We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible treatment of pre-paid customers...scary experience”
Review of Tiger Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tiger Inn
Ranked #147 of 407 Patong B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible treatment of pre-paid customers...scary experience”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This hotel treated us terribly making us feel very scared and uncomfortable.
We arrived at 11pm after a long flight to check in using our prepaid agoda voucher to be told our room was occupier and we would be taken to another hotel.
We had no idea of the layout of patong and were scared, despite arguing they pretended not to understand, ignored my receipt set.
We were out in the back of a car and taken to a random 'affiliate hotel' several streets away from our hotel. The room we stayed in was in a dodgy hotel, quite far away and the bathroom was disgusting and dirty. We were told we could check in to our rightful hotel at 9am the next day. This did not happen until 2pm, ruining half of the next day. After we checked in everything else was fine, the staff were pleasant the room and location of hotel good. But would NEVER book again because of this scary experience - we were offered no compensation. The thai staff laughed and mocked us in thai when we were scared. VERY UNPLEASANT!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Domi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    20
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
15
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

we stayed here as we remembered the building from the previous year and we had to meet friends there after having an 18 hour delay in Singapore.

The hotel looks pretty basic when walking up the stairs but really it is nice.

Every door is key card entry, We stayed on the side facing the school 2 floors up. It was quiet enough to sleep, close to everything, had a nice bathroom (water tempratures did change in the shower), bar fridge and AC. you are allowed to have guests without a fee , if they are thai u must sign them in at the desk downstairs. cost us 1000 Baht a night for a twin share room so 500THB each.

Food and coctails from the restraunt are good

Room Tip: i don't think it would matter, we were close to the street and was able to sleep fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sibbsy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Booked the night before and got two nights for £85 between 2 of us so was rather pricy for Patong but we did leave it last minute. Great location with clean rooms and lovely bathrooms (superior room). This was my 2nd stay at this hotel and would definately go back. Excellent location near to Bangla Road which is very lively and vibrant at night. Not too far from the beach either although you do have to walk down some back roads.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v_patel_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I posted a review about this hotel after my first sty there last year, and gave it a 5 point score. I stated I will come again and so I did - this time for a full week.

And the reason I am posting this second review, is because I was disappointed. This stay I got a room in the 4th floor facing south opposed to the 5th floor room facing north I got last time - and what a difference it made....

First of all when I came in, I got overwhelmed by a smell of moss. I was told that after turning the air condition on, it will disappear. So I gave it 5 minutes, and asked to move to a different room. This room was better but still could feel the moss smell when coming in - but at least it did go away after having the A/C working for two minutes.

The second problem is noise - facing south, the room is located over the area where the band is playing - usually a little noisy but not too bad if you are not a light sleeper. But, on Monday it was just impossible - The noise was very very loud, and there were very loud drum beats that made you feel you are inside a concert show. at 1:30AM I was so frustrated I called the reception and asked for how long will the noise continue. They said they are very sorry for that ( because of the noise at the lobby floor it was very difficult to even understand what they say on the phone), it will take about half an hour more ( it did stop at 2:10 AM), and that it is because they have an open night (or something like that) on Mondays...

Rather than that, all the other good things I had to say in my previous review are correct - Large rooms, comfortable beds, nice bath tub (although if you shower - the water changes temperature like pulses - be aware of that...), decent breakfast.

To summarize up - in my last day in patong, I spent some time looking at other hotels in the area for my stay next year - I believe it says it all.

Room Tip: If you want to go to sleep before 2 AM - Only take 5th floor facing North.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BPorat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2011

*Ask for the rooms facing Bangla road. You might not see it clearly but at least you'll get a good view of Patong.

They have a bath tub and good, cold air condition.

It's a good location for those places you need to go. Late night massage / bangla road / glbt bars / mall / seafood restaurants.

The elevator makes me a bit claustrophobic. Maybe because it is warm / minimal ventillation. But it's alright since I'm at the 3rd floor.

If you need big western foods, you can buy at the restaurant in the first floor. But for the rest, try the Seafood shops nearby :) Eat at the No.8 shop in the Seafood market.

Enjoy Phuket.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing Bangla road. You might not see it clearly but at least you'll get a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zattaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

A fair , good priced, clean hotel with very good service .Cited in the centre of Patong . The noise there is not unbearable but if you have a special problem with it(as me) ask for a room at the "side which looks at the school". There is no problem at all there.

Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank anastassiosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
0.4 mi away
Tiger Hotel
Tiger Hotel
#101 of 322 in Patong
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamai Inn
Lamai Inn
#143 of 322 in Patong
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
La De Bua
La De Bua
#109 of 407 in Patong
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Patong Budget Rooms
Patong Budget Rooms
#146 of 285 in Kathu
11 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fong Kaew Mansion Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Patong Station House
Patong Station House
#64 of 221 in Patong
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiger Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiger Inn

Property: Tiger Inn
Address: 140 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Rd, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 407 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tiger Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tiger Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiger Inn Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing