We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where was Lindsay?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baan Suk-Kho Boutique Inn
Ranked #89 of 415 Patong B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We didn't get off to a good start at the Phuket Tropical Inn. Our driver had a hard time finding it and we had to get help from some bike taxi drivers. I booked this hotel months ago based on Trip Advisor reviews which raved about Lindsay and the service he offered his guests. When we eventually got there after a stressful 4 hour transfer from our previous hotel, we arrived to a dark and locked hotel. Apparently most of Patong was blacked out. A young woman sitting outside told me they were closed. I told her we had booked but she still said they were closed. I then asked for Lindsay as I had booked with him and she told me he had gone to Chiang Mai. As I had my printed booking with me, she said we could go to our room and she would look into it in the morning. When she unlocked the office and went to get the key, the power came back on. Thank God for that!

Our room was huge, with a comfortable bed, but we didn't feel comfortable in it after our bad start. When we booked, we had breakfast included but that didn't eventuate as it turned out the receptionist also did the breakfasts and she didn't start until 9 am. As we had to go on a tour on the first morning and get to the airport the next morning, this was too late for us.

The receptionist gave us a hand drawn map for a shortcut down to the beach but unfortunately it lacked a bit of detail and stopped well before we got to the beach.

I'm sure Phuket Tropical Inn would have been OK if we hadn't gone there with the high expectations we had. It is out of the way and we wouldn't have chosen it except for the reviews it received when it was run by Lindsay and his partner.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lanny48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phukettropicalinn, Former Owner at Baan Suk-Kho Boutique Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

What can I say but I am so sorry
I was sure when I sold the hotel that the service we were known for would be maintained but this is obviously not the case
I am now in Chiangmai at my new Business the Chiangmai Coffee Stop
We are also listed on TripAdvisor & are happy to say this type of Bad Service will never happen here
I am shocked that the Kitchen is not open till 9am I was told the guests would have 24hr service as we provided when I was there
I am sure if this is the quality of service they provide now that the rating I worked so hard to achieve will be diminished very quickly
Please email me at The Chiangmai Coffee Stop and tell me more
all our contact details are on our new website of the same name
Again can I say I am very sorry for your experience & hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday to spite your bad experience with this hotel
We hope that we get to apologize in person one day should you visit Chiangmai
Travel safe & keep Smiling :)
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2012

Hi,I am writing to share my experience at Tropical Inn in Phuket, Thailand.

I stayed there for a few nights in September 2012 and I had a very wonderful, memorable experience. The service was impecable and the owner, Kelly was friendly, helpful and very accomodating. His assistant Nong was also very friendly and sweet. Both of them made sure that I was comfortable at all times and I felt very safe and at home. The rooms are very clean
and beautifully arranged.

I highly recommend Tropical Inn in Phuket for anyone who is looking for a comfortable
clean and friendly stay.

thank you, Lucia Pereira

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phukettropicalinn, Owner at Baan Suk-Kho Boutique Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Hello & Thank you so much
My Name is Lindsay but you got Nong right he he he
But I do remember you
We have now sold the hotel & we own The Chiangmai Coffee Stop in the South of Thailand
We are hoping to have Accommodation soon for all our loyal Guest who stayed with us during our time in Patong
Chiangmai is Truley a Beautiful place & I would recommend it to anyone wanting a fantastic Stress Free holiday
We have a great little Coffee Shop & serve Great Food as well
visit our website for all our contact details & we look forward to meeting all our past guests from the hotel
Our service & attention to detail remain the same just the business has changed
See you soon at
Chiangmai Coffee Stop
Lindsay & Nong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The Tropical Inn is not far from Patong beach. Around 15 minutes walk to the Patong beach. and 10 minutes walk to Big C.
The staff Lindsay and Nong are very kind people and gave us many kind notices on security. Thanks!

Room Tip: If you don't need swimming pool, this hotel is a good choice. Clean, hospitable and not expensiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liangna85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phukettropicalinn, Owner at Baan Suk-Kho Boutique Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2012

Well the hotel is now under new management & me & Nong have moved to ChiagMai
We decided not to purchase the Rabbit Bar & purchased a beautiful little coffee shop 10 mins from the city
it's called The Coffee Stop & we are searching evreyday for the Perfect guest accomodation for our Loyal Guests who are visiting ChiangMai
We will open our new Website soon under the name of The Coffee Stop but are still contactable via Chiangmai Tropical Inn email
We look forward to hearing from all the friends we made while we managed the Phuket Tropical Inn
See you soon
Lindsay & Nong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Firstly Lindsay I would like to appologize for my deception when checking in
I was sent from another hotel 5 mins away from your hotel on nanai road
My boss wanted to know why you have been running at such high occupancy during this our worst Low Season in many years in Patong
After I had done my research over the 3 days I stayed with you I had clear answers for him
When I returned to work to meet with him I told him the reasons why I believe you are so successful & how I think we could improve
But after the ititial point of that "we need to spend money on our rooms" to get to the standard you have at your hotel he lost interest very quickly
I also told him phuket tropical inn is a roaring success because of YOU & your personality & passion is what make you great & I did not think we could copy that
He was very non receptive to these comments & that is when I decided to leave you my feedback as a person who works in the industry & knows just how good you are
I was shocked when i was told by another guest Elizabeth that you were leaving for a new buisness in ChaingMai
I met her on the stairs on the way to the 3rd floor where she was staying she seemed to be having a bit of trouble with the steps so I helped her
When we got to our floor I asked her why do you stay here if obvioulsly the stairs are a problem for you & her simple reply was "have you met Lindsay"
I replyed yes & she continued to tell me that YOU were the reason she stayed at the hotel that she had never experianced anything like it before she said she was cared for from the start & that she could not wait to wake up evrey morning to see you
After 3 days in your hotel I agree I felt like we had been friends for years & not just 3 days
I was delighted with your hotel overall & your cleanleness far exceeds Thailand standards
On a personal note I would like to to say your love for your partner Nong is truley inspiring I remember when you told me you were gay & i said to you that you must be having lots of fun here as the boys here are beautiful & your reply very quickly was "No I already have the most beautiful boy in Thailand with me & pointed to Nong on the Couch & said "he already has my heart & I would never hurt him" That is TRUE LOVE & Thank you confirming that true love really does exsist
I am / was a little sad however when you & Nong took me & some other customers out to the Lady Boy Show I am a very intuative person & pay attention to people & their body language
I could easily see that the club is your place to relieve your Stress you would just close your eyes & move to the music I however found Nong to be different I watched him for the whole time we were there & could see him looking / searching at all the Farang that were there it was like he was hungry I hope I am wrong but my eyes never lie
Lindsay I know your love for this boy is Super Strong & just hope he does not hurt you as you are truley a unique human being & would be proud to have you next to me (if you were straight)
Guard your heart my friend
I will try to get to the rabbit bar in ChaingMai to see you again & this time I pay for the drinks !!!
I am going to ask the new owners of your hotel for a postition in the hotel in November as although you won't be there you have set up a fantastic place & I would be proud to work there
Stay safe & I will catch up soon
Nigella

Room Tip: This hotel is perfect but the owner / Manager is what makes this hotel experiance perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phukettropicalinn, Owner at Baan Suk-Kho Boutique Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Wow
That is definatly a first for me
A Thai paying for spy work wow that is fantastic
I am very proud to hear your kind words & very happy that you will apply for a job in November GOOD LUCK
As for Nong yes he has wandering eyes but he is harmless (all Thais are the same)
When I first saw your feedback I thought it was a novel I was actually scared to read it but I am gald I did
Thankyou I can leave here for my new buisness in Chiangmai very proud
see you ar the Rabbit bar)
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

This hotel is hidden back up from the hustle and bustle of the city night life but at the same time is only a 10 minute walk to the shops and night life and a 15 minute walk to the beach. A little difficult to find but worth seeking out its location. The Reception Manager Nong, will do everything to ensure your stay meets with your requirements. Great value for your money, I would have been happy even if the rates were double the price. Anastasia the new girl from Russia is so pleasant and extremely helpful. Lindsay should be proud of her business and her staff. 100% recommended, well done.

Room Tip: My room 104 was excellent overlooking the quiet side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odeacs54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phukettropicalinn, Owner at Baan Suk-Kho Boutique Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Thankyou for your Nice review
I was in Australia doing advertising for my new rabbit bar in Chiangmai so sorry I could not host you
I am a MALE not a female
Proud yes I am
I Thankyou again & hope I get to host you at the Rabbit bar in Chiangmai :)
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Thank you guys we really had a great time at your hotel
I was very sad to hear that you have sold your buisness but happy to hear i will be able to visit you in Chiang Mai My wife Teared up no joke !!!
Lindsay You have done a Fantastic Job building that place into such a Paradise I hope you leave with your head held high the place is a real credit to you
It is so rare to find a person like you Lindsay you really do love customer service I don't think I have ever met such a passionate & Genuine Caring person THANKYOU
I would however give the suggestion that your Partner Nong do more work as evreytime I used the computers in the lobby he was playing games (evrey day) Not A Good Look !!!!
So next time I visit Thailand I will visit the Rabbit Bar to say hello & I hope you end up having accomodation as I would love to stay with you guys again I really felt at home with you
I have been chatting with friends that have stayed in Chiang Mai & they tell me it is a Beautiful Place so I see you there
Travel Well & See You Soon
Sean & Sandra

Room Tip: I Can't say as Lindsay is Leaving the place but if the new owner is 1/2 as good you will have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sean s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phukettropicalinn, Owner at Baan Suk-Kho Boutique Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Thankyou for your kind review
I have had a little chat with Nong about his gaming & this will not happen again
even in the hotel world we still have spare time (not much) & I choose to either watch TV or do other work Nong likes his games thats his relaxation but he agrees it should not be seen & noticed by our guests
Sad to say good bye to Phuket Tropical Inn but happy to say hello from Chiangmai Rabbit Bar
I will soon have rooms available there as well so I look forward to hosting evreyone in Chaingmai
Thankyou
LIndsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

excellent hosts and very clean rooms. we..will be back again.to enjoy the hot season.We booked 2 rooms in Tropical Inn and Lindsay gave us a very big discount because it was a very low season. lindsay and nong were such nice people and very knowledgeable. they made patong much more enjoyable thanks again

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_biggest_hobo_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phukettropicalinn, Owner at Baan Suk-Kho Boutique Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Excellent
Thankyou It was our pleasure to host you in Patong
Should you Travel to Chiangmai on your next trip please visit us & check out our new place
I have finished the Chiangmai Rabbit Bar website & will update it with new photos as soon as I get there in November
I am trying to get my Bar / Accomodation on here Trip Advisor but having a bit of trouble I will continue until I work it out
Thankyou again & I / We hope to see you in Chiangmai :)
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.7 mi away
Sonya Residence
Sonya Residence
#13 of 415 in Patong
33 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,257 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Little Moon Residence
The Little Moon Residence
#50 of 331 in Patong
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Patong Studio Apartments
Patong Studio Apartments
#17 of 232 in Patong
194 reviews
1.2 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Suk-Kho Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Suk-Kho Boutique Inn

Address: 147 / 1 Nanai Rd., Baan Kanchana 6, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Phuket Tropical Inn)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 415 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range: £13 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baan Suk-Kho Boutique Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BAAN SUK-KHO BOUTIQUE INN is created hotel with a difference with the other in Patong Beach. The city is full of natural attractions, entertainment , shopping malls, restaurants and boxing camp. A Stlye of BAAN SUK-KHO BOUTIQUE INN blended with modern and Oriental style. In order to meet the warmth. Safe and attentive service to guests. We are in the heart of Patong Take the time to 5 minutes to Patong Beach and 40 minutes from Phuket International Airport. With the intention of BAAN SUK-KHO BOUTIQUE INN makes guests feel like you was back at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Baan Suk-Kho Boutique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Suk-Kho Boutique Inn Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing