We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem of hotel”
Review of Blue Ocean Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Blue Ocean Resort
Ranked #46 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Little Gem of hotel”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just arrived back from two great weeks in The Blu Ocean resort !
Can't fault this hotel. The room was spotless , the bed huge and comfortable with huge toilet and deprecate shower/ wet room bigger than my home bathroom ! There is a well a stocked fridge with beers and soft drinks and snacks ( nuts crisps and biscuits ) which doesn't sound much but when you arrive at midnight , thirsty and hungry and no clue of your surroundings it was a welcome sight . There is a charge but not over priced.
The staff could not be more pleasant and helpful if they tried ! The breakfast is wide and varied and a delightfull young lady will make you a fresh omelette or however you would like your eggs done . Lots of fresh fruits,cereals toast and best of all , traditional Thai foods ! Can't comment on evening meals as we ate out every night so we could sample different restaurants !
Some areas of the hotel could do with a fresh coat of paint but that's being picky ! The pool area is small but more than adequate for a cooling dip and the bar area Fresh and staff attentive.
The hotel is situated at the bottom end of " walking Rd " but all busy areas including Bangla rd. and the excellent Jungceylon ( a huge mall with many many shops and good restaurants and bars of a nicer calibre than the chaotic but fun Bangla rd ) are all within 15 mins walk ! The hotel is also much closer to the beach ! 3 mins walk and you are at the beginning of Patong beach .
I give Blue Ocean resort a 5 because the location ,the staff and the bedrooms far outshone some tired paintwork !
Would I go back ? Definitely !

Room Tip: There are some rooms which open onto the pool and have their own stairs into the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s6jst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    252
    84
    38
    34
See reviews for
144
313
45
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
93 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Well don't expect it to b a resort as the name says.. But it's a good hotel with decent rooms.. We were in a deluxe room.. I really liked the room.. Nice bathrooms.. The breakfast has good variety.. The location is certainly a plus as far as beach is concerned.. A five minute walk.. Its not bad in relation to it's price..

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shveta b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Thanks for the amazing experience, friendly bar tender and amazing rooms. More suitable for couples but a great hotel regardless!
It is a bit flashy and secluded so if you are looking to party then perhaps not the hotel for you. On the other hand if you want the finer things and be pampered with your other half then this is the perfect place.

Room Tip: Get a room with pool access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mehta47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I went to Phuket for Songkran holidays. Stayed here for 4 nights, good hotel in a good location,10 mins walk from everywhere (Beach. Jungceylon shopping center, Bangla road and night markets). Hotel is clean and well run, it has an amazing swimming pool, nice staff, comfortable rooms, breakfast is great. Finally, don't miss out on the spa...it really is worth a treat, i loved it!! it is worth every Baht spent from the very entrance to the good bye. I would definitely come back to this hotel again! Thanks to all the staff and keep it up, good job!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MANAK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Well I should have written it long back but it's never too late if u want to praise someone qualities.
Miss NINA( manager)...I want to thank u first for arranging everything so beautifully on that night....from flower bed and room decoration to exclusive candle light dinner.
U guys truly made us feel like as we are in heaven.
I enjoyed every moment of our stay started from check in smiles till check out.
Best place to stay in phuket undoubtedly.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anshul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We picked blue ocean because of it's strategic location on the stretch of the night markets and being relatively near to Patong beach. Well, true enough, it wasn't too far down but the walk can get a little draggy. It will take about 15-20 mins to walk all the way to the end where shopping mall is located.

Personally I felt patong beach was dirty and overrated too, thus I felt it wasn't much worth it staying near the beach. It was good there are massage parlors along the hotel which makes it convenient. There are loads of food, cafés and bars too...

The hotel staff were inadequately trained to give directions to locals, an exception was the manager (I'm guessing), this Caucasian gentleman made an effort to remember my birthday and asked how was our hotel transfer as we chose the hotel pick up too. We've never met him before either, so I think his effort is pretty worth complimenting, also, I think if you needed directions, he would be able to provide it to you properly unlike their reception staff which doesn't really get what we were speaking.

The hotel transfer cost is 900 baht/way for a huge van -though it was only 2 of us quite comfy, and I had no complaints!

We managed to get an early check in as we arrived before the check in time, and not many hotels will allow early check in. With that said, we didn't manage to get a late check out as they'll charge a night for late check outs..

The rooms were clean and well ventilated with the aircon and pretty spacious too. The bathtub, however felt a little flimsy and plastic-ky. But it still was fine.

I'd have to agree with other reviewers that for a 4 star hotel, the features like the renovation works are not top notch and sleek, but the rooms were fine, toilet ceilings and paint may seem a little damaged. If you're going for a budget hotel, this is what you should just keep in mind.

For the price we paid, I don't think I have much of a stand to complain about the little nitty gritty stuff.

Do note, Patong beach is about a 7 min walk away :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Esther T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

On first impression we were not too excited to be staying here for our honeymoon but after seeing our room and being assisted by great staff we thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay. Breakfast is good and the location is great. Our shower did not get as hot as I would have liked. Rooms big, clean and modern. Beds huge and comfortable. Pleasant stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Moya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.0 mi away
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 322 in Patong
716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paripas Patong Resort
Paripas Patong Resort
#80 of 322 in Patong
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#12 of 322 in Patong
1,607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong
0.7 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ocean Resort

Property: Blue Ocean Resort
Address: 273 Rat-U-Thit Song Roi Pee Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#39 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#42 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Ocean Resort is located at about 5 minutes walk to the Patong Beach, and about 10 Minutes to the main city center - Bangla Road, and the Popular Jungceylon Shopping Mall. It is just close enough to Patong's Main Charming Attractions, but far away enough from all the hassle and the noisy areas of Patong. Blue Ocean also offers excellent Indian Cuisines, as well as great delicious selections of Thai and European ones. Breakfast has a nice variety. High Speed Internet and Free Wifi can be enjoyed from the rooms as well as the Public Areas of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ocean Hotel Patong
Blue Ocean Resort Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing