We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Patong Bay Guesthouse
Ranked #55 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

pros: acceptable location - 15-20 min walk to Patong beach, decent price (if you don't get charged hidden costs)

cons: American owner just took over the hotel and leaves the day-to-day operations to his Thai girlfriend and her friends. unfortunately they seemed to try including hidden charges when the American boss wasn't around e.g. trying to charge for stowing luggage after checkout, charging extra for bottled water, etc. running water was cut off for one night. overall my family and I left with a pretty negative impression.

conclusion: wouldn't return or recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielSGSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trevor l, Owner at Patong Bay Guesthouse, responded to this review, 6 August 2016
Hi daniel i see by your review of patong residence hotel you were not happy.The hotel now is under new owners and management.We took over the hotel on the 1st of may 2016 and changed the name because of the bad reviews from before, the hotel is now called PATONG BAY GUESTHOUSE and as you can see we are getting very good reviews from very happy customers.We hope you will come back and see the improvements we have made and to see our very friendly staff and with no hidden costs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    17
    2
    3
    7
See reviews for
6
30
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel and asked for airport transfers ...nothing. We got there and we got put on the 4th floor. So many steep stairs to climb. Also we asked for the 200 baht motor bikes for hire we got told ok. When we went to get it we are told 300 baht, we said no, then the next day we get offered a 350 baht bike because we are average size people they told us we had to pay 350 but the bike was still the same bike designed for 2. On check out we got charged for water we never had, so many lies from the staff there, it appears they are only out to take money of you. We have had many trips to Patong and we thought we would try a cheaper hotel, but NEVER again, we come away from the experience feeling that the accommodation side and staff at this hotel were a BIG let down.

Room Tip: Rooms in any other hotel are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brian u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

The hotel has had a change of management over the last twelve months and is now owned and operated by three Italians. From the moment I arrived at the hotel they immediately made me feel at home ensuring that everything was taken care of including over 4 kg's of laundry which was cleaned and returned to me within 24 hours of me handing it over to them.
The three owners are able to communicate in a number of different languages, know all the hot spots, restaurants, beaches and were even able to arrange excursions for me right in the lobby. The room itself was very comfortable, quite large and included a balcony that overlooked the mountains. I will also mention that it was cleaned daily, without the need to prompt the owners or their staff. The Italian style breakfast that was on offer was the icing on the cake!

The hotel was perfectly located near Bangla Road, the Muay Thai stadium, the beach and all shopping districts plus you can hire a motorcycle from the premises.

In summary, I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone who wishes to stay in Patong, Phuket as the only thing that is better than the excellent value for money is the outstanding service.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Avi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Great place to stay! I was there 9 days in November 2012. Employes there are friendly and are prompt at arranging taxi services.

The venue is close to restaurants the the main shopping centre Jungceylon and Bang La Road!

Room Tip: Balcony views are great and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vw G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

A friend of us recommended me this hotel which we found to be of great value for money. For a budget price you can get a nice room newly decorated and with a powerful AC unit. The staff is very friendly and if you are lucky to meet the owner in the morning, you can obtain some very good advices on shoppping, restaurants and sightseeing tours. The plus side is that the hotel is not managed by local people so you can experience the thai hospitality with that extra european touch which on my opinion takes the service a step ahead of the others
I will definitely be coming back at this lovely hotel and I have already mentioned it to all friends of mine.
Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: An upgrade is well worth if you love a room with big balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabrix82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patong, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

We booked a room in the Patong residence for 3 nights. The room was very basic and had a bathroom that was only accessable from the bacony but it was just 800 baht in high season, or so we thought...
Anyway, on our return to Patong and heavily laden with luggage, we were dropped off at Patong residence. We arrived at reception and were told that we had been moved to another room. We asked to view the other room and found that this one didnt even have a window.
Obviously we said that this was unacceptable but were told that if we didnt like it we would forefeit our deposit of 800 baht.
We were given the option of paying 50% more to stay in the room that we originally booked but after I showed the booking reciept that stated the room and price on it and said that I was now taking this to the tourist police, I was called back to reception to find that they had suddenly decided to give my money back.
Avoid this place like the plague!

Its worth noting also that this place is miles from the action in Patong and will require a 200 baht taxi ride each way, so factor that into your equations IF you still want to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SiCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We arrived in Patong at 2am on New Years Day only to find that our reservation (at another hotel) had been cancelled due to over booking. The Patong Residence was recommended to us. To cut a long story short we arrived in the pouring rain by tuk tuk and were greeted by friendly staff who helped to carry our bags (no elevator) to the first floor.

I was plesently surprised by our room. It was bright, clean and freshly decorated. It had an en-suite (off the main bedroom, not outside) and a huge king sized bed. I must admit I was worried about what this place would be like but I was happy with the outcome.

The location was good for us as its in a busy area and close to shops and restaurants. We didn't have breakfast included but found a nice cafe around the corner.

There is a large shopping centre 10 minutes walk away and the beach is located about 5 minutes further than the shopping centre.

The only bad thing about this hotel was the noise. Because of the layout, internal noise tends to echo up the stairwell from the reception area where a pool table is located. The worst noise however came from the busy road outside. Mopeds and tuk tuks awoke me several times during the night.

If you were thinking of staying here I'd recommend asking for a room at the back of the hotel, which isn't overlooking the road.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahLeBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.6 mi away
Priew Wan Guesthouse
Priew Wan Guesthouse
#113 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.6 mi away
Breezotel
Breezotel
#26 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amici Miei Hotel
Amici Miei Hotel
#31 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bad Boys Guesthouse Patong
Bad Boys Guesthouse Patong
#131 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ramaz
Hotel Ramaz
#197 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Little Moon Residence
The Little Moon Residence
#49 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Bay Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Bay Guesthouse

Property: Patong Bay Guesthouse
Address: 64 Nanai Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Patong Residence Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Patong Bay Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly opened hotel (opened 1 may 2016) has 16 rooms on 4 floors with 4 room types superior double rooms,superior twin rooms,deluxe rooms and standard rooms.Reception area and common area for guests to relax and enjoy a drink from our bar located near to the reception.With a restaurant and coffee shop located just outside the main entrance to the hotel.Tours can be arranged and scooter hire is available from the reception.Within walking distance to The international shopping center (jungceylon) and baanzan market.Many other shops and restaurants very close to the hotel.To the beach is just a short walk from the hotel.Bangla road the main night life area is also just a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Patong Bay Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patong Bay Guesthouse Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing