We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for money!”
Review of Artha Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Artha Guesthouse
Ranked #18 of 409 Patong B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at the Artha for four days and I must say that the place is very well managed. For the price we were paying we got an excellent deal. The rooms were clean, the housekeeping tidy and the place is perfectly located, with a plethora of good eats and places to explore all a hand's throw from it. As for the noise factor, you can't expect to come to place like phuket and expect a little noise every now and then.

Mally (short for Malcom the owner) is very friendly and extremely helpful. His knowledge of all matters local is probably a big USP for people travelling blind to the place for he's pretty keyed into most of the best deals and was a load of help with all the useful tips about places to visit and dine in. The ManU themed bar on the ground floor is pretty quaint and comes alive on days when EPL team's playing. All in all, a great deal!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prithvi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for Artha Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

198 - 204 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

This was our first trip to Phuket and as usual we were very careful abt where we booked our hotel stay. We looked at several hotels before we decided on Artha Hotel. When the owner Malcom Russell himself befriended us, kept in touch with us and advised us all the way until we checked out after a stay of 5 days, we realised that we had made the right choice.

The Artha hotel is a nice small and cozy place to stay for a group of friends or families. Malcom took great care in making our stay as comfortable and organised as possible by arranging our day trips to the islands (a lot cheaper than the published rates)and suggesting good restaurants and watering holes.

Mrs.Russell and her housekeeping team do a great job in keeping the guest rooms and public areas very clean and tidy.

All in all a well run place and a must visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikhil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Artha Hotel, Phuket Thailand
Summary in under 10 words: Bad location and Impossible to get sleep.

Detailed Review:

We booked The Artha Hotel based on reading the first 3 pages (30 passionately positive reviews) on TripAdvisor. Boy, do we ever wish we got to the 4th page in our search results where there is ONE truly accurate review by Sydney-Bound1.

We wanted a weekend vacation in Phuket to be the cherry on top of our Asia trip but instead we got NO sleep and could barely breathe from the heavy smoke fumes that rose into our room.

Pros:
*Large & tidy room. Nice owners who speak English.

Cons:
* BAD location - on a busy street surrounded by Karaoke bars where drunk singers bellow all night long! During our stay, they howled well into the next afternoon!

No exaggeration here, the owner Mally says this unfortunately happens all the time with these karaoke bars (It is so loud that it sounds like you are standing right next to the screaming singers, street drunks & thundering speakers).

*Thick smoke wreaks throughout the lobby, bar, check-in, stairwell, rooms...etc. The smoke stench from the chain-smoking hotel lobby loungers never let up during our time there thus making it difficult to breathe anywhere in the hotel.

The Artha Hotel was more than a 15 minute walk to the main Patong beach area for us. We later found other budget hotels that were newer, nicer and closer to the beach for the same price.

Although the owners are friendly, the overall stay was not comfortable, the location is not great and the area is too "rock concert-like" loud.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the street.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 604happytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Absolutely lovely hotel with a real homely feel !!! Excellent location <5 mins walk to Patong Beach !! Great atmosphere back at the hotel and always a bit of banter from the owner Malley. Making this my regular hotel for staying in Patong. Perfect spot A+
Seán

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean_O_C1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Guys this is my first review on Tripadvisor, although i follow Tripadvisor very closely but never written review before...

four of us went for vacation to Thailand for week and our first destination was Phuket.. we made choice of Artha based on location and rates...

Hotel was very conveniently located near patong beach.. beach and walking street distance is about 15- 20 mins walk.. Mally hotel owner is great person.. we spent about 3 days in Phuket and Mally helped us in everything from showing us best places to visit, helped us in booking our island trips and arranged for transportation etc..

about hotel.. hotel location is good, rooms are clean & specious, with free WIFI and locker facility..Mally's bar at the entrance of hotel is good place to spent couple of hours in night...

Finally rate... guys you cant even imagine... rate was just 600 batt per room (Oct Month).. I truely loved the place and I think it is best place in terms of Value for money.. we all were bachelors but hotel is good for couples as well... Mally is very nice and friendly person...

only thing which you should take care while using local transport to Hotel is please make Cab/Bus driver speak to hotel guys for location.. local people get confuse Artha with hotel called "Arita"... make sure you keep hotel number and Mally's number with you...

net net.. great place, great location, great hospitality.. superb value for money...

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nirmal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This is one of my greatest stay and should be the best hotel in Patong!
The hotel is local between Patong beach which is about 10 to 15mins walk to it, and by walking south, you able to enjoy some great shopping spree as well. Along the way, you get to try and feast on the local delights of many choices!
The room is very spacious. Cleanliness is without a doubt, perfect! You will certainly get to enjoy the best sleep and rest after a long day of fun.
The owner, Mr Mally and his wife are both very helpful and greatly provides assitant and help including arranging my trip to phi phi island by recommending a tour agency which offers a more wonderful price package rather than those in the airport and others which is at least 30 to 40% more expensive.Mr Mally definitely makes your stay here more worth it and more memorizing!
There is also this mini man utd theme bar right below and you can enjoyba cold beer while watching the live soccer matches on a weekend.
Would definitely return to this hotel when I back in Phuket!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Estan1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

There is so much to do in this town you will never get bored. This hotel is alright, it's the hospitality that will keep you there. Mally takes great care of all the guests. It feels comfortable like your at home. I hate staying at big hotels where you are just another guest. Mally got great deals for diving with sea fun divers, snorkeling trips around Phi Phi island, sea kayaking, etc. The bar downstairs has cold beer and good prices. It's hard to get to the room or leave without one. The worst thing about this place was leaving. Then having Mally pester me on facebook to remind me that I'm no longer on vacation. Thanks for the great stay Mally and I can't wait to get back there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teerav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
The ASHLEE Heights Patong Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Breezotel
Breezotel
#24 of 328 in Patong
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
i-Kroon Cafe & Hotel
i-Kroon Cafe & Hotel
#1 of 409 in Patong
233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Memory Patong
Memory Patong
#19 of 409 in Patong
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colora Hotel
Colora Hotel
#25 of 409 in Patong
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artha Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artha Guesthouse

Address: 262 Phung Muang Sai Gor Rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 409 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range: £12 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Artha Guesthouse Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing