We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Front Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #257 of 415 Patong B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Located at a quiet end of Patong, the hotel was is only 10 metres from the beach.

Price is exorbitant at SGD 140 per night without breakfast. Room was only alright but definitely not worth for the money we paid.

There are only 2 receptionist in the hotel, taking turns to take up night and day shift. The lady was nice and helpful but the guy with a tattooed forearm was plain rude, unhelpful and ungrateful.

Do NOT rent the motorbike from the kiosk opposite the hotel. I rented the bike for the day before but forgot that I flew off the next day in the wee hours of the morning. When we realised this, we went to the kiosk at 9 pm only to realise that the guy was gone and his friend demanded 2000 baht to take us to Phuket town where the owner stayed. We agreed only to realised that the owner was not staying at Phuket town but at Tiger Kingdom area which was very close by. We had a huge argument with his aggressive friend as we refused to give him 2000 baht for that distance so he held onto our passport.

At the end, we were at a losing end, so we had to pay.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shafik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

I loved the front hotel so much.. nice clean and big room .. bathroom was so good.. they were so friendly..
it is walking distance to everwhere in phuket.. the price was so reasonable.. go and enjoy your stay...

Room Tip: super location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hakanhacibekiroglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Have been to Phuket a few times over the past 3 years and have been wanting to try to stay in The Front Hotel. Booked it this time and this is definitely a super nice view hotel. Apart from having no lift, and yes.... no lifts at all, the hotel room is very cosy.

We were given a room on the 4th floor the 1st day and well, having to climb up 5 flight of stairs isn't very pleasant and I've requested for a room with balcony but wasn't given one. Receptionist explained that it was due to the hotel being fully-booked and she was willing to change our room 2 days later, which they eventually did. Shifted to the 1st level and it was definitely perfect. After drawing the curtains, the room faces the pool and just across the road, there is the beach.

Hotel doesn't have room service but there is a lovely Italian Restaurant just beside it and the restaurant is a definite MUST-HAVE in all my stays there. 7-11 and Family Mart is just next to the hotel and apart from that, there is massage and other restaurants.

Walking distance to Patong, which is approximately 10mins to get to the heart of Patong where all the bars are.

The stay was definitely pleasant and the room-keeping is really superb. Would stay here again if I am not considering changing the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a low level with balcony. Do not consider this hotel if there is any elderly but you can con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ice_z80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Have stayed at The Front numerous times over the years on trips to Patong...

The place is modern inside with nice cement finishes and roomy spaces in the rooms, the pool out the front is quiet warm but is a sensational spot to watch a sunset and drink some beers.

It is a hop skip and a jump to the beach with Family Marts (Convenience Stores) at your door step to collect all your essentials, with a fantastic roof top terrace this place is great if you are on a budget.

The staff are relaxed and happy to assist with organising laundry at the local prices rather then the ludicrous other Hotel prices of around 50THB per kilo.

This place is definitely not miss world, but a great value hotel in good location.

Directly across the road is Moo's Scooter, Tuk Tuk and Hire Car service, ask for him out the front for an honest guy to hire an airport transfer or Scooter for a few days.

Room Tip: Beach / Sea View Room is the Go, The Apartments are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

we stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks after a week closer to the action, was please to be on a quieter road and with lovely views from an ocean front view room on the 3rd floor , no lift but the balcony made up for it, rooms were clean as was all the hotel ,the pool was small but good fro a dip and the beach is just across the road, Patong is never quiet but if you want to be near but not to close this is a good option fro a reasonable price
breakfast was included but was only average

Room Tip: pay extra for the balcony and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I loved the pool that is right on the beach road. I had some good times at this pool and its location is perfect. The hotel is literally on the beach, you don't get closer! The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The TV is nice with a variety of channels. I love that there was a family mart and a 7 eleven store just next to the hotel. This helps a lot when money is running low :)
No breakfast is provided and the Wifi needed to be reset a few times, but otherwise it was fantastic. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: No lift, so if you cant climb stairs get a low level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonathanShutte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I booked a superior room that was advertised as having a partial sea view and a bath. On check in I found that it had no bath and no partial sea view, just a view of the building next door. But it was their absolute indifference when I raised this with the receptionist that really sickened me. I showed her quite clearly that they advertised this room with a bath, (and a sea- view) which is what I specifically wanted as I have a bad back. She said to take it up with booking.com, which is a great help when you just have travelled 14 hours through the night and arrived straight at their hotel in the heat of the day. I caved in and stayed one night, as I couldnt be bothered trying to find something at short notice in the heat after a long flight.

If I could give it zero stars, I would. Its the most blatant case of false advertising I have ever experience through booking.com, I sure hope enough other complaints result in it getting removed off their website and any other booking site. Its just a dishonest place that doesnt deserve to stay in business.

Room Tip: my tip. avoid it like the plague, or else only pay on arrival, after you have seen and agreed to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blisteringbarnacles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0 mi away
The Bliss South Beach Paton
0.8 mi away
The Bloc Hotel
The Bloc Hotel
#77 of 331 in Patong
105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Safari Beach Hotel
Safari Beach Hotel
#168 of 331 in Patong
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Patong Swiss Hotel
Patong Swiss Hotel
#255 of 331 in Patong
163 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tri Trang Beach Resort
Tri Trang Beach Resort
#89 of 331 in Patong
425 reviews
0.8 mi away
Patong Signature Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Front Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Front Hotel and Apartments

Address: 30 Thaveewong Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Andaman The Front Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 415 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range: £32 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Front Hotel and Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Front Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Front Hotel And Apartments Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing