We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel - not just for bike-lovers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nicky's Handlebar Hotel
Ranked #72 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Quirky small hotel with unique decor; even the pool matched the hotel's theme. I appreciated the effort that went into the decor. Room was a good size and spotless, but the floor was plain concrete and got dusty quite quickly. Shower was fab - overhead as well as hand-held, excellent water pressure. Aircon was effective, plus there was also a ceiling fan. Note that there were no windows, only a glass sliding door along an entire stretch of wall, with floor-to-ceiling curtains that had to be permanently drawn to preserve privacy. Coffee/tea making facilities provided. Toiletries supplied and good quality towels.

Pleasant restaurant out front with good view of the main road - great for people-watching. The food was surprisingly good too, and reasonably priced. I had the home-made burger the 1st night and it was excellent. 2nd night I had 2 Thai dishes which were both very good. Breakfast was plentiful and excellent, although only 1 cup of coffee provided.

My main complaint about the hotel was that I was severely bitten by mosquitoes when sunbathing by the pool. This happened on both occasions I sunbathed, so I am certain of that fact. I suspect this was due more to the surrounding area than to the hotel's failures. The hotel would also benefit from a few more sun-loungers by the pool - there clearly weren't enough available for all the guests.

The hotel is located on a stretch of busy road with numerous shops, restaurants, bureau de change, travel/tour agents & massage salons. You can get very good exchange rates and incredibly cheap massages - approx. £5 for an hour. It is about a 5 min walk to the beach and 8 min to Bangla Rd. However, I would not bother with Patong Beach if you are looking for a nice stretch of sand - it is nasty, dirty & vastly overcrowded.

I would definitely recommend this place if you are looking for a small clean & quiet hotel with few frills but conveniently located for shops, restaurants & transport.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dragonphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

This small 20 rooms hotel is conveniently located in the centre of Patong beach, Phuket. It developed from a Harley Biker Bar to a specialised biker hotel with the bar in front and 10 pool access rooms which are uniquely themed and customised. Rates are reasonable, food and drinks are great and very convenient. You can rent bikes, Ferrari, Lambo....

Room Tip: There are 10 pool rooms and they are very popular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albangsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in January 2012. The rooms are amazing - all decked out in car and bike themes. We had the Ferrari room. Room was huge and the fittings were all quality and well thought out design. The swimming pool was amazing and a bonus that it was open 24 hours so you could have a late night swim. This is one of the most funky hotels we've ever stayed at and it's really feel priced. Breaky was pretty average but had dinner here 2 nights and the meals were really good as well. Easy 5 minute walk to the beac, bars. You couldn't find better hotel in Patong !!

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnboy3bw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

This is a great little hotel in the heart of Patong. It is a quick walk to the beach (less than 10 minutes at an average pace). The hotel and the attached bar/restaurant Nicky's Handlebar are just perfect for a stay in Patong. The rooms are clean and cool (both in temperature and in look and feel) and are very quiet. I was there for a week and never heard any noise from my neighbours during my entire stay. The staff are friendly and helpful, especially Kevin and Kai, and they all make certain you have everything you need to enjoy your stay. Kevin is a wealth of information on what to do and see, where to go and where not to go in Patong.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again when I return to Patong.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WhereIsJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

This hotel and bar are so well run. We have visited quite a few times over the last few years and it was great to see Nicky and Khai have opened a hotel on the site. The rooms are fantastic - themed along the lines of the name - bikers!. But they are not over the top, and don't think it is a 'low-life' place because it is not. The complex is professionally run and caters to all manner of clients. The food in the restaurant is some of the best on the island...the drinks wonderfully cold..the staff and service never fails to impress....the management always present and inviting. Good on you guys...keep doing what you have been.

Room Tip: Ask for one towards the rear of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank celebrant09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Awesome people, Awesome food, Awesome rooms & pool very family friendly great place alround

Room Tip: Pool side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed at Nicky's Handlebar hotel in November 2011 for 5 nights and had times that really made our holiday. Nicky's is run by some of the most friendly stuff and a place where you'll meet great people due to the great location and people it attracts. The food the restaurant serves is outstanding with great variety from western foods to thai, i really loved the thai curry's they had! Kevin The hotel manager really aided alot in giving us a great time in phuket taking us to great places in patong to chill out and also giving a range of activities to do during the day through the people he knew in patong. One of the greatest thing's about this hotel is that the staff will come and have a drink with you and go out of there way to make sure you really get the most out of your holiday and experience phuket the way it should be, thanks a lot Kevin and Kai! will definantly be staying at Nicky's Handlebar hotel when i visit Phuket again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
First resort albergo
First resort albergo
#83 of 331 in Patong
80 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#39 of 331 in Patong
386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Austrian Garden Tai Pan Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Planet Patong, Phuket
Red Planet Patong, Phuket
#37 of 331 in Patong
428 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kelly's Residency
Kelly's Residency
#106 of 331 in Patong
314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 331 in Patong
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicky's Handlebar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicky's Handlebar Hotel

Address: 41 Rat-U-Thit 200 Yr Rd, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Price Range: £21 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nicky's Handlebar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Nicky's Handlebar Hotel, we've taken extra care in giving each room its very own unique features and characteristics. On some, you'll find different painted themes while others have elaborate wall sculptures. Headboards, bathroom furnishings, and even the toilet are themed in a fashion that would appeal to bikers, as well as just about everybody else! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Nicky's Handlebar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicky's Handlebar Hotel Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing