We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic Holiday @ a Fantastic Hotel With the Best Staff”
Review of Blue Ocean Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Blue Ocean Resort
Ranked #43 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We have just returned home from The Blue Ocean, after spending 16 nights with this fantastic hotel. The Staff are amazing from JJ the manager, Julie & the girls in reception Ju & Nutty in the bar and also the spa staff & the Maids, far too many to name individually but all worth their weight in Gold. We had a pool access room & loved it, Everything we needed we had or requested & was delivered with a smile. Our rooms were cleaned every day with fresh towels. nothing was too much trouble. It was my daughters 16th Birthday while we were their & the staff baked her a cake, and they all came to sing happy birthday to her at the side of the pool which made her day. The warm smiles that every one had every single minute of the day certainly made a great impression on ourselves & we would recommend this hotel to friends & family should they decide to choose Phuket as a holiday destination. We are already looking at going again next year and as soon as flights are available we will be booking & getting in touch with JJ to book our stay.

Room Tip: Pool access was fantastic, but we looked in other rooms, some with adjoining doors if you have a lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOresort, Manager at Blue Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2013

Dear Beloved Guests of Blue Ocean Resort,

We are delighted with your review. Firstly, the fact that you remember a lot of our staff names, has shown us that they have probably taken care of you well. Secondly about how much you appreciate the small details we try to put in. It is very encouraging for us to keep on reminding ourselves that little things do matter.

We would love to have you back next year as you have mentioned!

Best Regards,

The Blue Ocean Team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

518 - 524 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2013

visited with family in jan 2013 .Our stay at this property was wonderful.The layout of breakfast is excellent specially for vegetarians and indian tourists.The staff is courteous and this is close to beach and market.This is not for people who wants to have view of sea/beach.Lots of excellent massage centres are at walking distance and best eating joints are nearby.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunilsanghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOresort, Manager at Blue Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review on our resort. We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay.

Hope to welcome you again soon in the future.

With Best Regards,

The Blue Ocean Team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

The resort is amazing, the rooms are nicely done & very creative.The view of swimming pool from rooms is awesome.The food is tasty & lots n lots of variety to choose from.The best part is its location , bang at the Patong Beach.The real fun is it is very quite out there & employees are very customer centric.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SumsNamsToshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Stayed here for 10 days in July 2012. We booked a room for 3 and the room was totally mindblowing. Clean room with a large balcony overlooking the pool. Maybe one of the best room ive stayed at. The down side was the river outside with a rotten smell, but hey, you get used to this since the smell is all over Patong...

The lobby and surroundings is also great. Clean and nice. The staff were very serviceminded and had an eye for us all the time. Scandinavian hotelbusiness should really learn something from the thai people when it comes to service!

Location was great. Good autentic restaurant just outside the hotel for a cheap prize. 5-10 minutes walk to the beach and a little longer to the Bangla road. But if you wanna go to Bangla road, take a Tuk Tuk that cost.....nothing.

The only downside is the look of the hotel outside. For a good hotel like this, the outside interiour looks nothing like an cheap hotel. Hidden gem, hidden gem.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wold87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We are a Norway family at 4. (2 "children" one at 17 and 20 years still with us).
we like to move to different plases and try different hotells. We have traweld at christmas and new year for the last 15 years.
When we say :
Blue ocen resort is simply the best up too now. Its because of this :
You feel you are comming in a big nice smiling family. And you are ! Service, kindlynes, food, breakfast, price etc. All is very good. The staff is very nice !!!!
The hotell is placed so lokal, but not noisey. If you have room at the pool-side it will be the best.

Room Tip: Best room is heading too the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helge H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Recently I attended a conference in Phuket. I booked through a travel agent in Melbourne, Australia to stay in this hotel. After leaving Melbourne at midnight and enduring 12 hours flying via KL I arrived in this hotel only to learn that there was no booking about my accommodation. The staff informed me with good reasons that I should pay cash. After complaining to my travel agent in Melbourne about their incompetence (I had already paid the travel agent about my accommodation), the travel agent quickly emailed the hotel and asked the hotel to charge my accommodation to their credit card. One would hope this would be the end of my ordeal. To my horror, the hotel staff (2 of them) through thier inexperience would not accept the assurance from the travel agent. Subsequently JJ the manager was consulted. JJ quickly arrived and greeted me with a friendly smile and immediately informed me that verything was fine. I was so relieved and happy for his understanding and leadership. JJ was very helpful and professional during my 3-night stay.

JJ invited me to join the Christmas party organised by the hotel on 25/12/12. It was the best Christmas dinner I had ever had for a long time. The venue surrounded by a stunning swimming pool was beautifully decorated. The memory of the sumptuous food (too much to eat), Thai traditional dancing, very friendly cooks, waiters and waitresses will forever stay with me.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
Thank lawrence N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

The hotel itself is a decent clean 3 stars hotel. Located at the end of Patong, more quiet than central Patong. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The pool is just ok... Breakfast is so so. On the minus side, there is a "klong" (small canal) located behind the restaurant area and the odors are sometimes quiet unpleasant. Service is pretty nice and efficient.
Why only average rating then? Well, I went there during the Christmas holidays, which is the peak of the high season. Phuket has become extremely popular and the demand is higher than the offer. As a result prices completely skyrocket and are disconnected from the reality. We paid approx $200 per night for a standard room including breakfast. it worth max $50-70 for this level in Thailand. All hotels in Phuket and in Thailand apply crazy and unjustified prices during the peak season, so maybe I should not blame the Blue Ocean Hotel. But sorry this hotel does not worth at all $200 per night. At this price, for this level, this is a rip off! By the way, all Patong and very soon all Phuket will only be a big tourist trap.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank Raphael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
1 mi away
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 331 in Patong
774 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paripas Patong Resort
Paripas Patong Resort
#62 of 331 in Patong
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong
0.7 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Bliss South Beach Paton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ocean Resort

Address: 273 Rat-U-Thit Song Roi Pee Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#39 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#42 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £26 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Ocean Resort is located at about 5 minutes walk to the Patong Beach, and about 10 Minutes to the main city center - Bangla Road, and the Popular Jungceylon Shopping Mall. It is just close enough to Patong's Main Charming Attractions, but far away enough from all the hassle and the noisy areas of Patong. Blue Ocean also offers excellent Indian Cuisines, as well as great delicious selections of Thai and European ones. Breakfast has a nice variety. High Speed Internet and Free Wifi can be enjoyed from the rooms as well as the Public Areas of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ocean Hotel Patong
Blue Ocean Resort Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing