We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel staff crap”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of APK Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
APK Resort & Spa
Ranked #259 of 319 Hotels in Patong
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good hotel staff crap”
Reviewed 1 December 2010

when i arrived at this hotel it was in the evening trying to check in with a drunk russian but the staff seemed more interested in arguing with him than checkin me in . Once she had checked me in the porter got my bag then she came round and asked me to read a little notice on desk about terms and conditions about staying in this hotel which basically read if you bring back thai women , men , ladyboys there will be an additional charge of 500 bhat . I found that to be offensive as not everyone goes to thailand for the cheap sex !!! and appart from that if you paid for the room its up to you who you have there but apparently this is an ongoing thing on lots of hotels in thailand although this was the first for me and i have been many times . Once i got to the room i was supprised it was clean spacious and a large bathroom with bathtub in it the bed was great for sleeping in and had large tv in room aswell . the lobby area has wifi but it keeps cutting off all the time which can be annoying . When i was leaving i asked the lady at the desk if she can get me a cab to airport she told me our cabs are full so i suggested i had the card from the guy that had brought me to the hotel so she called him passed the phone to me to ask myself then when i hung up she said that will be 20 bhat !!! i thought your kidding i have never been asked in a hotel to pay for a call reception should do for your courtesy . I complaind to the manager and he said you should have asked me and you could have used my mobile yes ok ill come running around looking for you to use your mobile !!! . all and all if you can put up with the rude staff then its a nice hotel . Oh and one more thing you will have to wake up the night receptionist as he puts a towel round his shoulders and goes to sleep at the desk !!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottish73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APKPATONG, Reservation Manager at APK Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 December 2010
Thank you for sharing your concerns on TripAdvisor. I actually happened to be there when you were checking in. Please understand that we were trying to help out that drunken Russian guy rather than arguing with him.He couldn't be able to speak English and it's the big barrier to sort out what he wanted us to help him. (Firstly i thought he forgot his room number but in fact his girlfriend who was in the room didn't allow him to get in so he tried to asked us to open the door with our master key card). In regards to our overnight joiner policy, you may notice the sign at the front desk and the staff would also inform you upon check in. I'm sorry if you found this quite offensive but we insist in reserving our premises and facilities for our paying guests only. So we never allow people outside to get in and walk straight to use our facilities without paying anything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    110
    99
    54
    75
See reviews for
49
132
45
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

i had pre paid and booked a room at APK resort and spa for my partner and i in Jan i had emailed them 10 times regarding transfers and extending my datesof staying from 10-12 nights...
i have been ignored and had one reply of a rude short and abrupt email asking for my booking number and then once i sent it through they ignore me again... i have decided to cancel and stay somewhere where they appreciate my buiness..
rude and arrogant attitudes will get you no where!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cupcake48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Patong hotels

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

i was order this hotel for double person. at the begining i was check in alone because i wait my gf finish her work. when i was do check in the lady in the front desk told me that if i will bring a lady to my room, i will need to pay 500 bht. i explain to her that if i will change lady every day, so i will pay, but i she will be the same lady, i will not pay, because she is my gf. she said sure no problem.
in the night i go pick up my gf and bring her to my room. the front desk take copy of her i.d. card and they told me i will need to pay 500 bht. i xplain to them that this is my gf and if i will change lady they can charge me, but not in my situation.
in the morning i was doing check out (i needed to stay more 4 days) and the lady in the front desk told me i will need to pay 500 bht. no matter how much i explain to her that she is my dg, she told me that because we didnt do both check in, she dont care this is my gf. i was pay this 500 bht and move to another normal hotel.
i want to say the every month i come stay in phuket and it never happend to my ugly situation and service like that.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eyalandgon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APKPATONG, Reservation Manager at APK Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 November 2010
Our policy in regards to overnight joiner is made clear and likely to be informed upon your check in time. When our staff kindly ask another name to be resisted to stay in your room, you couldn't be able to provide us. So we couldn't allow non resisted guest to get into our paying guest's room and the premises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

i stayed here on 20 oct. location was good and room was nice. the staffs was not friendly except one lady at the counter by the name of preeda ( saw on her nametag). she is the most nicest person there. THe rest like just ignored u. even when we checked in, this lady brought us to the room and looks unfriendly. No wifi in the room and u need to pay 100baht for 1 hr to use the computer at the lobby but wifi is free at lobby. i sat a few mins at the lobby sofa and so many flies coz its open air style. i called for ironing and they dont provide it. i will not return there and there is better hotel like hemingways at the same price.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roslee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APKPATONG, Reservation Manager at APK Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 November 2010
Hi Roslee,

Sorry to hear that your experience at our hotel was not as good as expected. Anyway, i would like to clarify that we have never advertised that the WiFi is available in the guestroom. As said, we do provide free wifi at the lobby area only
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

We were welcomed with a drink and someone who picked uo our bags. They were nice and brought us our room. It was neat, clean and looked nice. It's a very new hotel so everything is still new. This isn't a 4 star hotel and that's not what you should expect but it looks nice, big and it's clean, what more do you want for that kind of money. It was nearby the centre, walking distance and when we were there the roads were open and everything was easy to reach.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Just a walking distance of 5 mins to Jungceylon mall and 10 mins to bangla road. I took the standard room on the first night and was impressed coz i payed such a reasonable price. A pleasant new room with a clean bathroom (tub) and a big comfortable bed (it just didnt have a chair but an attached seat near the window was there and a another building blocking the view). The next night I upgraded to the superior room and it was almost the same with the standard room but it had 2 new bathrobes, 2 pairs of comfortable bedroom slippers, extra toiletries, a balcony (w monoblock chairs n table) and a lovely teakwood -looking coffee table with 2extra chairs! Just expect that it didnt have a fab view from my balcony coz it was facing another tall building but it didnt bother me at all. The staff were extra courteous and attentive to my needs and even took the extra mile to drive me along patong beach (on a motorbike) and bought something to eat nearby since I was starving and was craving for one particular street food. Impressive service for a 3 star hotel. They have a rooftop (average) pool and a spa that had a 50% off promotion on some massages. I am so used to a hard chinese type of massages and good facials back in singapore that when these thai young girls gave me the massage, facial and foot spa, it lacked the experience that I wanted but hey, 700bht for everything, still not bad so I end up going near the bangla area and tried a much more thorough experienced thai massage. I think the spa would be good for first timers and who is not so particular with such things. Anyway, overall, I am very satisfied with the hotel. I have tried 3star-hotels in phuket but this is so far the best 3star hotel I've tried. I definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Izzowizzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2010

The reception staff is less then friendly, the pool was full of insects and the location isn’t so great.
Not to mention the missing camera from one of our bags while left with reception on our last day.
The spa prices are very expensive compared to everywhere else and the breakfast options were minimal.
They do offer a shuttle for 700BHT to the airport which is handy; and the room's are really clean with comfy beds!
overall though there are a lot of better places to stay while visiting Patong!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaseyAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APKPATONG, Reservation Manager at APK Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 October 2010
Dear Casey. I have already sent you the email but i would like to clarify here again on this board. The front desk area is the important area and we did installed CCTV on many areas so there's no chance that someone would think about stealing valuables from your bag. And as i checked the video, i didn't see anyone would reach your bag. It's likely that your camera would be stolen while transferring it to the airplane. When you keep valuables at the side of the bag without locking your bag, i think there are more chances to be stolen and you will just realize that something is missed when you back home. We are sorry that you faced this unexpected experience though.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.3 mi away
The Three by APK
The Three by APK
#226 of 319 in Patong
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baramee Hip Hotel Patong
Baramee Hip Hotel Patong
#266 of 319 in Patong
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mirage
Mirage
#155 of 319 in Patong
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The ASHLEE Plaza Patong Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The AIM Patong Hotel
The AIM Patong Hotel
#186 of 319 in Patong
105 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jiraporn Hill Resort
Jiraporn Hill Resort
#171 of 319 in Patong
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APK Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APK Resort & Spa

Property: APK Resort & Spa
Address: 198 Pang-Muang, Soi Kor Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#73 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — APK Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotelopia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your APK Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apk Resort And Spa
Apk Hotel Patong
APK Resort & Spa Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing