We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Food & Priceless view”

Da Maurizio Beach Side
Ranked #102 of 568 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$150
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Da Maurizio Beach Side offers the finest in contemporary Italian cuisine in an beautiful location. Enjoy your evening, while seated a few feet from the dramatic interplay of waves crashing into subtly lit rocks.Da Maurizio's has always distinguished itself from other Italian restaurants and the new menu lives up to its already firmly established reputation. More than 90% of the fruit, vegetables, herbs and even eggs used to make our homemade pasta, are ORGANIC. From among the assorted items on the menu is live fish and lobster, imported meats, homemade pastas and the chef's special tasting menu. Of course, no meal at Maurizio's would be complete without considering the selection from the Wine Spectator Award wining cellar and a sampling of homemade desserts.Delicious food, a gorgeous sunset and the serenade of the surf make this open air restaurant at Kalim Bay a must for any visit to Phuket.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food & Priceless view”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

For an awesome night out that ticks all the boxes I would recommend going here for authentic Italian cuisine. The wines are very overpriced and in my opinion not great but the food, venue, staff and Maurizio himself are absolute gems!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BronnyB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    72
    45
    25
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spectacular view, attentive staff”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I won't give too much away but this place is magical, the food superb. Ask for a table on the water. You won't regret it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crunchybardan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food in an exquisite and romantic environment”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Everybody knows there are plenty of Italian restaurants in Phuket, especially in Patong. It is always difficult to choose, also because not so many of them really care for quality and most important, they all serve the same dishes.
If you are looking for something very special and different from the rest, but still authentic Italian, Maurizo is your best choice. Not to mention the amazing view to the Ocean, the perfect decoration and atmosphere as well as the quality of service.
Highly recommended to those who are looking for a fantastic food in a romantic and unique ambience!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rogerpilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Romantic and delicious!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I had the swordfish and the Caesar salad for my dinner last night. Incredible! The views and ambience are wonderful. The customer service is absolutely fantastic - both the owner and manager were by our table and you could tell they were very proud of this restaurant.

I have been to Da Maurizio's many times and am always blown away by the food quality and the service. Last night was no exception.

Leave room for dessert....I enjoyed far too much of the delicious bread basket I didn't have room left for the chocolate cake...which is what I will have first next time!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BethandWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not only one of the best meals I've had in Da Maurizo, but possibly the best ever.”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Full disclosure. We live nearby, and were actually married on the beach outside Da Maurizio and had our reception inside 8 years ago. We know this place well.

During that time, we've been back, on and off, for lunches and dinners.
Each time we always wonder why we don't visit more, and tonight was no exception.

There is no question as soon as you enter and see the stunning view, that you've picked the right location for a romantic dinner. The first course confirms that.
The food is beyond amazing. By the time you've had your second course, you will be looking forward to desert, but wondering where you'll put it. You will not leave hungry.
Tonight we couldn't, our mouths wanted what our bodies couldn't handle!

We drink the house Chianti, which is fairly priced at about 2000 baht (60 usd) for a 750ml bottle.
Its very smooth going down and sometimes requires a second bottle ;)

Look at my trip advisor reviews. (seriously go look.. )

I am happy to give poor ratings when they are deserved,
but for a transplanted Canadian/Italian living in Phuket, Da Maurizio is as good as it gets.

Ambiance and food second to none.

If you're reading this in Dec-Mar, call for a resv. they do get busy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MTACCHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Da Maurizio Beach Side also viewed

 

Been to Da Maurizio Beach Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing