We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Patong Hemingway's Hotel
Ranked #169 of 334 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This is my first time at the new Hemingways having stayed at the older hotel twice previously. This is a step up with friendly staff from the owner, Steve, GM, Victor to all the guys looking after you. Brilliant Western breakfast, great food Thai and Western, good beer, value for money is exceptional. It has a great pool bar on the roof, great to chill out and have a quiet beer. The location is also great, just a short walk from all the action, the beach and anything else you would require to your stay in Phuket. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a mid range (but gives you 5 star) hotel, I will be going back to stay very soon.

Room Tip: They have suites, but I am just as happy in the standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Dear Robbie,
I will be good to see you again soon and personally thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

Great location and a great hotel! Rooms are clean and surprisingly well appointed. The ambience creates a very relaxed atmosphere which is enhanced with the friendly staffs “can do” and professional attitude. The hotel is situated very close to the local attractions and the beach, while also avoiding the main street, which can be noisy at times. The restaurant serves wonderful local cuisine and has an ample menu for the less adventurous. If I were to choose the best feature of this hotel it would have to be the roof top pool and bar, a fantastic place to relax and unwind if the short walk to the beach is a little too much for you. Can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHemingways, Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Dear Kames K.
Thank you so much for your kind review, As the hotel Manager pass copies of all reviews for the staff to read, and reviews such as your is always a boost to the staff moral and helps them to continue their best to please our guests.
Regards
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

If you are looking for a comfortable, friendly place to stay, without the stuffiness, annoyances, and expense of chain hotel, then this is the one. Perfect location, near to attractions & beach (10 mins walk) with the benefits of quiet location. A good mix of European management and Thai friendliness & service. Food varies from traditional English breakfast (real sausages & bacon) to high quality Thai cuisine. Roof pool and bar is a hidden gem, Harry the barman is excellent, try his 'flat-liner' cocktail as a kick start. Will be going back again

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor H, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Hi Stephen,
Very kind of you to take time to write a review, We always pass these reviews for the staff to see, as we believe its important for them to learn how our guests enjoyed their stay. We are happy to see that you had a nice stay and thank you for the compliments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Great hotel! Very friendly staff. Close to all the highlights of patong. Beach is only 5 mins walk / 10 mins with hot sun! We went shopping everyday as the large mall was about 5 mins walk away and kids always wanted something when we passed! (not to mention the other half!). Hotel Restaurant had lovely food, best of Western and Thai. We managed to get connecting rooms with comfortable beds, nice and clean. Mini-bar well stocked and free mineral water was a bonus. Kids had a great time at the small pool on the rooftop, while we watched them and had a few drinks at the friendly bar and made new friends. All staff spoke english and the management were always about and helpful. Definitely recommended !! For families get them to book the Phuket fantasea show, give yourself time to look around as you can take pictures with baby elephants and tiger cubs. For party people hotel is a great location as its on a back road away from the noise but only 5 mins to walk to main street with the bars. Be warned there are 2 hemingways both same management but you need to be clear with the taxi driver if you book your own as this is the newer of the 2. If you do get dropped at the wrong one it's about 2 mins away in a taxi.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank su_bianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor H, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review the management and staff are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

So yea it's a new hotel. The room is small, but good enough. Clean. Bathroom is a bit disappointing. Clean but somehow has this funny kinda smell. Hot shower available. Location is perfect. just a few minutes walk from Jungceylon mall. So for muslim travellers that would be an advantage since there are 3 or 4 halal stalls at the foodcourt. Sure u can find kebab or indian food on the street but of course, quite expensive. Back to the location, it is only around 10 minutes walk from the beach. If you're into night life, Bangla Road is also easily accessible since it is located just opposite the mall. Internet is available at the lobby for free. Overall on the pros, it is convenient enough, close to everything and u won't have to worry about the noise at night. Let's talk about the cons. So yea my room is literally a feet away from the next building. Without the lights on, it feels like 10pm all the time. but i dont really mind about that. what's disappointing to me is the deposit required. 1000baht! and most of the receptionists are so friendly, NOT! On top of that, while checking out i had to pay for this mineral water that i swear i didnt drink. Sure it's only 360 baht but c'mon.. is that how u make extra money?
Anyway, i had a good stay in Phuket. If it's not because of the little things, i would've given this hotel a 5 star review.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Syazzy_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor H, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

We are genuinely sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that our hotel was not up to your expectations, whilst I agree we are not five stars but then again nor are our prices. perhaps if you had more experience of hotels in Patong then you may appreciate that the hotel is not such a hell hole
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

In one word: Great.

in details,

Prime location near the main street of Patong beach (BangLa).
100 meters from the night main events

But far more when that,

Really great staff, 24/7 they were attendant to any request....

Free WIFI (in my country it is basic, but in Europe and other countries including Thailand, it is not so obvious thing)

And far more then what, free new brands computers for free surfing. in case you do not have your laptop with you.....

At last hotel that understand that with no internet connection as a basic thing for the guests hotel, this is not it.

Clean rooms, dedicated room cleaning, swimming pool on the roof, and great in house restaurant with fair price...

one funny thing their is some kind of other doing....
you get a warn unnecessary Duvet (thick blanket)
someone must tell the hotel management that it Thailand this is totally unnecessary and even disturbing..
so, I took it of, and stained with the pillowcase :-) light blanket at this hotel will be much better ...

At the button line:

Totally recommended place.
I were their almost 20 days, and loved everyday their.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natxo_PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#53 of 334 in Patong
395 reviews
0 mi away
Elegancy Sansabai Hotel
Elegancy Sansabai Hotel
#93 of 334 in Patong
80 reviews
0 mi away
The Gig Hotel
The Gig Hotel
#126 of 334 in Patong
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0 mi away
The Expat Hotel
The Expat Hotel
#101 of 334 in Patong
219 reviews
0 mi away
Acca Patong
Acca Patong
#140 of 334 in Patong
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Hemingway's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Hemingway's Hotel

Address: 179/95-98 Soi Sansabai | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#52 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £23 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Patong Hemingway's Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owners Steve and Nuch welcome you to their second 3 star family owned hotel Patong Hemingway's, a contemporary Thai style hotel, on the beautiful and exciting island of Phuket. The hotel is staffed by a well trained and charming team who are here to serve.The reception team will direct you to your room via the elevator. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated; they have all of the usual facilities, such as, Telephone, Safe deposit box, WI-FI, Cable TV, Mini bars are fully stocked and beverages are sold at bar prices, not hotel prices, tea making facilities and even room service. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served in the Mango Tree restaurant and bar on the ground floor. The restaurant serves a fantastic selection of Thai food, Seafood and International food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Patong Hemingway's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patong Hemingway's Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing