We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Quiet Location But.........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Islanda Boutique Hotel
Ranked #152 of 420 Patong B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Staff need to get some basic training in customer service. If you are Chinese then you would probably be satisfied. Staff here, especially the manager seems to give preference treatment to his own nationality. Chinese. You can be in the middle of being served by him and then totally and rudely interrupted by Chinese guests that are not prepared to wait until there turn. Consequently it can take 10 minutes to ask a basic question because the manager won't tell them to wait until their turn. Very rude and frustrating. The only way to conquer this problem was to reciprocate.
Wifi broke after 2 hours and was not rectified and they didn't seem to care. It wasn't until I pressured them that they informed me that Islanda 2's Wifi was working on my last days stay there.
I hired a motor bike there. Bargain with the price though. 300 Baht is too expensive. Rooms are clean, good air con, quiet location staff friendly can be a little noisy with groups but that's everywhere. Would I stay there again. Yes but I would like to see some customer service training. If this was addressed and a better wifi provider this place would be excellent. I'd say that most of the excellent reviews would be from Chinese customers.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
4  Thank callatrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

The reviews on this hotel were good that's why we chose it , but it's nothing to write home about.its conveniently located but at the moment the roads are under major construction works which makes difficult to walk to the main areas of Patong. The rooms are ok very plain but comfortable beds. The shower needs some plumbing works as it's old and the shower head was broken. All in all it's an average place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 937Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We booked Islanda Boutique Hotel after reading the great reviews about it and looking at the great photos. We were very disappointed with this hotel. First of all what defines a boutique Hotel? Pros: The room was clean and the hotel is about 10-15 mins walking to main road. Cons: The shower was horrible, leaking all over and the water pressure was weak. The staff were not friendly (at least not to us). We saw how nice they were to Asian travelers but how they didn't care much to talk to us or provide any help. This was disappointing because we thought they were going to be helpful and friendly. The hotel has a pool table that only the staff uses (we didn't see any other guests using it). There is NO breakfast, no recommendations on restaurants and if you want to rent a bike (scooter), expect to pay more than other places. I asked the staff why? he said because we are a hotel and charge more. What? Are you serious? shouldn't you actually give a discount to customer or a fair price ? Housekeeping is non-existent. Even though they came by the bed did not even look nicely made. There is a lot of construction on the road outside the hotel and you want to go anywhere you will have to walk on mud and dust or get a tuck tuck that will rip you off. This place has potential but they need to make changes to make it friendly to non asian people, provide good services, fix their bathrooms and make it fun and friendly.

Room Tip: Rent a cheaper bike (scooter) down the road (you will save some money). Gas is also cheaper down the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DecoWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Islanda for 3 nights with my partner, the staff were very friendly . We arrived and our room was not ready but they managed to swap us to another room so we could check in early.
It's about a 15 min walk to patong beach - there is a lot of building work taking place around the hotel roads.
The room was nice ... Big bed - lovely fridge - hot water - drinking water provided every day.
The owner was lovely very helpful - we didn't want to walk to the beach one day so he arranged for us to use the pool and gym at the new Art buildings - which was fantastic... This was for free !!
One piece of advice we would give is to try and avoid the most direct road to the beach - it has the mains for the water sewerage system on it and smells really bad ! For the price we paid I would def return !

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank LaraT1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Room is nice and clean. The complimentary water and snacks in the room each day was a nice touch. Also, the hotel offers scooter rentals for 300 baht a day. Scooters are probably the easiest and cheapest way to get around Phuket so it was nice having on-site rentals available.

The staff is friendly, but many of them don't speak english too well. Also, the wifi was unreliable during our stay, as the signal kept cutting out.

If you want to stay in Patong and don't want to spend too much, I'd recommend this place. It was also a nice base to do other activities (like day tours to koh phi phi) as most tour companies offer free pickup/dropoff from the Patong area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Absolutely loved this hotel. Everything was brand new and clean, and so cheap for what we received. Taxi driver did get lost on the way there as there was road works but once there it was great. 10 mins walk to beach. We hired a moped through the hotel which was a great way to explore the island. Great staff.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

An amazing hotel with lot of warmth and a home like atmosphere. Darm and Minn (the owners) are simply amazing people who are so passionate about running this place. The property is very clean and well maintained. They were also very helpful in planning our travel without expecting any commissions. Totally not money minded but service oriented. Thank you guys.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ranganath K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 333 in Patong
6,395 reviews
0 mi away
The Little Moon Residence
The Little Moon Residence
#49 of 333 in Patong
152 reviews
0 mi away
Patong Studio Apartments
Patong Studio Apartments
#26 of 236 in Patong
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
0 mi away
Burasari Resort
Burasari Resort
#6 of 333 in Patong
3,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islanda Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islanda Boutique Hotel

Address: 162/98-100 Phangmeung Sai Kor Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 420 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range: £18 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Islanda Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islanda Boutique Hotel, a peace of home in Patong, offers far more than holiday accommodation. Careful attention by the owner and staff ensures a totally relaxing holiday experience that will leave you lasting memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Islanda Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islanda Boutique Hotel Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing