We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, if you aren't paying”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tri Trang Beach Resort
Ranked #77 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ok, if you aren't paying”
Reviewed 27 April 2010

Stayed here for free because of the Absolute timeshare presentation.

The room was big, more like an apartment, with easily enough space for us (two adults, two kids aged 7-9). Nice view from the balcony. Free wireless worked reasonably well. Overall the room was fine, clean, nothing to complain about. As already mentioned by many others the mattresses are a bit hard, which is often the case in SE Asia.

We didn't try the breakfast but otherwise the hotel restaurant wasn't very good. Don't bother eating there unless you want to order something to the pool. There's a much better restaurant down at the beach.

The beach is peaceful but during low tide it is impossible to swim there. Also make sure you are wearing some kind of swimming shoes. I'd imagine it would be great for snorkeling, though. To get to the beach there are a lot of stairs so not very good for families with small kids or older people. The pool area was ok, with a nice happy hour. There's also another pool area next to the beach but it was being renovated.

Of course the hotel is a bit far from everything but there's a free shuttle to Patong. At times the shuttle was very full so be sure to be there early!

The hotel was at least earlier listed by one Finnish travel agency as "no kids under 12" because of the amount of stairs and some safety concerns regarding railings. However, I saw a few families with even quite small children. Don't know how they managed with the stairs.

Overall I would say that the hotel was ok, but I wouldn't pay for it. I'm pretty sure that for the same price you can find a much nicer place in a better location.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    141
    63
    31
    21
See reviews for
94
160
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yallingup, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

We stayed here courtesy of a free Timeshare week. It is located just outside Patong Beach and they have a shuttle 3 times daily into Patong.The hotel is a group of hotel wing blocks and all are situated on a "mountain" with very limited access to/from other restaurants in the area. You can walk down flights of stairs to the beach to find 1 other restaurant, a massage hut and a bar but then you have to climb all the way back up again!! With my limited mobility (waiting for back surgery) it wasn't a pleasant exercise!! Staff all had limited English and the hotel seemed full or Europeans. Local taxis/tuk tuk were available from Patong but no meters!! Restaurants were almost always devoid of customers but food was good and very reasonable prices. Happy Hours by the pool were even better at 2 for 1 and approx $6 for a cocktail very good value. The pool was very nice and 'sort -of' overlooked the beach if you could see it. But then you had to climb down to Reception and back to get the towels! Everywhere you went it was up and down the mountain!! They also have a sister hotel in Patong (Sea Pearl) and we considered moving there but it was full and after visitin git decided it wasn't worth it (too busy, traffic etc ) .Rooms were huge and had a separate kitchen and living area as well even though we'd been told it was a "hotel room" only ( and not an apartment) overlooking the ocean with fantastic views. The microwave didnt work but they fixed it. Bed was VERY hard but we found this to be the case in Thailand at most hotels even very expensive 5* ones. Staff friendly but all had VERY limited English,

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franb51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2010

Located in NO MAN'S LAND, FILTHY FACILITY, OLD FASHIONED SCARY ROOM WITH TERRIBLE BATHROOM, RESTAURANT FOOD INEDIBLE. My husband and I just got back form our honeymoon in Thailand and Cambodia and loved everything but the Tri Trang. It took over an hr to get there from the airport, it's a very long drive to the center of Patong where the all the action is, the free shuttle they provide is worthless, the sheets were stained with semen, the bathroom was disgusting...I would only stay here if you really couldn't care less about your happiness and personal hygiene. TRUST ME. We checked in and checked out one hour later, regarless of the fact that we paid for the entire stay. If you want an affordable, clean and brand new hotel in the best location look up the Hemingway's Hotel in Patong - it's small, but new and clean and modern.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank ronen14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2010

The rating of this hotel for 3 stars is about right. Realize that Thailand is not a first world country, and the service is not the same as first world. The employees as noted are generally friendly, but their english is limited. My Thai is non existent, so they were ahead of me ! The beach is great, it is removed from the public beaches of Patong, and the staff ( who are not from the Hotel) were friendly and helpful. The prices on the beach were higher than in Kata Beach, but, there is no competition. They have you, and everyone knows it.
The rooms were fine. They were quite large, but as members of Absolute, we were sold by them on a luxury suite. Not quite. I blame Absolute for that. The hotel bed was hard, but that is typical of Thailand. We had to ask for extra dishes,( knife, fork spoon) but they were delivered promptly, without hassle. The sheets, towels and rooms were clean and the maid service was acceptable. We were disappointed with the gym facility, which was at best, pathetic. The Internet service was only used twice, and for dial up, was ok.

The stairs to the beach are daunting. ( over 100) The hotel is built into the side of a steep hill. My mother-in-law scraped up her knee in a spill, but the staff were very caring of her first aid and after care.

One commentator did mention the tailor at the bottom of the stairs, who was annoying, in that he always asked if you were interested ( but, when I said no,for 6 days in a row he stopped asking on the last) Funny, in Patang, they never stopped asking either.

Ther were comments earlier in previous posts about the cost of a tuk tuk ( B200 is about HK$50, or US$ 6) give it a break, that's pretty cheap, and these people aren't rich.

All in all, I would stay here again. I think you have to keep in mind it is not a 5 star. Staying here was generally satisfying, and we had a few laughs with our family and were able to relax, which is what we wanted.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardNHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2009

stayed @ Tri Trang mid December 2009 as one week of our Absolute timeshare membership.
The hotel is undergoing renovations and I expected to be offered a renewed room but instead got one of the rooms not yet upgraded. The room itself was quite large and clean but the amenities left much to be desired. The mattress was so hard and collapsed on one side that my husband slept on the sofa. The air conditioning worked poorly and needed to be repaired while we were there. The drain in the shower overflowed and needed to be repaired while we were there. The shower itself could not be regulated and you are alternately frozen and scalded with no warning. The steps down to the beach are daunting (close to five storeys) and the hotel's advertised shuttle down to the beach was never available. It was not possible to adequately converse with the staff who seemed pleasant but could not understand sufficient English. You can't walk anywhere from this hotel -- it's quite a long way to any shops or restaurants (aside from those on the beach). If you do stay here, the shuttle into Patong is a good money saver and the hotel's taxi rates are better than you can negotiate on your own -- taxis being a major expense in Phuket in general. The beach is nice and quiet at Tri Trang without the peddlars that are rampant on all the other beaches -- aside from the tailor on the hotel's main floor who was very annoying and persistent. You have to pay 100 baht each day for a sun chair, the same as at all the beaches on Phuket. There is shade on the beach from several trees so an umbrella is not required. The pool was not filled while we were there and generally looked pretty shabby. I am quite disappointed in Tri Trang not offering us an upgraded room.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaFlygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2009

Lovely quiet location close to busy Patong nightlife.
When you WIN a holiday at Tri Trang Beach with Absolute, expect the high pressure sales team (Scum) not to take no for an answer. What a spoiler to a great place, the downer on Spain 25 years ago is in Patong. When something is so good why do you need such aggressive sales, I would expect its not that good unless you have money to throw away that is. All my opinion though so see for yourselves because i could be wrong. Note: easiest way out is just say you can't afford it, but expect to be left stranded when a lift back to your hotel was previously promised.
Apart from the wasted day with Absolute, the hotel, the staff, the private quiet beach its all worth staying here. A scooter at around £3 per day is useful.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We booked this through timeshare and booked a one bedroom apartment.
The good points....fabulous view from the balcony and nice big room. Big walk in shower in the bathroom, towels changed daily.nice pool,free wi fi
The not so good points....big kitchen with virtually no equipment at all, 2 each of knife/fork/spoon/cup n saucer/tumbler/bowl./glass dish. We only ever have breakfast in the apartment but I struggled with the equipment provided and the kitchen was huge.It didn't even have the fridge in it. That was in the bedroom area which was between the the lounge and the kitchen and not a seperate room at all. Very strange indeed. Very steep walk down to the beach if you have no transport or about 100 steps. Too many steps really in that heat. Also although the beach was fabulous I really did object to paying 100baht per sunbed per day, especially considering we were staying at the resort, eating at the beach restaurant and paying for massages at the massage hut all of which appeared to be part of the same group as the hotel.
All in all I would stay here again as a last resort but I wouldn't recommend it to my friends and you are better with a car as its a bit way out.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curlylocks47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.5 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#13 of 322 in Patong
1,608 reviews
2.1 mi away
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
#96 of 322 in Patong
78 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bliss
The Bliss
#53 of 322 in Patong
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Baan Yin Dee Boutique Resort
0.8 mi away
Patong Signature Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Shanaya Beach Resort & Spa
Shanaya Beach Resort & Spa
#102 of 322 in Patong
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tri Trang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tri Trang Beach Resort

Property: Tri Trang Beach Resort
Address: 68, Muen Ngeon Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#40 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#44 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tri Trang Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated overlook a truly unspoiled private beach, Tri Trang, here is a secret hideaway paradise. The resort can be easily accessed from Phuket Airport and its location on very own beautiful and secluded beach, and just 2 km away from lively Patong ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tri Trang Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tri Trang Beach Hotel Patong
Tri Trang Beach Resort Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing