We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find in Patong”
Review of Swiss Palm Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swiss Palm Beach
Ranked #84 of 334 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We spent 6 nights in this wonderful quiet paradise in a 2 bedroomed apartment (no 23)with 3 teenage boys. We had a great view of the pool and lovely gardens. The bedrooms were a decent size and then linen crisp, white and clean. We had TVs and DVD players in the main bedroom and in the lounge downstairs. THE lounge suite opened up into a sleeping couch and one of the boys slept there every night so we were not charged for an extra bed, which was very nice of the owners. As mentioned before, the kitchenette was very basically equipped but everybody eats out in Thailand, including the locals! We did use the kitchen for tea, toast and fruit in the mornings as we all got up at different times! The service at this hotel was superb and Philippe and his lovely wife went out of their way with their hospitality. Must also mention that the air conditioning worked very well. Somebody mentioned before that the pressure in the shower wasn't great. We found that the pressure in the downstairs shower was better but this wasn't an issue for us and we were grateful to have 2 bathrooms after sharing one bathroom between 5 of us in our previous hotel!!
The hotel is in a great location. A few minutes walk to the beach, 10 minutes to Bangla road and Jungceylon shopping centre. We also ate at the street 'restaurants' , one street back and parallel to the beach road ( a few meters down from the red and white 'tune hotel'.) The resident pancake lady outside the hotel was fabulous. There was a choice of 4 supermarkets within a few minutes walk of the hotel plus pharmacies and money exchange booths.
My biggest regret was that we didn't eat at the hotel which looked so nice and was obviously popular. Our teenage boys wanted to be out and about amongst the madness every evening!!
I would definately stay here again and would encourage any fellow Australians, who want decent accomodation in Patong without paying resort prices, to do the same.

Room Tip: Apartment 23 was great for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank paanPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 week stay at Swiss Palm Beach. My husband, 14-year old daugher and i stayed in an apartment right by the pool.
The only negative thing I have to say about the hotel is this: we had initially requested a rate that included breakfast and was told that they dont generally include breakfast in the rate, but that the unit had an equipped kitchen. I was happy with that, BUT the kitchen i'm afraid to say was poorly equipped to say the least - 1 pot, a pan, some mismatched crockery and cutlery, a toaster and a toaster oven, that all needed a good wash before using and no dish towel. That said though, we ended up having breakfast in the restaurant every morning and there were so many food options practically on the doorstep of the hotel. So really, the one disappointing thing (the kitchen) turned out to be a non-event. To the management I would suggest though that if you offer an 'equipped kitchen' that you improve on what the kitchen is equipped with.
Being creatures of habit we had the same breakfast every morning and we were not disappointed at any time.
The restaurant (Le Gong) was really good. The service and meals (the breakfast and the few other meals we had in the restaurant) were of a very high standard. Hats off to the serving staff and the chef!
The pool is rather small but very clean, and we only used it on 3 occassions BUT the beautiful beach is literally a 2 minute walk away from the hotel. We spend all of our time (when not on a tour) on this beautiful stretch of beach.
The unit itself was comfortable although I do not know how the deluxe room we booked was any better than a standard (which was cheaper). We had a few niggles with the aircon in the second bedroom but Philipe (the manager) sorted it out very efficiently on both occassions. The unit was serviced to a high standard everyday, even on the days that we did not start our day before 12 noon.
I would definitely recommend this hotel as a comfortable base from which to explore Phuket.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights during the high season before Christmas.
We were 3 adults, 2 children and one baby so it wasn't easy to find a hotel without spending a crazy amount.

The good:
At this hotel we could get a big room, which is actually a small apartment: 2 bedrooms, kitchen and a living room. It cost us about 130$ which is reasonable.
The location is very good if you need a hotel in Patong close to the beach (5 minutes walking even with a stroller).
Service was also good and Philip the manager was very nice.
Pool was small but nice and sufficient for us.

The not so good:
The maintenance of the rooms is not good. They feel quite old, the shower stream is weak, the inner doors don't exactly fit their hole and so on. It is a pity because if the room condition was better I would certainly give 5 points ("excellent") rating.

Bottom line:
If there was "good" option in Tripadvisor this would be my rating.
For groups or families of 4-5 or more it is a good solution and I'm happy we took this hotel.
For families of 2-3 I think there are better options in the same price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GurHil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Spent a week here and enjoyed it for the most part. The room we had was dated and grungy. Shower was awkwardly tiny and poor water pressure. Wifi was decent.
Staff was of course very friendly, and the location was perfect. About a 4 minute walk to the beach, it's close enough to walk several times a day, but far enough to avoid late night noise and get better room rates.
However the grounds and swim-up pool were impeccable and beautiful. Would stay here again if it were in a renovated and updated room.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank GibbonTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Bit of a late review. We were in Patong during the first week of October. We checked out of our 4 star resort after 1 night of 8 booked. The accommodation here was larger, less expensive, and better quality - great value for money. The staff was far friendlier, helpful and more competent. Especially after a heavy fall on the premises needing medical attention. Cosy laid back comfortable resort, well placed outside the centre of Patong but still easily accessible. We would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Had a great 10 days at the swiss palm. We only had a standard apartment. But that did us fine as a family of five. Hope we can go back again. Only gripe was that the kitchen could have been better equiped

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank nibble26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Firstly the service was exceptional, i take my hat off to bothe the Resort and the restaurant!.... The Limo Driver was a top bloke too.
The first time in my life I felt truley free and the resort was an exceptional compliment to that!
I will be back and I will make sure others will give it a go too!

Room Tip: I travelled solo and my room was outstanding!! I imagine the others are atleast as good and the jan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
Siam Palm Residence
Siam Palm Residence
#130 of 334 in Patong
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Phuket Deevana
Ramada Phuket Deevana
#15 of 334 in Patong
738 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#32 of 334 in Patong
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#17 of 334 in Patong
1,732 reviews
0 mi away
Eden Bungalow Resort
Eden Bungalow Resort
#145 of 334 in Patong
87 reviews
0 mi away
Thanthip Beach Resort
Thanthip Beach Resort
#133 of 334 in Patong
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Palm Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Palm Beach

Address: 2 Soi Eden, | Chalermprakiat road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £69 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Swiss Palm Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss Palm Beach Hotel in Phuket Thailand is set in a beautiful landscaped garden located in a quiet area of Northern Patong Beach.Stay with us and get all the comforts of home with the luxury of a hotel. A peacefull place to enjoy a relaxing holiday in a friendly atmosphere. Enjoy sunbathing on a white sandy beach, or swimming in the crystal clear waters of the Andaman Sea, only 150 m from the hotel and 500m from the colorful nightlife and excellent shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Swiss Palm Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Palm Beach Hotel Phuket
Swiss Palm Beach Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing