We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Authentic Thai food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poo Nurntong Restaurant

Poo Nurntong Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 548 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$9
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups, Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent Authentic Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I only found this restaurant thanks to the previous reviewers here on Tripadvisor - firstly let me say Thank you! Not only did our group receive the warm welcome from the restaurant owner Poo (that everyone wrote about) but we put our trust in her, told her were were hungry and to bring out her favourite dishes :) Poo cooked for us, Pad Thai, Fried Rice, Chicken Sate (yum!), mixed fried seafood, Red Curry. Green Curry, Penang Curry, Sweet n Sour Fish and more - everything was absolutely beautiful! Hot, fresh, served with a smile and a grand total of $75 AUD for 5 people incl. beers, etc - amazing value!!. As previous reviewers have suggested, MAKE SURE YOU WRITE DOWN POO'S ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER for your tuk-tuk driver so you get there ok. Our driver called ahead and Poo was able to give directions in Thai over the phone. Another tip would be to arrive at 5pm ish if possible, so that you can appreciate the view and sunset from up on the hill :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tigmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    84
    23
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thumbs up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Been there for the 3rd time thru'out our trip over 7days. Fresh n good food at a reasonable price. Family operated business makes one feel so homely. Friendly host constantly popping by checking and asking for feedbacks with attentive staff who lights up the mosquito coils for us. Restaurant is up a steep slope easily accessible by bike or car. Nice view.

Helpful?
1 Thank Eur0peTrip13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karon, Thailand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great and cheap Thai food with very friendly staff - worth trying”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

During our trip in Phuket, after quick check on the review, we went to Poo Nurntong Restaurant for dinner. We had a great time there, owner and staff very friendly . The food was awesome and cheap ( recommendation to try the tom yam soup and green curry chicken - Aroy !!!!!). The view of patong during night tome is wonderful and resturant is super calm. Worth trying.
Thanks for preview reviews.

Note: as not that easy to find out, advise to take with you phone number of restaurant in case you lost, driver will contact so that few minutes after you be there to enjoy great food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastien F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with a beautiful view over Patong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Last weekend we went to Poo Nurntong Restaurant, based on the rating of this website. It's very true that the restaurant is hard to be found, but if you just turn left (coming from Patong) after Patong Seaview Village there are enough signs to guide you to the restaurant.

We had a lovely dinner sitting outside on the balcony overlooking Patong and being able to see the sunset. The food was super fresh and tasteful. And it's great to find a restaurant which is so close to Patong, but yet feels so far away due to the relaxing atmosphere.

Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Writer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We went to this restaurant last week, the food is excellent, the waitress very nice, smiling, and the view is wonderfull !!
If you spend your holidays near Patong, Karon etc, you must absolutely stop by Poo Nurntong Restaurant ! You will NOT be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Camélia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poo Nurntong Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Poo Nurntong Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing