We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to go”
Review of Climax on Bangla

Climax on Bangla
Ranked #126 of 550 Restaurants in Patong
Price range: US$5 - US$45
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Geelong, Australia
1 review
“Great place to go”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Bar and kitchen staff give excellent service. Special thanks to David, with his wonderful advice and local knowledge our hoilday was very memorable. Wayne and Kerri from Australia

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hinchie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyBristow, Public Relations Manager at Climax on Bangla, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thanks for your review it was much appreciated and I'm glad you have a lovely time and our service reached your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    41
    13
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Two thumbs down!!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

After reading rave reviews on TA about climax we decided to try the restaurant for lunch. We had to sent our drinks back. The babyback ribs we were served was a total disgrace- they were cold and overcooked at the same time! We had issues communicating with the staff, and it was quite hard to explain our complaints. We saw the manager, David, sitting at the bar talking on his cellphone, and when we approached the bar, he went into the wine room to continue his conversation. Not once were we asked about our meals. It seems to me that the good reviews on TA are written by people who enjoy David's personal hospitality, and is not a true reflection of the bad service and food quality we received at Climax! To add insult to injury we walked 200m further to the food court, and were served ribs that were amazing! My advice to Climax management is that if they want to set high expectations with great reviews on TA they should live up to it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Giubia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyBristow, Public Relations Manager at Climax on Bangla, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
We find this review a bit strange. I have spoken to David who in general works the breakfast and evening shifts so is very rarely in the restaurant at lunchtime. He also has no recollection at all of being approached by any guests complaining about food or sending back drinks and assures me he has never been into the wine fridge to speak on the telephone. Your order of baby back ribs is on the daytime snack menu but we’ve checked our records and we haven’t sold any in the last 6 weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“Superb”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Thanks Dave for making our night very special. All the way from Melbourne and I meet not only a fellow scouser but also a liverpool supporter. Good food and lovely atmosphere. Thanks steve and Larissa

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyBristow, Public Relations Manager at Climax on Bangla, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Yes, it's amazing how many Liverpool supporters you find. Dave of course is trying to sort out where he's going to watch the derby next weekend but he has a lot of busy nights before that so I'll be keeping my eye on him. Thanks again for your lovely review and we all hope you can find your way back to us real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Horrible Experience!”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We chose this restaurant for my birthday dinner based on other reviews, and were absolutely disappointed. Perhaps we picked a bad night, but the service was absolutely horrible. Our server practically threw the menus on the table, and then disappeared for the longest time. Our food was cold when it arrived after a long wait, and the staff was unwilling to do anything about it. It was definitely not worth the time and effort we took to find a nice place for my birthday!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PsPATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyBristow, Public Relations Manager at Climax on Bangla, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
I am very sorry to hear that you had the kind of experience you detail in this review of our restaurant. We are more than surprised to hear that any of our waitress staff would treat any of our customers in this manner. We have been working extremely hard training the staff to a very high standard. The wait time and the food being cold doesn't tally with the way we operate as the manager personally goes around the restaurant checking everybody is happy with their food and their service every sitting. Each customer is important to us and we are constantly improving our standards of service and this review is taken very seriously and one which is very much at odds with our daily practice at the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldton, Australia
1 review
“Another Absolute Gem!!”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed at Absolute Bangla for a week in August 2013.
The 1st impression when you walk out of the elevator into the Climax upstairs pool and restaurant, is just WOW!
Great view from Patong Beach, to Bangla road then back into the surrounding hills. The setup of the bar so its 360deg is a great concept so no matter where you sit, you can still have a great view. The hotel area at night comes alive with all the beautiful lighting around the pool/bar and restaurant. You can either just chill at the bar and have a simple meal, or sit down dining in the beautiful deck/dining area with friends/family.
We tried many things on the menu, but the steak always left me wanting another one! The other dishes were also easily as delicious, especially a burger and beer by the pool!
The Sunday night BBQ is definitely one not to miss! With an all you can eat buffet and the LIVE music from local musicians was great!!
A big mention to David and Simon the managers, also all the lovely girls - Pang, Phon, Caty, Fon, Tai and Apple (sorry if I left any of you out), they always made us feel very welcome with smiles and talk (Many Restaurants have all the Bling but lack the friendly homely feel). Nothing was ever too much trouble at Climax! (Only downside.. no Aussie Football on the screen! :p)
We all enjoyed our stay thoroughly, made some new friends and were very sad to leave this beautiful venue!
Thanks guys we will be back and see you all soon!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beavz6530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyBristow, Public Relations Manager at Climax on Bangla, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thanks for your lovely and detailed review. Sounds like you had a great time and get to know the entire team. Shame about the Aussie football but I'm told this is an acquired taste !! Hopefully we can look forward to your return visit very soon. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Climax on Bangla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing