We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Staff, always looking out to loot the Customer...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunshine Patong Resort
Ranked #180 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Rude Staff, always looking out to loot the Customer...”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Most tours at Phuket start early in morning and the breakfast served at hotel starts at 7:00. So customers have to go in for Breakfast box which contains just a small fruit, a bun, a butter, a yogurt, and if luckily your tour gets delayed and you have a coffee at the breakfast buffet they will charge you 200 Bhat extra!!! Best part is they wont inform you about this and you will come to know about this only when you checking out.
The staff as well as the owner dont understand the simple things, they are just there to loot money from gullible customers. I talked to owner personally but he told that we have to pay extra for breakfast even though we have already paid before...
Would not recommend it for anyone, there are many other hotels in the surrounding which offer better facilities at cheaper cost.
The only sour moment in our Thailand trip was booking room at this hotel...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim_Kim_mit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalia T, Manager at Sunshine Patong Resort, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Sir,

First of all we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel.

I would like to clarify better this situation. You booked 1 Standard Room with breakfast for 3 persons for 57 USD Dollars /day.

The day before you wished to order 3 breakfast boxes instead of breakfast because of your early trip. The next morning you took 3 breakfast boxes and you go in the restaurant for to take the 2nd breakfast (3 persons). That's why the hotel prepared for you the bill for payment for 6 $ for 1 additional breakfast.

About the rudeness of the staff we would like to remind you that our staff is never rude with our clients, they just insisted that you pay the invoice due to the hotel that you refused to do making us the blackmail of the bad comment on Tripadvisor.
The hotel cannot give you everything for free because you make us "scared" of bed comment on this Website.

Kind Regards,

Natallia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    26
    5
    6
    11
See reviews for
17
43
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

NEVER EVER EVER BOOK THIS HOTEL!
they took out a deposit from my account after i had booked with booking.com with "book now, pay later"
After almost two weeks i have not gotten my deposit and they are now refusing to allow me to cancel my booking with out charge, and expecting me to pay one hundred dollars of my hard earned money for refusing to stay somewhere that evidently is STEALING my money.
If i could give it 0 stars I would, by far the worst booking experience I have ever had
And would never recommend this hotel if my life depended on it

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank hannjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalia T, Manager at Sunshine Patong Resort, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Sir,

We would like to apologize for the inconveniences but we would to underline that according to the hotel policy we charge 1 night for making the reservation with booking.com. In your case it was 50$ for 1 night in Standard Room (your initial booking was for 4 nights). Your cancellation was done immediately after your cancellation request to booking.com.
According to the cancellation policy of hotel, the cancellation is free of charge if it's done before 7 days.
In your case, the hotel refunded you 1 night (or 50$) and we've sent to you and to the booking.com the written refund confirmation by our bank. The hotel never charged you 100$.
When the refund request is done at the bank, the money transfer takes 2-3 weeks in Thailand and not 2 or 3 days. That's why we've kindly asked you to be a little bit more patient.
We had a bank confirmation that the money was turned back that we've also sent to booking.com.

You can be sure that this is very important case for us, we ensure that such kind of situation will never happen again.

Kind Regards,
Natalia
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

It is our second times we going there and we saw the renovation of the hotel and really we appreciate it. We has been in July and it was good time because not busy but they made the restaurant renovation and in this time we couldn't test. But we back in Chinese New Year and we appreciate the food and the service. The hotel is nice not far from beach or night life and good place for sleep. We were in deluxe room located is the 5th floor and we enjoyed the very nice swimming pool upstairs. Very nice staff and very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xing F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Good for everything!!!!


First the location, it is centrally located putting you within walking distance of all the best food, shopping, entertainment, and beaches Patong has to offer, yet it is not surrounded by loud clubs or bars so you are assured quiet peaceful rest when you need it but too far for good sleeping. The Karon beach is based 5 minutes on transportation.

Next, the room. All the comforts of home with a flat screen TV, air conditioning, refrigerator (with 2 free bottles of water each day) and free internet, which is working very good (most places offer internet only in the lobby or at extra charge). The housekeeping staff maintains your room in spotless condition so retuning for rest or a hot shower is always a pleasure.

The hotel offers an European morning breakfast with a large choice: eggs, salad bar, pancakes, becon, toasts, potatoes, spaghettis, thai food and many other food. We’ve rented a motorbike from them because in addition to being convenient, we feel more confident renting from someone we know (We don't feel comfortable leaving my passport with a random motorbike rental shop).

The swimming pool is very beautiful, big and green on the roof.

I left the best for last, the staff. The owners and management of Sunshine have somehow figured out a training program and have meticulously selected the right individuals in order to provide the convenient customer service. The hotel is managed by two French brothers and seems to be a good family business.

We actually feel more like a friend or family than a customer. It is obvious that the entire front desk staff's priority is outstanding service. In particular, during the day, the receptionists always offer a friendly smile and a high level of professionalism. At night there are 2 night shifts for security.

We have stayed already at several hotels in the Patong area in the past and Sunshine was my favorite by far. I will stay with them again in the future and highly recommend it to anyone planning to visit Patong. They get my highest ratings for location, comfort, service, and value.

Enjoy!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alfiya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My wife and I stayed for 2 weeks at the beginning of January and as others have said the location is really good as you can get a good nights sleep but are only a 15 minute stroll to all the major attractions, Rooms are clean and spacious with a fridge and kettle (take your own tea/coffee)
PROs roof top pool was gorgeous, drinks reasonable, very clean hotel, location, Teddy the manager was very helpful.
CONs overrun by noisy russians, water from taps was brown, had the worst cheeseburger in my life first night which put me off eating there again so I can`t comment on the food in general, beds are VERY firm so if you like a softer mattress Beware!
In general our stay was very pleasant and the hotel was value for money so as long as you realise this hotel is a good 3 star you will not be disappointed, We would not hesitate to go to the Sunshine Patong again and would recommend it to all as the CONs were only minor niggles and far outweighed by the PROs.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pete436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Hotel was central near the market, shops and about 10-15 minute walk from Bangla road and Patong Beach. Pool was excellent it was situated in the roof top and had the sun all day. They had a pool bar which was reasonable priced and served food all day too. Only downside we had with this hotel was they moved us to another room . It was annoying to be put in a room without a window, and you could hear people all night coming out of the elevator, they tried to charged us for things out of the mini bar that we didn't touch, which we didn't even have in the room so best to check you have all the items there when you arrive. All in all the hotel was nice and it was excellent value for money we would definitely book again if we were staying in the area.

Room Tip: Try not to get rooms 202,302,402,and 502 close to elevator and your sliding glass door faces it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1trugamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. The location is near enough to all the mayhem but far enough away to sleep well. The staff tried but the language barrier did mean we didn't get as much info as would have liked. Breakfast was ok with fresh omelettes being made as a highlight the only thing to consider when you arrive is the 3000 baht deposit they want on arrival but we did get back straight away when we checked out as long as no damages. I would recommend this place if you don't want to be completely in the hussle and bussle of Bangla road

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Geogie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
Azure Phuket Hotel
Azure Phuket Hotel
#264 of 328 in Patong
5 reviews
0.1 mi away
AsiaLoop G-House
AsiaLoop G-House
#299 of 328 in Patong
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
I Dee Hotel
I Dee Hotel
#234 of 328 in Patong
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Red Planet Patong, Phuket
Red Planet Patong, Phuket
#36 of 328 in Patong
411 reviews
0.6 mi away
Patong Holiday
Patong Holiday
#294 of 328 in Patong
152 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wynn Chilli Salza Patong
Wynn Chilli Salza Patong
#207 of 328 in Patong
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Patong Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Patong Resort

Property: Sunshine Patong Resort
Address: 34/18-88 Prachanukroh Rd, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunshine Patong Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Shine Patong is located in the east part of Patong area near three beaches which are Patong beach (10 minutes by walk), Kata beach and Karon beach. For your convenience our shuttle is always ready to drive you at Karon beach. The hotel is very close to the night life and enough far for a good rest. The establishment is a 10-minute walk from Junceylong Shopping mall which has a full range of international brands shops, restaurants, coffees, etc, closed to a nightlife "Bangla" road, and the local market. The exceptional location of our hotel is a perfect place for family holidays, friend meetings which could allows to discover Phuket and the around areas. Your pleasure becomes our pleasure.Good service and hospitality are our main priorities.Welcome in Sunshine Patong! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Sunshine Patong Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Patong Resort Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing