We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of positives and negatives”
Review of B-Lay Tong Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
B-Lay Tong Phuket
Ranked #63 of 329 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Overall our stay was mixed.
We went through a scoopon deal.
1- we were guaranteed a water view grand deluxe( we were given a grand deluxe no water views) we complained but were not able to swap to the better room for 3 nights. Once swapped view was better.
2- air conditioning leaks once you turn it off (this happened in both rooms, even after we have swapped).
3- we walked into our room late at night and our jacuzzi was making a very loud - we called reception who sent someone up. It took 3 people to fix it and was very loud for a long time.
4- our TV never worked It was always fuzzy once we complained they took the TV ad fixed it( it was better for about 3 hours, then stopped working again).
5- in our scoopon deal we were guaranteed 30 min massage daily. It's impossible to get Into the spa - they never answer their phone or if they do can only get one person in for a massage not two. This was very dissapointing.
6- certain staff were careless and rude and I felt like after everything that had happened they shouldn't have been.
7- overall we were noticeably treated differently through having a scoopon.I cannot fault the rooms they were lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tash1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLAYTONG, General Manager at B-Lay Tong Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Tash1707,
May I begin by thanking you for your review on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased by the overall good score but regret that that your experience did not fully meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
We are currently carrying a maintenance program and all technical issues will soon be fixed.
Your comment on our staff attitude is really concerning and I would appreciate if you could contact me directly to provide more details.
It was a pleasure to serve you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards
Mathieu Lacabanne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,024)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We were impressed with the trip advisor rating & decided to stay in the spa suite 80sq of what we thought would be luxury at a cost of $360 per night including breakfast - seemed like a good deal- but really it is one big disappointment.
Positives:
1. Our room looks onto the beach & it is a lovely view
2. Staff attitude is very helpful-though a little lapsed in follow through & promptness
3. Spacious room.

Negatives:
1. The quality & finishes in the room are aweful:
a) rust on bathroom venison blind
b) damaged bathroom mirror
c) cracks in the walls,
d) cracks in armchair upholstery
e) cracks in the ceiling
f) spa bath on balcony - in need if a good scrub ( we had to ask twice before this was actually cleaned).
g) poor TV reception ( there is a note in the room apologising for this)
h) no iron or ironing board in room- you have to call for this & it takes ages to be delivered.
2. there is small water pools near the lifts- look good- but smell is terrible - need to be cleaned.
3. hotel spa - does not answer phone- so I went down wanting to book in a 2 hour treatment - there is little availability - but I booked myself in for the next day at 4:30- by the time I got back to my room the girl from the spa calls me on the phone wanting to renegotiate my time- seriously why have a spa at the hotel if it can not service customers - it cost 1200bht for an hour massage at the hotel spa & it cost 300baht to have an hour massage outside the hotel. Happy to pay the higher price but want to get an appointment when it suits me & in a clean environment.
4. the food is ok- but not great & there was quite a few things that were not available on the menu.
In summary overpriced room & poor attention to maintenance & overall detail.
Expected it to be so much better than this..
I have uploaded pics.

Stayed: July 2014
6  Thank IAmAGlobalNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLAYTONG, General Manager at B-Lay Tong Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Phoenixzengrl,
Thank you for leaving a review on TripAdvisor. It is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction with our facilities and I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused.
We are processing a comprehensive rooms and public areas maintenance program and all rooms and suites will soon look sparkling. We understand your comments regarding the Spa and will address the problem to make sure it does not happen again.
We were happy to read however that you enjoyed the view, size of the suite and moreover the helpfulness of our staff.
I truly hope that you will give us a chance to show you our improvements, please contact me directly if you wish to stay with us again.
Best regards,
Mathieu Lacabanne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed at the B Lay Tong at the start of July 14 and absolutely loved it. The pool was our favorite part of the stay with the swim up bar. The location is right on Patong beach, really easy to get to places by walking. We stayed at another ( more expensive) hotel further inland and found it inconvenient and wished we were back at the B Lay Tong. The rooms and clean and neat with a little balcony. The staff are super friendly and are willing to attend to your every need. The lady at the tour desk was extremely helpful and was not trying to rip us off with overpriced experiences. She told us of some local cheap and amazing eating spots ( baanzaan & kaab gluay) which we absolutely enjoyed. The art displayed in their gallery and restaurant is beautiful, very edgy and modern. Will definitely stay here again when we return to Phuket and will recommend it to anyone wanting a great hotel experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ashs29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLAYTONG, General Manager at B-Lay Tong Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear ashs29,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will give us the opportunity to look after you again.
Best regards,
Mathieu Lacabanne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights and the hotel was over our expectations for a holiday in Patong beach. The room was super spacious with a swimming pool in the backyard, very comfy beds. The breakfasts are super good with various choice and good quality. All the staff are friendly with good English and helpful.

I will definitively come back and have no doubt recommend the hotel to my friends!

Room Tip: The infinity swimming pool is a must try for the sunset with a nice cocktail
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CassieNguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLAYTONG, General Manager at B-Lay Tong Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear CassieNguyen,
We are so happy to read your delightful review, thank you very much.
All the team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,
Mathieu Lacabanne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We were thinking to enjoy our holiday in the hotel because it's monsoon season in Phuket. However I am very disappointed with the condition of the room. It's ok if it is old but clean. What actually makes us angry are:
1. The TV channels are not clear, maybe the satellite problem.
2. The heating system for the shower is really bad. Hot cold by itself.
3. On top of that it's impossible to call the reception or even housekeeping.
4. Currently they are doing some repairing, the small of paint awaken you in the morning. Which is disturbing. .

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLAYTONG, General Manager at B-Lay Tong Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Amy S,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor.
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. As you noted we have started a program of maintenance for all our rooms and public area and the hotel should soon be back to his initial shape.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back so you could witness the improvements.
Best regards,
Mathieu Lacabanne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The B-Lay Tong is a idea resort to be away from it all and yet within walking distance to all the hubs of shopping, eating and entertainment. Not to mention the naughty night life. All this, yet safely tucked away in the far north quiet corner of north Patong. Best prime location on Patong, the best of both worlds!

Right across the street of the resort is the prime beach, an endless stretch of pristine white sand is to be had. Just step out off the resort main entrance!

The entire hotel has an aura of artistic designer deco of great play of colours to delight our senses. The in house spa is a great treat at a reasonable price, a must try to pamper oneself.

The infinity pool is a great feature, that over look the beach and sea, great to swim and watch the sun set in it's elevated level above it all.

Our room has a in balcony jaccuzzi, soaking and watching the beach and the waves were heavenly. It is worth the room rate for it's uniqueness.

The room toilet has a free standing bath tub and rain shower with 5 stars amenities and toiletries.

The furnishing was tasteful and the bed was super, heavenly comfortable to sink into after a long day.

We breakfasted and have dinners and cocktails daily in the hotel outlets. The food was great and service was very attentive. We felt the food and service were one of the very best in our travelling experience. The internatonal standard live band was delightful entertainment while we drink and dine.

While check in was a breeze check out was enhanced and thanks to Miss Nadia the Duty Manager who sort things out promptly.

It was a marvelous stay and we would recommend our friends and would return again.

Room Tip: Higher floor jacuzzi room command a sea view and worth the rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WChanBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLAYTONG, General Manager at B-Lay Tong Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear WChanBangkok,
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. Your kind words have been passed to our team and in particular Nadia and the Culinary team who made your stay a memorable one.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,
Mathieu Lacabanne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at B Lay Tong for 7 days as part of scoopon deal and upgraded to the grand deluxe with a balcony & jacoozi. The staff are all very friendly and the hotel food is good. We ate at the B Hive restaurant most nights as it was part of the deal & the live music was very entertaining. Food was great and good portion sizes. The infinity pool is definitely a good attraction with the view of the beach & happy hour is a buy one get one free, but the drinks were not that great and over priced - for Thailand prices.

Some of the minor issues;
- shower flooded if you were in there for more than 5 min
- air conditioner leaked
- bed was quite hard and we were waking up with sore backs
- the free daily massages were hard to book, need to get in early - plus we were double booked so lost our time because the power went out

Overall it is a really nice hotel and close to shops and Banglar rd. probably wouldn't come back as the bed was just too hard to get a good night's sleep.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kylie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLAYTONG, General Manager at B-Lay Tong Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Kylie52,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at B-Lay Tong.
It was a pleasure to serve you and we are looking forward to seeing you again.
Best regards,
Mathieu Lacabanne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.6 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.1 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#28 of 329 in Patong
756 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Flora Resort Patong
La Flora Resort Patong
#35 of 329 in Patong
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#9 of 329 in Patong
1,703 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Seas Hotel
Seven Seas Hotel
#59 of 329 in Patong
106 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B-Lay Tong Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B-Lay Tong Phuket

Address: 198 Taveewong Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Patong
#19 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#30 Family Hotel in Patong
#34 Spa Hotel in Patong
#41 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £61 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — B-Lay Tong Phuket 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime beach front location at the quiet north end of the world famous Patong Beach within close proximity of the busiest eateries, shops and bars. The resort's 123 rooms and suites have a feel which exudes modern playfulness and funky vibes mixed with Four Elements colors scheme. It offers spectacular sunset views from its 198 lobby bar which overlooks the white sandy beach and sparkling turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea. In addition, free Wi-Fi internet access is provided throughout the resort's guest rooms and public areas, just 40 minutes south of Phuket International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your B-Lay Tong Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b-Lay Tong Phuket, Mgallery Hotel Patong
B-Lay Tong Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing