We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night horror”
Review of The Bliss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bliss
Ranked #46 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One night horror”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

it was just a one one night stay over .
Hotel car arrived 30 minutes late for the airport pick up
Very poor English at reception , no kind greeting by staff
Breakfast was old and cold . Had an early flight breakfast opens at 6.30 but food was cold in baine Marie's .
Bacon was obviously from day before as it had been in the fridge it was stone cold , bake beans straight out of the tin and into the baine Marie.
Disgraceful service all the staff were very UNpleasant no one was happy
The room average old and out dated and a lot of road noise.
How this hotel won Trip Advisor awards for 2012 and 2013 is a mystery to me.
5 Star I don't think so
I rate it one star " one to avoid"

Room Tip: Not this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Butta66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    182
    83
    42
    23
See reviews for
66
260
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The picture on their website looks nothing like the real thing - unfortunately for us. We stayed in their high end room with private pool and view of the beach for about $200 per night. We had initially booked for 7 nights but after the traffic noise on the first night where we didn't get much sleep, we asked to be shifted to another room away from the noise. Unfortunately there wasn't another option so we decided to leave and stay elsewhere. To their credit, they voided the transaction they took from my credit card upon arrival the night before, which had not yet been processed, so I only paid for the one night. Room was clean, staff were sort of ok, brekky buffet was disappointing. Overall, a 3 star place in my view where maybe $120 p/n would be ok. The main issues here are traffic noise as your bed looks onto your pool but so do people walking or driving past, so no privacy.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The hotel is indeed overlooking the beach, in a nice position to watch the sunset,in a quiet section of Patong beach, and yet at walking distance to everything.
The service is good, looks always clean, and services are always willing to help out with information. The breakfast is a buffet with many different options with fresh and delicious fruits.
The rooms are spacious and very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the front swimming pool, and away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

This is our 5th stay at The Bliss. It is a great location, away from the major hustle and bustle of the Patong life, yet close enough to walk there - many times a day with little effort!
We had our second stay during Loy Krathong Festival. Staff put on an excellent buffet and set menu and these were well attended. Staff service was incredible and they actively involved with us in the launching of our little palm 'boats' - one of the chefs out to his waist ensuring they all sailed off into the night.
Maintenance has just been done to the rooms and the 'new look' is quite good. We shared a room and have no complaints. We did have some air con troubles, which were attended to with minimal fuss - we do get the royal treatment here as 'regulars',
Great atmosphere and pool and staff always ensure that we are looked after, even down to opening the doors on arrival each time you enter and exit. A very professional approach.
The Bliss may not be the 'best' in Patong but it's 'home' to us on our trips twice yearly!
Barry and the crew always go the extra mile to ensure our stay is always great and that's why we return - and of course the great Thai people! Thanks agin to all the staff for making our stay so welcoming. We look forward to our return in May 2014!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ctoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We finally arrive at Hotel Bliss overlooking the beach within walking distance to everything! The reception seemed ok and so it should be as we had checked the Tripadvisor thoroughly and this hotel was highly recommended. However what we did not know was that there was an old part and a new part and guess what – we had a room in the old part! So we got taken through old mouldy walkways, a lift and corridors that had seen better days to our room which was a major disappointment. The only thing it had got going for it was that it was clean but otherwise very poky and the piece the resistance for me was the cubicle made from partly obscured glass in the bedroom where the shower and the toilet sat! (head and knees down, could be seen at all times the rest as a shadow) Now you tell me – what is with this design trend, how many people actually like seeing their partner sitting on the toilet? Particularly in Asian counties too where the toilet visits may be a little more frequent perhaps. The room had neither bathroom privacy nor anywhere else either as the windows and balcony also was in view of everyone, unless you closed the heavy curtain, which was so depressing. Breakfast was good but the only restaurant open for lunches and dinners was old and run down. The new part where the suites were looked really good but the hotel were asking us to pay $150 a day on top of what we had already paid so we moved to the Mercure.

Room Tip: Only stay in the new part, the section with the new suites they did look very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Clean hotel - with the exception of some mold in the corner of our shower. It was centrally located in Patong but you can hear the street traffic. So if you're coming from the suburbs, you'll not like the noisiness.

Included breakfast was pretty good. I was annoyed by the small small ants on the tables but that I have seen else where in Thailand.

Very good mattress for a good night's sleep. Firm - if that's what you like.

The beach across the street is decent, not the greatest. If you're in Patong for the nightlife and shopping and eating then this is a good place, else for a quieter more idyllic feel - go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Taxi to the airport is 600Baht from outside, and 800Baht if you do it from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akalsahai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We booked our stay after reading several glowing reviews however it was never mentioned any where about the two different types of accommodation .
After arriving we were told we are getting an upgrade but we were not told that there is the old section of the hotel and the new section , to say the least the old section is exactly that, old and run down .
The following morning at breakfast we found out about the new section and as we had already paid for 10 days we wanted to move into a better room and pay the difference but the hotel refused and wanted the full room rate which was quite expensive anyway .
We were very dissapointed and moved to another hotel that day they had no intention of trying to make us stay or offer any sort of compromise , we felt misled and misinformed so be aware one half of the hotel is a dump ant other half is all new but pretty pricy and the view to the beach is blocked by hundreds of wires, breakfast was so so.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#14 of 328 in Patong
1,679 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#28 of 328 in Patong
726 reviews
0.8 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#9 of 328 in Patong
1,657 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
0.3 mi away
Baan Laimai Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bliss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bliss

Property: The Bliss
Address: 40 Thaveewong Rd | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bliss 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bliss is a heavenly resort at the tranquil southern end of Patong Bay, a place where you can truly relax and feel at home with genuine warm hospitality and luxury facilities. Meander down the beachfront road to the centre of Patong Beach and enjoy the vibrant atmosphere this exciting city is famous for. Relax under the shade of a parasol on the white sands, shop till you drop at Jungceylon Shopping Mall and dance the night away at Bangla Road nightlife district, all just a hop, skip and a jump from the resort. The Standard Wing offers 41 contemporary design rooms with private balconies to enjoy the wonderful views over Patong Bay and the Andaman Sea. The stylish Superior and Deluxe rooms are available with king-size or twin beds and are complete with full range of modern amenities including satellite television, mini-bar and rejuvenating hot water rain showers. The upper floor rooms feature a luxurious bathtub and prime sea views. There are 38 spacious sea view suites at The Bliss offering guests supreme comfort and style with special features included for added indulgence. Step from your private balcony to the plunge pool while staying in the ground floor Pool Suite and luxuriate in the large Jacuzzi for two in the Superior and Deluxe Suites. All suites include a separate living area and bedroom, full in-room amenities and wonderful sweeping views over Patong Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Bliss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bliss Hotel Patong
The Bliss Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing