We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent 3 star beach front hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Front Hotel and Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Front Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #291 of 396 Patong B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent 3 star beach front hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

This is a very good priced hotel for sea view room with bath tub. We had a great time at Ocean front room for 2 nights for our stay in Patong. Our room was at second floor, the views were a bit disturbed by electric cables . It would have been better if we had higher floor. Hotel reception is at next door The Front Apartments, which is from the same owner.
Hotel is located near the end of Patong beach but the beach is right in front, just a few doors away to the massage, pubs, restaurants and beach activity center.20-30 minutes walk to Bangala street and other shopping places.
During our stay, Wifi at hotel was spoilt but we managed to use wifi from next door, The Front Apartments. Some said there is only one socket at the bathroom but there is two more, one each under side tables, just FYI.
We were looking for top floor from the photo but understand it is no longer there and they have changed into additional rooms.
On our return, to airport which was around 8pm, taxis were not available and very expensive, so the receptionist arranged hotel electrician to drive their boss’s car and sent us to the airport. Great service goes extra mile. Of course, i will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The hotel does not have a lift and every floor has to take stairs, so if you have problem climbing s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy_WinMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    22
    18
    8
    11
See reviews for
7
25
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Firstly this hotel is modern clean and in a quiet part of patong which is all very good, however when trying to sleep everytime somebody goes into their room in the same corridor as you the door makes a horrendous bang! All they need to do is put some soft close hinges on the door and I would of given it a 5! Also there is no loft luckily we were only on floor 2 but feel sorry for the people who were higher up!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmaw92x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

At the end of Patong Beach, this hotel is a great find! Super affordable, and incredible views! The balcony is really spacious as well, we had our breakfast overlooking the waves for a week straight. Everything was clean and comfortable, and really hospitable staff. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamRaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morwell
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I was booked in the hotel for 7 nights 2 rooms ,the first problem we had is there are no lifts and if your 70 yrs old and on the 4 floor that is not good. the second problem was we booked 2 rooms together with balconies ,we got one room on level 3 with a balcony and one on 4 without.
the rooms have one power point in the bathroom so it is hard to charge your phones and comps.
there are no tea/coffee making facilities and if you want breakfast you need to wait until 8:30 before the restaurant opens. we stayed one night and was told there would be NO REFUND
so we left feeling I would rather lose the money than stay in this hotel

Room Tip: go one hundred mts down the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knight7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Patong hotels

Bangkok
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I like this hotel, I will come back in my next trip in Patong Beach. The good thing is in front beach just walk 10 meter out. Nice place to stay, comfortable bed and amazing view from the window. This place is a bargain in a great location, they have a good breakfast. Over all, it was a wonderful stay. I Will definitely return to stay there if i go back patong.

Room Tip: I choose ocean front room, nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank themarper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth WA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

Directly opposite beach next door to Swiss Hotel (tell your driver this hotel, as most have NO CLUE where Front Hotel is). We were on third floor with balcony, however it was not protected, so no good when raining. Six flights of stairs (no lift) was hard lugging up heavy suitcases. Bed nice, comfy and large. 50 or so TV channels. Small fridge, safety box in wardrobe. Good water pressure in shower. Great aircon. About 900 meter walk to Bangla Rd and Jungceylon Shops. Very small pool at front overlooking footpath, so no privacy. 7/11 next door which was bery handy. 2 min walk to Dolphin Beach Bar which shows live AFL and NRL on large screens. Spent 3 nights here which was okay, any longer I perhaps would have looked elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeWestAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Styria
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Just to be clear, it is a nice place with well maintained and clean rooms. But you want to make sure that you do not expect too much from it. Like for example hooks on the wall to hang your cloth or your towels. Thats not there.
If you want a place that is right at the beach, that is clean and has friendly staff. A place that is far away from the whole nighttime hustle and bustle and you do not mind to walk for about 20 minutes to Bangla Road. A place that offers - at least from some rooms - a great ocean view, than thats the place to go.
If you are looking for a place with nice big bathrooms with a bathtub and plenty of hot water and you do not mind that it is virtually impossible to take a shower without getting the whole floor wet, do not look any further.
But if you are looking for a place where you can hang out around the pool or your terrace after a long day at the beach and meet other people this is not you hotel of choice. Only 6 or 7 room have a balcony and there is not really a place to sit outside. The pool is more like a big hut tub right on the road. I have never seen anyone using it.
If you looking for a real quiet place forget it. At night music comes from everywhere like the street and the hotels around, and in the morning, starting from around 6:30 am on, tons of people, taxis and Tuk Tuks walk and drive by the hotel since it is right at the pier. The cruiseships let off their people there. So you get to see Japanese, Chinese, Russian and all other kind of tourists walking by you hotel, being haggled for taxis, tours etc.. On the other side, the deliveries for the ships come from town, parking on the street honking, and unloading while the engines are running. It is great for watching but to so great for sleeping.
If you want a place where you get breakfast before 8:00 am cause you are going on a tour - forget it. There is a restaurant that seems to be part of the hotel, but they do not open before 8:30 and it is really expensive. The other option is a bar - the “Komma” about 50 meters away that opens at 8:00 am (more or less, you can never be sure) and that serves a better breakfast for much less money (about 180 Bath for tea/coffee, eggs, toast, bacon/ham and fresh fruit).
This may sound a bit harsh but for the price you pay there, you don't really get too much of your moneys worth. It is nice enough, clean, friendly but it lacks a few things. Some can be solved easily like the the missing hooks or shower curtains. But these things have been mentioned here before and nothing happened so far. So do they care?

Room Tip: If you are looking for an Ocean Front Room make sure you get one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kerschmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
Patong Swiss Hotel
Patong Swiss Hotel
#207 of 319 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bliss
The Bliss
#59 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ocean Patong Hotel
The Ocean Patong Hotel
#262 of 319 in Patong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avantika Boutique Hotel
Avantika Boutique Hotel
#150 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Simple Boutique SeaBreeze
Simple Boutique SeaBreeze
#253 of 319 in Patong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#11 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Front Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Front Hotel and Apartments

Property: The Front Hotel and Apartments
Address: 30 Thaveewong Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Andaman The Front Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 396 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Front Hotel and Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Front Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Front Hotel And Apartments Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing