, not sure if all rooms have that. And get a lower floor if you hate stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dunecoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgium
Level Contributor
774 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

i had a great stay at lamai guesthouse...sure it's a bit outside the action, but that's what i liked about it...it's a bit of a walk to the beach, no problem for me though...the room itself was comfortable and clean, with all possible amenities, such as wifi and a well stocked minibar...i enjoyed the balcony too...the 24 hour reception was always friendly and courteous...for the budget-minded, a great deal!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank belgianguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tipton west mids
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Well firstly the price ! We paid £12 for our first night then £10 for every night after. For that you get a king sized bed with clean sheets a balcony, a flat screen tv and DVD player, a desktop pc. Shower wc with plenty of room for swinging cats around.i paid double this earlier in holiday for much smaller less equipped rooms in cheaper resorts !

The staff are THE most friendliest people I have ever met! We were there for the songkran festival( Thai new year) and they got us involved throwing water at everyone passing on the near road sharing drinks And laughter. Two of the best days of the holiday!

The lady who runs the hotel was like a mother to us. She arranged everything . Scooters? Sorted! Laundry ? No problem! Day trips, tuk tuks, currency exchange, food, drink, and laughed all day. If you don't find this place welcoming you need counselling

. The day of our arrival there was a tsunami scare and the road to patong was blocked for 5 hours , could have been scary for some as I saw girls crying on the phone but our adopted mother assured us all was well in patong and not to worry she would fetch us off the hillside when the road re- opened.

If u needed scooters in patong which at this guesthouse is a bonus because of location. You do take the risk of being ripped off because some of the companies are run by mafia and they will ripp you off! But our lady has her own scooters and we felt quite calm that this wouldn't be the case.

The food and service were good. You can find cheaper in patong with out looking too hard but it's not expensive and it's on your doorstep.

No there's no pool but who wants to lie by a pool when your 5 mins from beautiful beaches of patong. Freedom. Paradise. And less than half hour from kumala surin karon kata bangtau and my favourite lem sing !!

Laundry was washed and ironed personally by my mother for 50baht a kg. wish she lived in England lol.

All in all a great stay at a lovely guesthouse at a very cheap price 8 days room and scooter hire plus a bit of minibar cost me £110 .

I will be returning and I will be staying with my adopted mother

See you soon momma x

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dodgytomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chepstow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

stayed here for one night before going to phi phi. read mixed reviews but i found it a pleasant stay. nice staff on reception. helpful and got us a good price for the ferry to phi phi. room was clean and tidy very comfortable. also in a good situation not far too the beach walking distance but easier in a taxt which was 50baht each.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chepstowcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

First and foremost I just don't like how the receptionist treated us. She had no hospitality and was so unfriendly when it comes to attending 'The Other Asian' guests like us. But you can see her cheerful smile and unbelievably friendly & helpful when she attended the Westerners.

The room we were given was at the top floor. Not much to complain as we got a cheap deal from Agoda.com. The room is spacious, clean, with private bathroom and basic amenities.

Walking in town is bearable. But after a while you'll be like a limping zombie. Getting around with Tuk-tuk is not advisable as it is can be very expensive. From Bangla Road back to the hotel is THB500!! It is a common practice to rent a bike (THB200 per day). Simon Cabaret is a must see. Keep in mind you have to give a tip after taking a photo with the "showgirls".

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nlamau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

Lovely rooms, decent service and a friendly staff. It is a bit of a distance from the beach.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
Nirvana Inn
Nirvana Inn
#173 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.0 mi away
SM Resort
SM Resort
#296 of 319 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kris Residence
The Kris Residence
#253 of 319 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lamai Apartment
Lamai Apartment
#137 of 222 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Journey Patong
The Journey Patong
#207 of 400 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.9 mi away
Good Nice 2 Guesthouse
Good Nice 2 Guesthouse
#286 of 400 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamai Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamai Guesthouse

Property: Lamai Guesthouse
Address: 20/31-21 Sirirat Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 400 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamai Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lamai Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamai Guesthouse Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing