We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and clean”
Review of Som Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Som Guesthouse
Ranked #197 of 406 Patong B&B and Inns
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap and clean”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Positives - Great price. Room and beds were clean. Towels were provided and changed every day. Hot water and toilet facilities worked well. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Travel agency was helpful for tours (and got us good prices!).

Negatives - Spotty internet. 1000 baht seems too much for a deposit for me

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are on the 3rd floor. Not too high, but if you have problems going up a set of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philwily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    14
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kota kinabalu
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

This is my first trip to Phuket. Together with my brother and sister, after reading all nice reviews about Som Guesthouse, we decided to stay here. We stayed for 4 days 3 nites in Dec 2011. True enough, this place is clean and quiet. Return airport transport provided by Som Guesthouse, for the three of us, they charged THB$1,400.00. We took the earliest flight from Kuala Lumpur to Phuket, so, by the time we reach here, its quite early, not yet 9 am. Initially, we were thinking that maybe we just leave our bags here then check-in later since the check-in hour is at 12 noon, but to our surprise, Mr. Cha, the owner who handled our arrival, gave us a special service, he told us that we could check-in early and will still be charged the same one day rate. This is extremely wonderful of Mr. Cha, especially when we are still sleepy ourselves from having to wake up at 3 am in order to catch the earliest flight. Upon check-in, we paid full for 3 nites, with refundable deposit of THB$1,000.00. As for our room, it is located in a newly renovated building, with three single beds. Our room which is on the first floor is really clean, complete with air-con, water heater, and a small fridge that comes with a daily complimentary bottle of mineral water. As for entertainment and communication, there is a TV, DVD player and free WIFI. In order to borrow in-house DVD movies, maximum 2 DVDs allowed at one time, we paid non-refundable THB$100.00, of which after finished watching, we could switch to other available DVD movies. Also, a housekeeper will come in everyday to clean the room. In terms of convenience of location, this place is very strategic, within walking distance to Patong Beach, Jungceylon Mall, and Patong Foodpark plus secluded enough at nightime for a peaceful good night sleep.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betholia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kagoshima, Japan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

The place is really basic, but Som makes this Korean-runned guesthouse a lot more enjoyable. The stuff is really nice, and the place is comfortable. It is a little bit difficult to get there, so make sure to print directions in advance.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anyang, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2011

clean - every day
night - near by
beach - near by

last - value for money : best

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nandive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2011

I have stayed here twice now, the last time being February 2011. place is always super clean excellent wife and the Korean owner is awesome. The price for 2 people in an air-conditioned room, with own bathroom TV and dvd player was $25 AUD a night. its close to the beach the best outdoor food area is down the road and not to close to the noisy Bangla road. I will always stay here on my trips to Patong

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvlanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2011

This August will be my 7th trip to stay in Som Guesthouse.

My very first time when I was in Phuket, I stayed in a high end hotel that cost me about US$200/ night and my personal belongings were stolen and service was terrible! I managed to find out Som through a very random check from the website. The Korean family that run this place was excellence and many thumbs up.

Both Mr Cha and his daughter, Mary will extend their arm to assist you if anytime you needed any advice or help. Their price is in fact cheaper then many others ranging from rooms, trips and even massage packages. You feel secure and safe at all times of the stays where no words can be describe.

My friends that I have recommended to stay in Som, have always return to Singapore praising and missing our Phuket stay.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katowice, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Good localization near bangla and near to the beach. Prices are very good and staf is very nice people. Rooms are clean we where in three different and they where wery nice, clean, fresh whit TV, air condition and safe. Every day u got bottle of water and clean towel. This is very good place to stay in patong.
BEST REGARDS TO MR. Cha :) and Mary :)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam8202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
M Narina Hotel
M Narina Hotel
#219 of 321 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Little Moon Residence
The Little Moon Residence
#51 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Som Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Som Guesthouse

Property: Som Guesthouse
Address: 52 / 14, Rat-U-Thit Rd. | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 406 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have private toilet, air-condition, refrigerator, TV, DVD, Safety box, free wi-fi, hot shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Som Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Som Guesthouse Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing