We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Cooking class at hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The ASHLEE Plaza Patong Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The ASHLEE Plaza Patong Hotel & Spa
Ranked #103 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Yekaterinburg, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Cooking class at hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

I went to this hotel in the end of July and stayed there for almost 2 weeks during all my vacation. Staff was very friendly and helpful, smiling and greeting every time they saw me. The room is very cozy, bathroom is big, everything is clean and new.. and I’ve got nice view to the hotel’s garden!
Breakfast was good, the menu is almost the same in every Thai hotel – eggs, sausages, fresh veggies, different fruits, corn flakes and toasts. Also they have some Chinese food like rice and noodles.
Walking distance to Patong beach and Bangla Road, also you can easily rent a bike and go anywhere on the island.

But the most memorable thing about this hotel - they have Thai Cooking class there! It was one of the highlights of my trip. There was one more student except me and we had a fantastic hours preparing Thai food and after that eating everything we cooked. Firstly we went to the market with thai chef Thon, he explained so much to us as we walked through the market. We purchased few items for our dishes and went back to hotel. When we arrived - staff already transformed the garden in front of hotel into professional cooking area. We got out aprons on and began learning various steps in preparing our 4-course lunch! My favorite dish was green curry with chicken, or maybe lemongrass salad? Difficult to decide)) Banana in coconut milk was also delicious. As a surprise bonus, we got carving master class from the chef after we finished our amazing lunch. Chef Thon is very professional, friendly and patient. We learned so much from him, starting from basic knife techniques to some cooking secrets. in the end - photo with the chef and sertificate on hand! We also got copies of the recipes, so im gonna impress my friends with delicious thai food soon.
All in all, MUST do while in Thailand. Thank you for this unique experience!

Room Tip: Only this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tanya-ptn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gan S, Guest Relations Manager at The ASHLEE Plaza Patong Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Tanya-ptn,

Thank you for choosing Citin Plaza Patong for your recent trip to Phuket. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our team is always happy to get feedback from guests, it gave us pleasure to read your positive review. I am glad to know that your Thai Cooking Class went great and you so much enjoyed this experience. I will transfer your compliments to our chef and his team. We hope that our Thai Cooking Class would be something travelers would enjoy during their stay and thank you for your comments about it.
We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back soon. If there is anything that I can help you with on your next stay, please, feel free to reach me at guest.relations@citrusheightspatong.com

Kind Regards,
Yulia Taldykova
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    174
    94
    36
    39
See reviews for
75
186
40
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

I must say, it being our first time in Patong Beach and decided to stay at Citin Plaza was the best choice, our rooms were perfect,superior rooms, 3rd floor facing the lapa garden lovely, no doubt we will go back here to stay.

A few pointers:

1 The breakfast menu, needs to change from daily eggs ad chicken sausage, try something different, bacon would be nice.

2. Struggled most of the time with WIFI connection.

3. Swimming pool, try and set up a bar upstairs and include umbrellas with chairs.

But besides all this,minor things that can be changed, I would recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Choose Superior room we had room 1309 and 1308, perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MollyW65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gan S, General Manager at The ASHLEE Plaza Patong Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Molly W65

Thank you very much for taking time to write your experiences while stayed at Citin Plaza patong in the Trip Advisor Review,

We are most delightful to become a home away from home during your holidays time to Patong, Phuket Thailand, we would be definitely loved to welcoming you back for another pleasurable stay on your next visit.

We have well noted of your kind addtional suggestion over the breakfast choices and facilitization at swimming pool with Pool Bar & Umbrellas.

we shall look forward to serving you and seeing you back soon.

Best regards
Gan " Bob " Sara-Puech
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Stayed two nights based on decent reviews from the net. I was mainly attracted by the promotion price of USD43 per night with breakfast. Room layout is decent for the price.

TV reception is extremely poor. A small pool is located on the rooftop of the hotel at Level 6.

Room insulation is horrible. My room on the 5th floor can hear the music the restaurant is playing and they don't seem to stop until 3-4am everyday.

Location wise, it is quite a distance from the Patong beach. 800m to the near point along Patong beach and 1.2km away to the Jungceylon mall. The location is slightly away from the main street and not many shops and taxi are around.

The taxi driver who fetch us from the Bang Rong Pier failed to find the exact location despite calling the reception thrice.

Taxi from the hotel to Patong beach is 200 Baht. Try bargaining for 150 Baht for a tuk tuk.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gan S, Manager at The ASHLEE Plaza Patong Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Dear Mr. Tan Y.

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and your kind comment.

Our cable TV is sometimes have poor reception and this may cause from bad weather condition during that time. Occasionally, the cable company will notify hotels who use the same cable TV company to acknowledge their improvement process.

Many guests enjoy with complimentary hotel shuttle service to Patong beach and Jungceylon shopping mall, while other explore by themselves. The hotel is approximately 50 metres from main roads. Some guests use local taxi booths which are just approximately 50 - 60 metres from the hotel , with 3 taxi booths. There are various shops and restaurants around Patong area for visitors to enjoy themselves. The hotel is now in 2nd year of operation which is recognized by people , but those who are not familiar the area or nearby may not know this hotel.

Regarding to your occupying room , hotel is located on the quiet area of Patong and not many restaurants around hotel.

We are looking forward to your return to Phuket.

Best regards,
Suteerachat Srichaiyo
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Patong hotels

goa
Level Contributor
220 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a frill free , hotel , then Citin Plaza is your choice. The hotel has a bar, a travel desk, free wifi , pool, close by to the beach(10 minutes walk) , has 7/11 and family Mart supermarkets just outside . The rooms are clean. The breakfast is okay. Very simple place.. Just what you need to crash at night after being on the beach for so long..

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doc_Kuldeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gan S, Manager at The ASHLEE Plaza Patong Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Mr. Goa Kuldeep,

We thank you very much for your recent stay and your kind review in Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that your stay was an enjoyable one with the preferred location and convenience. Looking forward to your return for your next visit to Phuket.

Kind regards,
Suteerachat Srichaiyo
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

This is one of the best hotel I have stay. All I can say it's awesome, the staff was so friendly and they do understand English well. Their service was so good that I called for taxi service and it ready even 30 minutes earlier than the time I told them. The wifi connection was extremely fast enough to suft any web on your mobile/laptop/tablet. Although the hotel was a bit far from the beach, but they do offer free tuktuk service, 4 times a day, which is good enough for walking around nearby Patong beach. At night the hotel was quiet, no disturbance. When I get in the telephone was not working, but after I inform them, telephone works fine. Rooms and toilet are clean enough. Except the toilet bowl was a little bit spoil. The breakfast was almost the same for me (staying 4 days 3 nights), but it's okay for me because I prefer going out to have their foods.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris9898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gan S, General Manager at The ASHLEE Plaza Patong Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Dear Chris

Thank you for sharing your view and feedback of your stayed at Citin Plaza Patong in the Tripadvisor Review.

I am noted with pleasure that we have been live up to your expectation and we will certainly continue to improve our product and service quality to it best, i and the team do hope to welcoming you back to enjoy another holiday time in Phuket again in the near future.

Sawasdee Krub
& Kind regards

Gan " Bob " Sara-Puech
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

First hotel I've stayed at in Phuket, was in the days leading in Koh Samui and Koh Phangan, at 4 star hotels, thinking this would be similar, if not better. We checked in at night, and everything seemed fine, the hotel receptionist (the lady) and the bellman, were very happy and nice and made us feel very welcomed. Though on the day we left, the receptionist was a male, which I found pretty rude and arrogant and served us with a lot of attitude. Seem to get annoyed quickly, even if our needs were a bit tedious, luckily he only worked the day (or that I know of) on the day we left. Would not have liked to be served by him on any other day. Every other day was a girl which was so polite and pleasant.

The rooms are good I found, the view is disgusting. We faced the construction of a new hotel, but couldn't expect much from a hotel in this location. Its about a 20min walk into town/beach, a 5min tuk tuk. Wasn't much of an inconvenience, just a change, since we stayed only 10min walk max at the other hotels to major attractions/shops. Rooms are clean, showers are clean. Except our telephone didn't work? Was just for show?

We slept fine, but we were out for a long time so by the time we got back, any sleep was loved. Tv has pretty poor connection/reception? compared to other hotels we stayed at. But probably the biggest TV we had on the whole trip, not that makes much of a difference if the antenna doesn't get the best signal.

Room WiFI wasn't the best, had to keep moving to get a strong signal, but at all our hotels, the WiFI was poor, so can't complain.

Other then that, everything was fine, only negative thing was the male receptionist working on the day we checked-out.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichaelT0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gan S, Manager at The ASHLEE Plaza Patong Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear Mr. Michael,

Thank you very much for your recent stay.
We sincerely apologize for your inconvenience while staying with us.
The appropriate action has been taken with regards to your kind comment for further improvement.

We look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Phuket.

Best regards,
Suteerachat Srichaiyo
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

I recently been to this hotel, the location is not as good as many people claim. I am surprised with few very good reviews on the TripAdvisor and Agoda about this hotel.

My Experience:
The rooms are ok and well maintained but hotel staff is very unfriendly and uncooperative. Lot of disturbance in the room because their most of the rooms are made for family and they are interconnected so if someone talk in the adjacent room you can't sleep at all. I would rate this hotel as below average hotel due to bad service.
I can't forget how badly one of the receptionist misbehaved with us named "Tuktuk".
I must say that hotel management should look into this and try to improve in this area.

Room Tip: DO NOT GO FOR TOP FLOOR as lift doesn't work most of the times during power cut.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gaurav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gan S, Manager at The ASHLEE Plaza Patong Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your recent stay in Phuket.
We sincerely apologize for your inconvenience during your stay. The appropriate action will be taken for its rectification of interconnecting doors and as well as the misbehaved receptionist. Lifts are properly working with its safety function and our engineering team is on hands for its emergency. We thank you very much for your kind review and looking forward to your return to Phuket.

Best regards,
Suteerachat Srichaiyo
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.3 mi away
The ASHLEE Heights Patong Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Ashlee Hub Hotel Patong
Ashlee Hub Hotel Patong
#85 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Ocean Resort
Blue Ocean Resort
#45 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
1.1 mi away
Andakira Hotel
Andakira Hotel
#72 of 319 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The ASHLEE Plaza Patong Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The ASHLEE Plaza Patong Hotel & Spa

Property: The ASHLEE Plaza Patong Hotel & Spa
Address: 34/50-57, Prachanukhro Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Citin Plaza Patong Hotel & Spa by Compass Hospitality)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#47 Spa Hotel in Patong
#50 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The ASHLEE Plaza Patong Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashlee Plaza Patong is located in the island of Phuket on Prachanukhro Road. This brand new 248 room hotel is spread across 4 buildings, each building with a rooftop swimming pool and shared facilities that include restaurants, meeting rooms, a gym and more. The famous Patong beach is a mere 15 minute walk from the hotel with several restaurants and pubs en route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA and Ebookers so you can book your The ASHLEE Plaza Patong Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The ASHLEE Plaza Patong Hotel & Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing