We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea Sun Sand Patong - Thailand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa
Ranked #78 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sea Sun Sand Patong - Thailand”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Nice hotel to stay. Dont expect aircond or fan at reception area. Only problem with the hotel is signage to rooms. we stay at B207. but to go to the room , its like playing treasure hunt. if u r new, u wouldn't know how to get there. no proper signage. Was surprise to have private pool at this hotel. Please take note if u want to have private pool. ask for B or A level. Tourist area all quite nearby. Good area to stay. Fantasea was good. Highly amazingly recommended. But the air cond was a let down, and warm. By the way TQ Sea Sun Sand Resort n TQ Phuket.

Room Tip: Short n T shirt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    241
    118
    48
    52
See reviews for
109
324
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed here for 5 days from 23rd - 28th March 2013, and the stay could not be better. The location of the hotel is off the main busy areas of Patong and thus away from the noise of the nightlife. Still everything is only a 5-10 mins walk.
We stayed in a Deluxe Suite B307 and though it was not supposed to be Sea View, our terrace offered a lovely view of the Sea. The room was clean and fresh throughout the stay, courtesy a lovely housekeeping staff. This was despite us coming in everyday with loads of sand :-)
The staff was always smiling and very helpful throughout our stay.

Special Mention to the SPA - One of the best spa experiences I have ever had. The ambiance is amazing with water sounds, soft music and surreal atmosphere. Highly recommend the Aromatherapy Massage.

Recommendations:
1. Since the best mode of transport in a motorbike, hire one from a nearby place. Ask the reception for NEENA. She gives very good rates.
2. The Concierge desk is monitored by a lady and her husband. They were the most informative and helpful, not only in tours but local information too. They are highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask them to give a room on the higher floors. They have very good views, though they might be a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nitinbarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great because of its location. Only a few hotels in Patong have a view of the ocean; this one is part of the few! It is close enough to the noisy and fun centre of Patong but when you are back it feels like a true quite tropical island experience. The rooms are airy and modern. The breakfast area has a beautiful view of the sea and offers a wide variety of delicious food. The pool is perfectly located (there are more than one) for beautiful sunset views. The only fault we could find was that none of the public areas have aircon but they follow a greenish approach! We had a deluxe room with partial sea view, next to the pool (we also enjoyed the close proximity as it was so hot!). We can highly recommend this hotel based on price, service, location and what they have on offer!!!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kobus69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

I got the pool access room which is on the 2nd floor of block D..Quite place with beautiful surrounding.. the room is clean. The staff there is very polite and helpful. Even though there is some language barrier, they tried their very best to cater our request.

Shopping;
It was a good exercise of approx 2 km walk. Just take the service van to benceylon and walk all the way down to sea sun sand..

Beach;
Just 10 mins walk to Kalim beach(right side) and Patong beach (left side)

With the exprience, for sure I am coming back there for holiday..

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patiseni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

We stayed at Sea Sun Sand for 9 nights in the last week of October 2012. We traveled in a group of 7 people all aged 20-23. (2 girls 5 guys)

When we checked in we had originally booked the deluxe ocean view rooms but they informed us that they had made a mistake with the bedding arrangements (we needed 1 twin room they had booked all doubles) so they gave us the option of upgrading our rooms free of charge because we specifically requested upon booking the beds we wanted and that we wanted our room all beside each other. They were so polite and apologetic through the whole thing, it took about 30 mins from then to get to our rooms. that might be a long time for some people but it was fine for us because she was upgrading our room :) They walk you all the way to your room and show you where everything is and how to use everything (if you don't know) The rooms are very modern and the grounds are immaculate it feels like you are in a rain forest.

The Spa is amazing, so beautiful with gardens and ponds, candles and sculptures in the gardens and very reasonably priced and open till 10 at night! The staff there were fantastic, they let us make a last minute booking one night at 9:30 and they stayed back till quarter past 10. They didn't rush us or make us feel rushed at all. In fact all the staff throughout the whole resort I give 10/10, everyone was so friendly and laid back and polite. One night late we ordered takeaway to they resort and one of the staff at reception walked me all the way back to my room. (because i was on my own)

The room service is great and cheap and so are the cocktails :) The restaurant has a very nice menu and excellent wait staff also has a very lovely man who sings with his guitar at dinner (that was my favorite part of dinner). The breakfast for me was the only let down but that's because I am a VERY fussy eater and not really a breakfast person anyway. It was buffet style with a big range of foods.

Because we had a later flight they let us have a late checkout at 3 pm free of charge. They also have an activities and tour desk in reception, the older lady and man (who is the one that sings at dinner) are so nice and probably my favorite staff of the whole resort. There is always taxis out the front and a shuttle bus that runs to the shopping center and beach all day. Its close enough to everything without being to close.

If you are going to stay at sea sun sand make sure you book in rooms with pool access. The rooms we Stayed in were A206-A210 they all share the same pool (as well as about 4 or 5 other rooms) but it is by far the best pool in the resort with the most amazing view! Our rooms (A206-A210 as well as the room the other side of our im guessing A205) all faced the pool directly and had that amazing view. Also all of our rooms except A210 you step directly into the ankle deep pool/water straight of the patio, A210 had decking and a viewpoint out the front, which was good traveling as a group because we would all hang out there if not in the pool. Also we didn't here the early morning prayer or the ones in the evening when we were in our room with the air-con on. It was about a 3 minute walk up hill to get to our room but so worth it especially when it looks so good the whole way.

Thank you VERY MUCH to the staff at Sea Sun Sand for being so accommodating and putting up with a group of rowdy young Australians who were very loud all the time (directed at the boys who loved to bang the gong every time they walked past). We will definitely be back!!!

Room Tip: If you are going to stay at sea sun sand make sure you book in rooms with pool access. The rooms we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaitieReeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

1. Services are good;
2. Room's good with views;
3. Breakfast's so so;
4. Complimentary honey moon room set-up;
5. 15-minutes walking to Jungselon;
6. Taxi/tuk tuk fare starting at 200 Baht;
7. Room wall is not thick enough to prevent the noise from room behind;
8. No air-com at the lobby.

Room Tip: Check with the hotel staff before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Interesting how different people find good and bad with hotels.

To me, this one does not live up to it's 4 star rating or the hype, it's a 3 star at best. Rooms were noisy, you can hear everything your neighbors do when they come home late at night, there is a call to prayer every morning at 5:15am which is annoying to say the least and the rooms need a touch up, our room was showing a little wear and tear.

We stayed in D block on the 4th Floor, just near the restaurant and our room left a lot to be desired when it came to cleanliness. The bed is hard as a rock and the decor has seen better days. The sea view is OK, although requesting a higher floor would have improved the view.

The breakfast, whilst being OK, lacked variation and caters for the Asian market. The location of the resort is excellent, just a short walk to the beach and not much further to the main shopping areas in Patong. Across the road you'll find the Number 9 restaurant, and this I highly recommend, it's clean, cheap and the food is excellent and tasty.

In most cases the staff are friendly and helpful and there is a taxi service right out the front of the hotel if you need it. Check in and check out was fast so all good there and the internet is very high speed and free with the room. Handy if you are doing business which we do.

The pool area needs an upgrade with missing tiles from the main pool which really degrades from the overall look of the place, all it would need is a bit of TLC and this place would look a lot better.

To sum it up, this resort does not live up to it's hype and needs a little TLC, if you want a location that's close to the action, then this meets those needs, but take some ear plugs with you, especially if you happen to get noisy snoring and drunk next room neighbors

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the ocean and ask for a higher floor if possible, less noise there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#33 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Ramada Phuket Deevana
Ramada Phuket Deevana
#15 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
0.8 mi away
The Royal Paradise Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Andaman Beach Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa

Property: Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa
Address: 254 Prabaramee Road | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150 , Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Patong
#40 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa is ideally located at the most beautiful & renowned Patong beach in Phuket. The Resort offers a relaxing atmosphere enjoying the panoramic scenery of Patong bay with its exquisite 250 deluxe rooms in harmoniously contemporary design with traditional Thai-inspired de´cor featuring four different types of stylish accommodation. Explore and fulfill your comfortable stay with our provided facilities, which include two trendy restaurants, outdoor swimming pools with amazing pool deck, round-shaped Jacuzzi, poolside & Sunset bars , Spa treatments, fitness room, reading corner, game room , shopping arcade and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing