We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what you expect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Patong Rose Guest House
Ranked #163 of 337 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here as we only had a small budget, went by the pictures on the net was thinking this was going to be a good guest house..But when we got there and taken to our room we found the cupboards were broken, no safe in room ,no blankets... And I was surprised when I opened the window expecting a decent view like they had pictured, but NO I could touch the next building it was no more then 2 feet away.. Would not stay here or recommend anyone to stay here

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BruceandAmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTRGH, Manager at Patong Rose Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

We don´t promise any view from the Standard rooms which is your booking was, safety box are in every room you maybe not opened the "broken" cupboard, blanket we give only if you request, not provide becouse we want to safe electric power and enviroment through to get our customer to set the aircon at higher temp.
The only thing which is disturbing me with your review that you never complained to my stuff about anything, only here, you don´t think is it strange?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

Me and friends stay here for 4days everything was good. The owner is friendly and helpful, He even upgrade my standard room to a superior room for no extra charges. Free WiFi & Safe in every room as well.Plan to stay here again for next trip. Good location, Good Value, Friendly, Helpful owner and staff and Cleanliness as well what else do you expect. To all travellers outside highly recommended to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank numanuma06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

The location of the guest house was good, only 2 minutes away from the beach and good access to all the bars and restaurants. The staff and owner were really friendly and helpful. However, we felt the room could be better. We stayed in the standard room and there were no windows with sunlight! We would wake up in the morning, but it would be completely pitch black! There were lots of brown stains on our bed sheet and and a giant cigarette burn right between the two pillows. We also had no shower door or curtain, so water splashed everywhere in the bathroom after each shower. The beach towels for the guests to take to the beach were also poorly cleaned.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jny32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTRGH, Manager at Patong Rose Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2013

We have only 4 Standard room, unfortunately only 2 bright one, the other 2 have also window but the house walls are to close to each other so no sunlight reach in to the room, however those rooms are the cheapest and we also have this info in the room description. The other 15 room are bright rooms but they cost also more as those.

About the stains and the cigarette burn on the sheet, I´m surprised, you should only mention this matter to the stuff for a immediately sheet replacement. I gonna interrogate this matter, we not tolerate smoking in the house so I really don´t know how could that happened.
We have shower door in the bath room, slides ones but unfortunately they are very old and not slides any more so that because we equipped those room with the usual plastic shower curtain, once again I going to check it out why the curtain was not there.

Our beach towels sends to the laundry every day I´m assure you those are fresh every day, we have about 10-15 aged ones, some of with bleach stain, they maybe not look like the new ones but they are clean.
We are a budget guest house we have the beach within 1 minute and very close to all the attractions at Patong Beach for a very low rate so we can´t throw away those beach towels just for they are aged typically not when we provide those for free.

So I'm really sorry for you experienced our guest house at that way but you should only tell us about it for immediately measure up.

The Manager of the Guest House Kalle Karlsson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The Hungarian/Swedish owner is a really nice guy and couldn't be more helpful. He offers a really reasonable airport transfer. The main daytime receptionist is also very helpful and made me feel most welcome. The night guy is pretty cool too. The room was excellent and reasonable pricewise by Phuket standards (1300 Baht). The only minor blip was that one day there was no cleaner available to clean the room. Needless to say, change of towels and bin emptying was offered by the owner. The location is pretty excellent as it's half a block from the beach and not too far from Bangla Rd. They offer bike rental also.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlfKar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Good value Guest House in central Patong. Located 2 mins from the beach and only 5 mins from Bangla. Stayed in a superior room with large window, some noise as you would expect in central Patong but not a problem. Rooms well maintained and very clean and also good security at all times, recommend for central budget stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie05150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stayed here in recently for 7 nights,The guest house is set some 2 minutes walk from the beach situated back from the main road but in a well lit and safe area. Check in is quick and efficient. The Guest house is clean as are the the rooms which are well serviced. The rooms provide basic budget accommodation in what is a very expensive area. The hosts Hans and his wife are very knowledgeable in all matters as is the receptionist Ning. Along with the room maid and the security guard a safe , friendly, efficient guest house provides good accommodation for families, couples and single travelers alike. Restaurants are abundant in the area with a wide variety to suit all tastes. Patong is a very lively place but my sleep was never disturbed here.

Room Tip: room 205, no window but clean and well kept for budget accommodation. Excellent sleep quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 65maintenance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and I must say, the location is really good. Just 2 minutes walk from the Patong beach. The owner, Kalle, is a very courteous and friendly guy (a minority in Thailand). Although having said that the quality of the rooms and furniture can be improved. There are hostels available which are cheaper and have better rooms/beds/furniture compared to this. So if this is taken care of, Patong rose can be considered one of the very good budget hotels in Phuket. Will give it a 3/5

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GauravVarshikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Ramaz
Hotel Ramaz
#187 of 337 in Patong
81 reviews
0 mi away
Andaman House
Andaman House
#159 of 337 in Patong
43 reviews
0 mi away
Bad Boys Guesthouse Patong
Bad Boys Guesthouse Patong
#212 of 337 in Patong
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Black Pearl
Black Pearl
#139 of 337 in Patong
116 reviews
0 mi away
Studio Patong by iCheck inn
Studio Patong by iCheck inn
#124 of 337 in Patong
34 reviews
0 mi away
Ruen Thai
Ruen Thai
#165 of 337 in Patong
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Rose Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Rose Guest House

Address: 92/10-11 Soi Permpongpattana 2, Thaweewong Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 337 Hotels in Patong
Price Range: £14 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Patong Rose Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ning and Kalle have left Patong Rose to change Ruen Thai and Tropicoza to next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Patong Rose Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patong Rose Guest House Hotel Patong
Patong Rose Guest House Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing