We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but in the context of so much bad.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of B-Lay Tong Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B-Lay Tong Phuket
Ranked #52 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good, but in the context of so much bad.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

I admit that at on first sight I was a little disappointed with the B-Lay Tong. I had not been to Phuket before and I was hoping for something more elegant, more Ibiza like I guess. The lobby was mix of garish and tasteful. It was frustrating because it could so easily be stunning. On the plus side, the pool was fantastic and the rooms were large and comfortable. My opinion on the B-lay Tong changed rapidly though when I saw the other hotels in the Patong area -- most of them were dumps. Patong seems to be the Las Vegas on Phuket, actually, maybe it's the Reno of Phuket, it's not a place of sophisticated elegance. It's a place to get drunk and find cheap sex, and I guess if that's your thing your not looking for elegant. The B-Lay was the best of a bad lot. And as it turns out, I had a lot of fun. Getting drunk helped. I passed on the cheap sex though, but it took some work, you can't walk two feet without being propositioned by a lady or lady boy. There are not enough antibiotic in Thailand for that. Some of those Lady boys though... you would have no idea.

Room Tip: Probably the best that Patong Beach has to offer. The only issue is Patong beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLAYTONG, General Manager at B-Lay Tong Phuket, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Thank you for your insight and candor concerning your impressions of Patong.

We spend a great deal of effort to stand out from the rest, and although Patong is not for everyone, we believe that we have created an oasis away from its seedier side.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    313
    130
    36
    30
See reviews for
121
544
72
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

This place is amazing.

Its chic feel, young atmosphere is great. We stayed here over Christmas 2012 for 7 nights and it was perfect. The rooms are very sexy. The beds are amazing, you get a complimentary mini bar each day of 2 cokes, 2 lemonades, 2 fantas, 2 waters, 2 juices and 2 leo beers. If you take and hide all of them before you leave for the day, the cleaners fill it all up free of charge, so you now have 4 of each thing and so on. The bathroom was the hit, it has a glass wall with the blinds on the outside. Its a great place for couples and gives a very sexy feel. I wouldn't really recommend this place for families and children.

The hotel is very modern, one of the most modern in patong beach. It gives a relaxed atmosphere in amongst the crazy busy patong beach. The pool is just fantastic. Its a great place to relax, sunbake, swim or do whatever. If you don't want to swim in the pool, you can walk across the road to the beach which is great. B Lay Tong is on the northside end of patong beach which is really the only clean part of the beach in my opinion and is the best place. You can get massages for 300 baht (10 AUD) or even less if you are European.

The staff are very professional and help you with every little detail. The breakfast buffet is just amazing. Its an american style breakfast with everything, if you don't like it then there is something wrong with you. Expresso coffee is served as soon as you sit down to eat.

Also, the hotel hosted Fashion TV and photographed 15 models on the 31st of December and had a big party. This should be representative enough of how modern, chic and sexy this place is.

The only fault of this hotel is that they charge 1,000 baht deposit per day you stay here. Given we were on the last leg of our month in Thailand is wasn't a very nice surprise. This is the only downside for me. I will come back and stay at this hotel whenever I get the chance to come back to Patong beach. Thankyou for the great experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d_bell_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Great hotel, good rooms, infinity pool, wonderful breakfast. Good quality/price outside the hustle and bussle of Patong but within walking distance from the Center. Just off the Beach and a short walk away from restaurants and nightlife. The Deluxe rooms are good, the restaurant and bar are worth trying. They give you free drinks coupons and the mini-bar in the room is free of charge. Great service. Wish I could have stayed there longer.

Room Tip: Simple Deluxe room will do the trick no need to invest in more sophisticated rooms unless you plan t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olivierada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

The hotel is very good, modern and clean, big rooms, nice pool (just nice, not that great) and great breakfast, it really stands out among Patong hotels.
The hotel is in Patong, which isn't exactly quiet luxurious spot, so if you're looking for luxury, Patong isn't the place for you, and for the price of this hotel you can find better deals in less busy locations, if you do want Patong, I think you can settle for cheaper and worse hotel.
that being said, if you're not short on cash, and want to have the best and most practical hotel in Patong, this is the place for you.
One incident I didn't like, we were supposed to check out at Dec 15th, the door lock wasn't working on the 11th, when we asked to fix it, the reception girl said, why? you're checking out in 4 days, I didn't think she was kidding, we insisted and the problem was solved immediately.

Room Tip: Don't take the pool access rooms, they aren't worth the extra dough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khalilsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in grand deluxe room. Had arranged for airport pickup by hotel and driver was there waiting for us without any reminder to hotel. Though hotel say they provide limousine, it was toyota camry, not even merc or bmw or likes. Checkin was smooth. Room was ready with honeymoon setup. Nice room as expected. Outdoor bathtub didnt have force for whirlpool bath as per expectation. Hotel has amazing pool with nice view of patong beach. B-hive bar and restau serves good drinks and food. Great place to sit in eve and watch sunset. Excursion charged by hotel are way expensive. There is a travel shop next to hotel which provide excursions at good rates. Hotel has nice spread in breakfast with all varieties one can rhink of. Overall, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dipesh84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

I re-visited this hotel after 12 months and it is still very good, clean, modern and well managed. The price is considerably higher than last year which doesn't make sense as it wasn't busy at all. The breakfast is good but make sure you get a package inclusive of breakfast (if you can wake up early enough to enjoy it). A few cracks are beginning to show and they had to move me to another room because the safe wouldn't work and the shower flooded. They tried to down grade me to a smaller room which shows the inexperience of the reception staff. I stood my ground and got upgraded. Unfortunately the Jacuzzi on the balcony spewed out lukewarm rusty water.

Room Tip: The Jacuzzi rooms look west over the pool and beach beyond
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardSW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

We (couple) actually stayed here for 2 weeks. The first week was so good we booked through agoda for the second week. We looked around at other hotels but in the end decided that B-Lay Tong was the best option.

The hotel is very modern in design. I liked this, but others may prefer a more 'Thai' feel. It is situated at the northern end of Beach Rd, across the road from the beach. This is about 10-15 minute walk to Bangla rd but there are not too many shops for about half the way and so there is less hassling to buy.

The rooms are big and bright with a king size bed, day bed and small balcony. The bathrooms have a rain shower and a nozzle hand held shower head. The shower is very big and has plastic wood-like slats on the floor and glass walls. There is also a shelf for the toiletries.

The rooms are made up every day with clean towels and sheets if you wish. There is also a free mini bar and free wifi. The beds are superb, not hard at all. The sheets are above hotel quality. The TV had a few 'snow' issues but who goes on holidays to watch TV. There is also a complimentary drink at the front bar each night of your stay.

Our first week was spent with 7 others all staying at the B-Lay Tong. We had 4 rooms on the third level. The staff arranged this for us after one phone inquiry from Australia just before we left. These were great rooms, close to the pool and breakfast room and with lovely views over the garden and towards the pool and ocean.

What makes B-Lay Tong the great place to stay is of course the staff. All Thai peoples are friendly but the staff at B-Lay are fantastic. From the minute we checked in to the minute we checked out 2 weeks later, they couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. We would like to thank everyone for the best holiday, just some of the staff I can remember, Oh, Da, Mon, Tee, Tam and Mai in the bar. Mor, the executive manager, was fabulous.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to be great but I wouldn't want a pool access room across from the main poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chippochic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLAYTONG, General Manager at B-Lay Tong Phuket, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
We will definitely pass on your kind comments to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.6 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.7 mi away
La Flora Resort Patong
La Flora Resort Patong
#36 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#35 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#6 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Atchara
Villa Atchara
#70 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Patong Paragon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B-Lay Tong Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B-Lay Tong Phuket

Property: B-Lay Tong Phuket
Address: 198 Taveewong Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Patong
#19 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#30 Spa Hotel in Patong
#30 Family Hotel in Patong
#36 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — B-Lay Tong Phuket 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime beach front location at the quiet north end of the world famous Patong Beach within close proximity of the busiest eateries, shops and bars. The resort's 123 rooms and suites have a feel which exudes modern playfulness and funky vibes mixed with Four Elements colors scheme. It offers spectacular sunset views from its 198 lobby bar which overlooks the white sandy beach and sparkling turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea. In addition, free Wi-Fi internet access is provided throughout the resort's guest rooms and public areas, just 40 minutes south of Phuket International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your B-Lay Tong Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b-Lay Tong Phuket, Mgallery Hotel Patong
B-Lay Tong Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing