We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not forums , never again”
Review of Blue Ocean Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Blue Ocean Resort
Ranked #40 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed 27 April 2014

For a 4 yr old hotel this place looks 40 yrs old, it is in need of maintenance and looks like it has had no up keep. Mold in grout, tiles loose and falling off in bathrooms and even when you walk down hallways. We had a poolside room, which was a saving grace as only good thing although pool very average by Thailand standards.
Breakfast was average and half the time we skipped the included breakfast and ate out. Complimentary set dinner was poor and not even the same as normal set dinner....
Location ok, a good 15 mins walk to bangla road and beach, a good food market across road but a heavily populated Indian and Russian area. The hotel has lost all feel of Thailand because of this, very unfortunate.
If you want to travel cheap and only sleep in your room then it will do, but not for relaxing.
We cut our stay there by three days, lost our money and moved as it was ruining our trip.
Staff ok when you arrive but that's where it ends.
All in all don't recommend or rate it at all.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank bobtish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOresort, Manager at Blue Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Blue Ocean Resort and the team, we would like to apologize to you in regards to not staying up with the standards that you should be receiving. Such reviews like yours is very important, as we get to learn more about our property and try to improve for our other guests.

Please be informed that the voucher you have bought to stay with us, has great discounts and a lot of complimentary inclusions. For example, the dinner set. We are not able to offer seafood sets or even a bigger menu for this price. We understand that expectations are sometimes set too high, even though we try to give the best value possible.

Again, please accept our apologies for the shortcomings. We do hope you give us another chance at our resort and we will do all we can to prove your review wrong.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 788 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Firstly I booked the blue ocean resort on a non refundable deal. I then realised I had booked the wrong dates. When I contacted them they were quite happy to change the dates for me.
The hotel is very clean. My room was large and airy the bed was very comfortable. The way the hotel is built means the rooms ending in 08 are facing a wall so there is no view and not much natural daylight in the room.
The hotel provides beach towels free of charge and there was a clean towel in m room everyday when I returned from the beach.
The buffet breakfast is really good with a very large selection including eggs and bacon. The only drawback is the restaurant is next to a river that smells of sewage. This put me off having dinner in the hotel.
When I asked for a late checkout the staff again were very helpful an let me have my room until 6pm for no extra charge.
I would stay here again and recommend this hotel to anybody.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Firthgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I stayed in march and found it a great hotel.Terrific location, lovely staff especially the breakfast.Close enough to the beach and far enough away from bangala Rd.Next door is a 7 eleven, massage and up the rd is a lovely polace for coffees.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Me my wife and our 2 children stayed here for a week, we had a ball, there were a couple of thing needing repair like tiles and things, but all in all it was great. Location was great, pool was great, but what set it apart from other hotels I have stayed in is the staff they were fantastic the best we have experienced, even with the much bigger and much more expensive hotels.

Great place to stay in this small boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get pool facing or pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Viva the blue ocean hotel - this is our 7th visit to this hotel in 3 years and the hotel and staff just get better and better - from the reception - who are always available and helpful to the restaurant which is run by "Mama" who keeps us well fed with v.good food - all the staff give a personal touch with a smile and do all they can to make us happy. The spa is excellent with good treatments and massages and run by Maul who also does all she can to make our stay good - you could not get better anywhere else. The room is very spacious and very clean and bed is soo comfortable and cleaning ladies are A1. The pool is also a joy v clean and water is always tepid with comfortable sun beds and fluffy blue towels. We would recommend hotel for couples and families the staff love to play with the children. 5 star treatment at a reasonable rate.

Room Tip: we always stay in poolside room - walk out sliding doors straight into swimming pool - what more cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cockneyboy820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed here for a week and have a great time. From check in to check out everything was great. It's in a great central location ( to where where we wanted to be ) We never had any issues with guests in pool all night or making noise.

The staff could not be more helpful!

Tang in the Bar area was awesome, as was Ran, Jit, and Chris. The older lady that asked me every morning if we wanted coffee and re filled my juice glass.

We would stay here again. This is value for money and offers a great breakfast. Rooms were clean and tidy, no issues with anything really.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank levil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

i have just come back from a nice stay at this good 3 star hotel .


Good location , good customer service ,

Spa services very reasonable , very good value for money coffee scrub really works thank you , < sorry forgot my therapists name >

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123parki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
1 mi away
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 331 in Patong
774 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paripas Patong Resort
Paripas Patong Resort
#63 of 331 in Patong
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong
0.7 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Bliss South Beach Paton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ocean Resort

Address: 273 Rat-U-Thit Song Roi Pee Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#36 Family Hotel in Patong
#39 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £26 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Ocean Resort is located at about 5 minutes walk to the Patong Beach, and about 10 Minutes to the main city center - Bangla Road, and the Popular Jungceylon Shopping Mall. It is just close enough to Patong's Main Charming Attractions, but far away enough from all the hassle and the noisy areas of Patong. Blue Ocean also offers excellent Indian Cuisines, as well as great delicious selections of Thai and European ones. Breakfast has a nice variety. High Speed Internet and Free Wifi can be enjoyed from the rooms as well as the Public Areas of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ocean Hotel Patong
Blue Ocean Resort Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing