We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended for light sleepers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Baan Nitra Guesthouse Patong
Ranked #276 of 415 Patong B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The guest house would be ok for backpackers or friends travelling on a shoestring budget.

Pros:
The Location (close to Junceylon Shopping Centre & Soi Bangla), 7-11 & Family marts close by

Cons:
-Poor Wifi with not so great signal even on the 1st floor room!!
-Next to a noisy street which makes it difficult to sleep what with the roar of bikes all through the night
-Chose a Fan room which to our shock did not have a proper ceiling fan;rather it was a table fan fixed to the ceiling!!!
Was terribly hot & mosquitos bothered us since the hotel management hadn't provided a mosquito repellent machine.

Was terribly disappointed.I wouldn't go back-neither would I recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jannat_Jahaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2013

The place was extraordinarily clean and convenient. Had a mini-fridge in the room which allowed me to stock up on the bottled water and keep it in the room. Far enough away from Bangla road to have a quiet nights sleep but close enough to Bangla and the beach to walk if you wanted to. The owner was very nice and really concerned with his guests. Was even able to offer a couple suggestions for snorkeling and food, even arranged for travel for us back to the airport. I would highly recommend this business to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

My wife and I stayed in Baan Nitra for 2 nights of our honeymoon. We knew that Patong had a bit of a seedy reputation and decided to add it to our trip to round out our Thailand experience. We had just come back from Phi Phi and still feeling a little delicate (See our review of Viking Natures Resort.)

The man at the front desk seemed a little perplexed to see us at 1st but my wife speaks fluent French and that helped as the 2 of them chatted away. Sadly my French is about as good as my Thai but I'm assured he was being very friendly and helpful. He showed us up to our room which was an air conditioned room at the top and at the back. The room was spacious with a king sized bed, TV, safe and a fan as well as the air con. The fan was a great addition as it helped to cool us while the air con started to work. The man directed us to the complex of restaurants and the beach and let us know that between them was the Go-Go bars.

The room had an ensuite shower room which didn't have much ventilation. This meant that it had a slight damp odour about it and occasionally would smell quite strongly. My wife's supersensitive sense of smell found this a bit more unpleasent than I did and I didn't notice it much at all. The owner had put a deoderising gel in there so was trying to combat the problem.

For the price we paid (around 800Bhat a night) we were expecting a tiny dive and we were pleasantly surprised with what we got for the money. This isn't the Ritz and doesn't pretend to be. It is a backpackers guesthouse in Patong that charges really good rates. It is located on nanai road which is packed with other guesthouses, hotels and theme bars. It is a short walk to the market and the large shopping and restraunt complex. Behind that is the infamous Bangla road and then the most crowded beach I have ever seen.

Patong was not for us, we only saw Bangla road during the day time and that was enough for us. The beach was stuffed full of sunloungers and didn't look fun or relaxing. I think we were asked if we wanted a suit, a massage, a hammock or a tuk tuk more on this short walk than all of the rest of our trip put together. It is a tourist trap and seems to deserve its reputation. We weren't feeling our best while we were in Patong so the large complex of western restraunts and fast food was a godsend.

However if Patong draws you, the Baan Nitra Guesthouse is a safe haven a short walk away from the hustle and bustle of the strip, its quiet at night, pleasant and friendly in a place which seemed to us the exact opposite of that. There is a building site in front of and directly behind the guesthose and the Thai's seem to start work early and finish fairly late.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I stayed in baan nitra for what was planned for one night and ended up staying 11 !! The staff were friendly and always willing to help with local amenities , advice in where to go ect!! I felt safe and was close to everything patong Main Street was like 15 min walk away I will def be returning and staying again!!
Irish girl **

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishprincess142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Paid 390 Baht for an air conditioned room up the top, found the room to be clean and really big with it's own balcony, fridge, tv and free wifi. Sometimes it was hard to get a wifi connection, but I found myself awake pretty early most days so just used it in the morning. The mattress was very firm - I can sleep anywhere, but others may find it uncomfortable. The guest house is situated about a 15-20 minute walk to Patong Beach, which I liked as it's peaceful during the night, but still close enough to all the nightlife, market and shops. If you want to be in the heart of things this is probably not the place for you. Also, it backs right onto a very noisy construction site, so if you are a daytime sleeper not so good, but again, if you want night time peace and plan to be out in the day then no problem. Overall would recommend as excellent value for what was paid.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
Thank LaydeeLala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012 via mobile

before you read this review we just want to say that the owner is a good guy and helped us out straight away,we are only telling you off the room we stayed in and the problems

we got here in the afternoon,the man who owns the place seems great and really friendly,gave us our keys told us where the main strip was and where to eat.

once in our room right at the top we understood what 300 baht a night had bought us,to be fair we cant complain but there were ants all over the wall,the shower was hanging off and the water was yellow.

the next night something happened with the drains and the water in the toilet turned brown and the water coming from the shower turned brown too and after ten minutes our whole room stunk off sewage.

we complained and the owner gave us another room free of charge which was so much better and clean,the water was clear and there were no ants.

it might just be that we got the room that everything went wrong with,but in the end the room was poor but the owner was brilliant and at the end off the day he could have told us where to go instead of giving us another room

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wesley r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baan Nitra P, Propriétaire at Baan Nitra Guesthouse Patong, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

thank you for your review

i got nothing to do with prostitution (where did you see prostitute in thailand? prostitution is illegal in thailand)
unless you look for it

next time , don t take the cheaper room you find on booking website
we are cheap and it can not be perfect
i ll bring you in a 3000 bahts resort and then you can complain to them


thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The hotel was horrible. Our bag was stolen while we slept during mid-night. Somebody broke the window. There were not any doorman and security system. Water was very small nearly nothing. There was not water pressure.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baan Nitra P, Owner at Baan Nitra Guesthouse Patong, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

it s the first time something got stolen, from a broken window when somebody sleep inside the room.
it s usually stolen by overnight guest ...we are in patong
the room isn t that big and you actually have the bed at 1.2 meter from the sliding window.
i think you forget to close the window properly and put on us with a bad review.we had already that part removed from agoda 2.7 review , where you state that we are not safe...
it s true there has been water problem in your room, we know it from the guest that stay after you...
if you told us , we would have change your room
we are a 12 rooms very cheap guesthouse (i think you paid 329 or 389 bahts)and not a large expensive hotel with a doorman( where you would pay 1500-3000 bahts)...i recommend you go in that kind of hotels next time you travel
.we have a 24/24 hours reception,if nobody in reception, there s a 24/7 bell at reception door.
it s been working like that for the past 10 years so that we can get guest the best price for an accommodation and it works...
most of our guests are very happy to stay with us and come back for many years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.4 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,257 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Little Moon Residence
The Little Moon Residence
#50 of 331 in Patong
150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Patong Studio Apartments
Patong Studio Apartments
#17 of 232 in Patong
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
0.9 mi away
Burasari Resort
Burasari Resort
#6 of 331 in Patong
3,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Nitra Guesthouse Patong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Nitra Guesthouse Patong

Address: 47 Nanai Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 415 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range: £10 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Baan Nitra Guesthouse Patong 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Nitra is a warm and friendly 11 rooms and 2 dorm rooms guest house run by our Baan Nitra Team. Affordable accommodation in Patong Beach, located in the well known and popular Nanai Road area with a comfortable setback from the road, our guest house backs onto the hill and has elevation and views over the Patong Beach area. We also have a dorm room consist of 2 rooms of 2 bunk beds each (4 people per room) one shower and a big fan with a locker for each bed, clean simple and cheap. We take good care of our guests and try to make sure you enjoy your stay with us and come back to see us many times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baan Nitra Guesthouse Patong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Nitra Guesthouse Patong Hotel Patong
Baan Nitra Guesthouse Patong Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing