We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”
Review of The Gallery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gallery Hotel
Ranked #19 of 406 Patong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

This hotel is conveniently situated between the beach, Jung Ceylon shopping center and Soi Bangla;

First of all the staff at the desk. It has been mentioned before on this site and I can confirm one of the male staff is a complete disaster. Totally unmannered, indifferent, grumpy, arrogant etc. Very un-Thai and an emberassment for the industry as a whole. My impression is that he is either family or well related to the owner of this place or he is the owner. Otherwise I cannot imagine why someone would have a person like that chasing away so many customers. The other staff are actually quite friendly but no one exceeds average.

The rooms are ok, the beds and shower even very good, but not very clean. Upon arrival my bathroom was stained with several brown spots of water and muddy stuff. Dust was all over the place and my over all impression is that general indifference of the Gallery crew causes this hotel to wear of sooner than it has to. Yesterday my room was cleaned and I found my sheets full with stains. To prevent myself from trouble I made some pictures of it to have some proof when needed.

The pool in the lobby is a joke. It's nothing more than an oversized bathtub. The same goes for the balcony, if you have one. I moved to another room because I didn't have one and then found out the balcony was a 1 square meter crampy place where the aircon motor was blowing out it's hot air. Not a very nice place to have your late night beer and / or cigar(ette)

Several hotels I have stayed in in this area proof that service can be much better as well as cleanliness and overall experience.

Room Tip: If you don't mind being treated incorrectly and a good bed and shower is all you need, you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Larzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    76
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
9
54
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

A great place to stay. Clean and very cheap and also not far from the main street where u can find many place to eat and massage. Love the hotel! Worth the money but better go in october cause after 31st october evrything is very expensive in phuket.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oline_widi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

The Gallery Hotel is very clean and modern and located at the end of small soi off the main road. Location is fantastic as you are no more than a few minutes walk from restaurants, Bangla road and a short cut to the beach.
You get a good king sized bed and the room is cleaned daily. A/C works silently to keep you at a very comfortable temperature. Be aware that this hotel is no frills and offers top notch basics but not much more. The pool is nice, rooms are comfortable and clean although sound travels through the hallways and the doors. Noisy neighbours are nuisance but i suppose thats no fault of the hotel.
Staff is robotic and not very friendly, not sure if it is because of a lack of English or just the way they are. One of the girls is smiley and friendly, the others not so much.
Be mindful of the fact that the water supply is trucked in which is sort of a reminder to conserve where you can. Otherwise the shower is hot, toilets flush well and water runs freely. Drinking water is provided and replenished daily as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdwinHew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The location of the hotel is excellent. it's with a walking distance to the beach, bangla road, and jungceylon mall. It's located at the alley, so you won't be bothered by the noise from the main road. The room was clean, they replace the bed sheet daily, bathroom's very clean, good hot water pressure, & minibar.
The downside is, when i booked via agoda, i was told that each room has it's private balcony, turns out, our superior room doesn't has one.
And also, at their website, they state about motorbike hire as their additional service. When we asked for it, the receptionist told us to go directly to the rental shop to rent the bike by ourselves. Not a service at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LalaSantra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

My family stayed here in May 2012. Two adults and Two Children. The price was so cheap, that we booked two rooms side by side (no connecting rooms in this hotel). The rooms were clean, neat, with a king size bed, tv, safe, minibar, balcony, and large bathroom.
Rooms were serviced daily. Staff were always friendly with a smile and assisted us with many queries including booking tours. This hotel is in a side street just 5 minutes walk from Bangla Rd, the beach and the mall. There are two great restaurants just outside of the hotel at reasonable prices. A laundry service in the lane way.
Pool is small with only 3 lounge chairs, but this was not a problem as we were the only ones really using it.
As we were checking out, our son was really sick. Staff provided us juice and bread snacks to settle his stomach. Would definately recommend this hotel. Though please keep in mind that the hotel is what you pay for.....small price for clean bed, warm shower.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OzChick78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Strategic location close to bangla road and restaurant's just need to walk a few minutes
Clean and comfortable rooms
at affordable prices
Standard hotel facilities are not bad

Unfortunately the staff are not good in english

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeniver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

More :
1. Good quality of sleep.. The bed was comfortable
2. The room was clean, neat, and fresh..
3. Free beach towel to be rent..
4. Water heater provided..
5. Location near Patong Beach..
6. Swimming pool with Jacuzzi service..

Less :
1. Shocking deposit : 1,000 Baht

But anyway,,
Excellent for this hotel..
Once I visit Phuket again, I'll stay at this hotel.. :D

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DesiJulinasari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
#69 of 321 in Patong
537 reviews
0.5 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 321 in Patong
714 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#27 of 321 in Patong
1,556 reviews
0.1 mi away
R Mar Resort and Spa
R Mar Resort and Spa
#56 of 321 in Patong
358 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Paradise Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallery Hotel

Property: The Gallery Hotel
Address: 10 Rat-U-Thid 200 Pee Soi 1, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 406 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gallery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gallery Hotel Patong
The Gallery Hotel Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing