We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pull your socks up! So much potential, so little delivered!”
Review of The Bliss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bliss
Ranked #43 of 329 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed 15 April 2013

When i read other reviews before I booked I dismissed the negative ones and went ahead.......silly me. The hotel is in a great location for Patong (I've visited Phuket dozens of times and my 1st and last time in Patong.....there are so many other beautiful spots so unless you want the "Patong experience" then go elsewhere).

This hotel could be a cool, exclusive, booked out boutique hotel, but, a combination of poor maintenance, lack luster staff who don't even appear to be hospitality trained and no atmosphere add up to a big fail! Given the reasonable price it's passable but not what the hotel builds itself up as.

The reception staff attitude is deplorable. We had 2 rooms next to each other and needed the child locks on each door to actually work. On one room the child lock was completely missing and just the associated hole remained. Maintenance could not repair it so we asked to be moved to 2 adjoining rooms. The response was....."we can only move one of the rooms".... so our family with kids will be split over 3 levels? Why? "it will be too much trouble for me to shuffle rooms around as we are full in 2 nights time".

The beach immediately across from the hotel is a disgrace and littered with all and sundry. To avoid this walk 500m north towards Patong and use the beach there.

The rooms were enormous......I think it was a standard suite. Based on the website pics the view was spectacular......which it would have been if not on the 2nd level and blocked by a mass of tangled phone/power lines which completely took away from the natural beauty. Despite the power line view, the outdoor balcony was spacious and functional. You had to be a master plumber to adjust the water temperature in the hand held shower. It was either scalding hot or cold. The "rain" shower did not work as there didn't seem to be enough water pressure to make it flow apart from a couple of drizzles.

The back pool is very nice but a bit dangerous with loose edging tiles in places and also a drop off towards the underground car park that is risky for kids. Around the pool most of the equipment works but the potential of the place is let down by poor maintenance and in this case broken and unattended umbrellas.

The bed/mattress was huge but solid as a rock. The furniture in the rooms is old and dated. The couch in the dim living area is like the bed mattress way to hard and uncomfortable.

The breakfast restaurant appears a bit grimy with stains on the floor and linen. The food is average at best and exactly the same thing every day.

When we checked out we were made to wait in reception while they investigated where supposedly missing face washers were and also quizzed us over why there were 3 sets of towels in one of the rooms rather than the supplied 2. How the heck would I know!

I did not go here with expectations of a 5 star resort but the overall rundown nature of the resort and the lack of care from the staff really drags this place down way below it's potential.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kev O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

296 - 302 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed at The Bliss last July. Excellent location right on the beach. Lots of shops and bars within walking distance. The staff was very friendly especially this one staff member named Apple. She checked us in and told us where everything was located. She recommended some tours and things to do around Phuket. All rooms have balconies facing the beach. House keeping did not speak English, little difficult to communicate with them.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jofo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

After a bad night at previous hotel took a walk and found The Bliss .Very helpful staff booked in for remainder of holiday The day staff were all lovely thankyou. James was great nothing was a bother. The hotel itself was clean ,breakfast was good , rooms were clean Aircon a bit noisy but overall great stay would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 926PaulaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We Stayed here March 2013 and while we found it a great location and awesome views it was let down a little by a couple of things. The rooms were a good size and nice and clean but a little dated, same goes for the bathrooms they were clean but very dated. Breakfast was average but passable, the staff were very friendly and very attentive to any of our needs.One thing we did like the food at the restaurant was good and prices very reasonably for a hotel and the cocktail bar had 100Baht cocktails all day and 80 Baht at happy hour, cheapest in Phuket. We were in the old wing and they have suites in the new wing that are very nice but $50 AU extra per night.

Room Tip: Stay in the new wing Suites for great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

We had the pool villa which is wonderful. Right across from the beach at the very edge of patong..perfect location just far enough out of all the action....would hate to be in the misdt of patong and not getting the sea breezes and also is a very noisey area at night due to the nightlife. Walk to the centre of patong and bangla road only 10-15 mins along the beach. The pool villa has a bedroom, lounge area and kitchen and is very spacious. Could have extra person sleep on large lounge bed in the lounge room no problem. Wifi was excellent. ..we experienced no problems with it.. breakfast good but the same everyday. Staff were super friendly to us always smiling. I would definitely stay here again. Room serviced every day.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raich-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We had the pool villa, which had an amazing view of the sea, a lovely pool and very nice decor and furnishings.

Pros:

The Pool was definitely something we would get again, as we could keep cool, relax and not have to worry about the crowds on patong beach.

The hotel was in a great location, very close to all restauants, Bangla road and Jung Ceylon shopping centre, and a few steps from the beach, which is lovely at sunset. The beach is also a lot quieter down this end, with it being slightly away from the main area.

Breakfast was great, buffet style with lovely bacon, eggs and loads more, and a great view from the breakfast area of the whole esplanade and beach.

Cons:

Staff provided average service, did not go above or beyond expected requirements.

Room cleaning was erratic, and the cleaner even called one day, on the room phone at 5pm asking if they could clean the room (the door was locked) as they had not already done this. Other days it was 3/4pm...

The beds were quite hard, but we found this in most of Thailand...

The rain shower in our room did not work which was a shame.

Wifi was in and out of service, sometimes it was great, sometimes it was non existent.


Overall, we would return again if we were visiting phuket, mostly due to having our own pool and the location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingTTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed at the Bliss in Patong in January 2013. Right up front will say I travelling alone, but didn't want to spend my nights alone. Patong is known for its nightlife and of course the centre of that is Bangla Rd!

The pros: Great location, across street from lovely beach. Room was fine, comfy bed. The food at breakfast was good.

Cons: I asked before I got there about whether the hotel was "guest friendly" was assured it was. Checked it--double checked yes I had registered as two. After first night, my guest and I go to breakfast and that is when trouble begins--the restaurant staff have me as solo--guest will have to pay...making a scene--which is of course embarrassing to me and more so to my guest. I complain to desk-they will sort it out---this repeats itself the next morning. By third morning it was finally sorted out and no hassle. Lots of stares and looks--not great place in general for those with guests.

Other cons--the wifi sucks--very unreliable especially in room. Front desk says they will book trips--but refused to help me book the boat trip I wanted to Phi Phi---because it was cheaper and they would get no kick back. Generally not the friendliest staff around. Bit of hike to Bangla which is a pro and con--not quite so crazy. Perhaps a bit pricey for Patong and facilities.

All in all--OK---if you are a couple, I would say it likely it would be good...solo guys I can't recommend it....

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuelphPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#11 of 329 in Patong
1,775 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#28 of 329 in Patong
756 reviews
0.8 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
0.3 mi away
Baan Laimai Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Patong Paragon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bliss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bliss

Address: 40 Thaveewong Rd | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £42 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bliss 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bliss is a heavenly resort at the tranquil southern end of Patong Bay, a place where you can truly relax and feel at home with genuine warm hospitality and luxury facilities. Meander down the beachfront road to the centre of Patong Beach and enjoy the vibrant atmosphere this exciting city is famous for. Relax under the shade of a parasol on the white sands, shop till you drop at Jungceylon Shopping Mall and dance the night away at Bangla Road nightlife district, all just a hop, skip and a jump from the resort. The Standard Wing offers 41 contemporary design rooms with private balconies to enjoy the wonderful views over Patong Bay and the Andaman Sea. The stylish Superior and Deluxe rooms are available with king-size or twin beds and are complete with full range of modern amenities including satellite television, mini-bar and rejuvenating hot water rain showers. The upper floor rooms feature a luxurious bathtub and prime sea views. There are 38 spacious sea view suites at The Bliss offering guests supreme comfort and style with special features included for added indulgence. Step from your private balcony to the plunge pool while staying in the ground floor Pool Suite and luxuriate in the large Jacuzzi for two in the Superior and Deluxe Suites. All suites include a separate living area and bedroom, full in-room amenities and wonderful sweeping views over Patong Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bliss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bliss Hotel Patong
The Bliss Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing