We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, Great value for money, Best staff! :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Patong Hemingway's Hotel
Ranked #169 of 321 Hotels in Patong
1 review
“Good location, Great value for money, Best staff! :)”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

I'm a 25 year old male. I stayed here for one week with two friends during September '13.

My stay was nothing less than perfect. We spent several nights drinking and eating dinner at the rooftop pool bar. The meals were excellent and reasonably priced and the service up there was amazing. (Thanks Charlie!)

The breakfast buffet was also cheap and there was an abundance of food. Eggs are made to order however you like.

We had a chat with a manager, Victor at the pool bar one night who was polite and really helpful, living in Thailand for a long time he knew some interesting sights we could see. He was welcoming and easy to get along with and was happy to receive feedback regarding the hotel.

All in all this hotel was great. The only very minor issue I had was with a slight odor in my room and mentioned this to staff and on request was immediately relocated to a new room.

This hotel is great value and I would highly recommend to all of my friends planning to stay in Patong.

Thanks for the wonderful stay! :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Robbo B,
Thank you so much for your kind review of the hotel, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Charlie will be delighted for your mention of excellent service. The customers feed back certainly is very helpful to keep our staff motivation. I appreciate your comment on the minor issue of the stale odour in your room We immediately reminded our housekeeping staff to ensure that .they air the rooms prior to our guests arrival to ensure they smell fresh as well as clean. A note for future guests reading this review should they find any problem no matter how small please feel free to contact our staff or the General Manager. Our guests are important to us and we know that its the small things that count.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    84
    39
    12
    17
See reviews for
18
75
64
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Great value for money and perfect location with less than 2 minute walk to Bangla road to enjoy the nightlife all the staff were very nice room was more than adequate with air con and free in room wifi. Pool and bar is excellent and gives you a place to relax without people hassling you to buy things like you get on the beach
am going to stay here next trip to Phuket for sure

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathan189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Nathan189,
A very nice review, thank you for taking time out to write. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and had a nice relaxing time at the Sun deck, Pool and bar. Its a favourite of many of our guests who also like you think our location is perfect very close to the night life but a quiet location so you can get sleep. A suggestion for the night owls and party people request a room on the right side of the hotel where you can get a long sleep in sheltered from the bright sun.
Nathan thank you again for your lovely review.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here from 22-26 September 2013, This hotel was not our 1st choice due to its only have 72 reviews compared to other hotels which has more review.we were choosing between 3 other hotels but i decided to go for Patong hemingways to give it a try which I didnt Regret my decision. Here my reasons why for we its great place to stay.

SERVICE: we arranged a airport transfer from the hotel, we arrived at phuket earlier than expected arrival time we are prepared to wait for the driver BuT into Our Surprised the driver is already waiting for us.two thumbs up for the driver who came early to pick up us. Check in and check out also was very smooth.Hotel staffs including the restaurant staff also was very polite,friendly & customer service was really good.

LOCATION: Location was perfect for us very convenient to everywhere PATONG Beach (less than 10mins.)/ JUNGCEYLON MALL,BANGLA ROAD,BANZAAN MARKET (all is less than 5mins.). Hotel arrounding has a lot of restaurants,convinience store like 711&24 mart, tuktuk,taxi and motor bike rental. I really love location its PeRFECt thats why i was really happy on my decision to choose here.

AMENITIES: our favorite amenities is the free WIFI even inside our room its has a WIFI compared to other hotel WIFI only at the lobby or no free wifi.We also love the. Rooftop swimming pool with a bar that u relax and chill.very nice view overlooking Patong district and patong beach.

ROOM: Room was clean,comfortable,average room size (IF you are looking for a big room then this not the one for you) . I requested for a high floor and city view. High floor was given but it was not a city view perhaps the view is the next building so its quite deem in the room due to no sunlight.but i didnt ask for a room transfer already since most of our time will be spent outside.

Overall we still have a nice stay in the hotel.Highly recommended value for money. We will definely stay here again on our next visit to phuket.

Joyce

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bajhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Bajhoy,
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we all so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. You are right we do not have many reviews on Trip Advisor probably due to the fact we do not remind or push our guests to write reviews which is probably a wrong move on my part though we do have a Trip Advisor sticker on the front entrance. Thank you for your compliments on our driver arriving early Perhaps here would be a good place to remind our future guests. That it is important to send and email direct to the hotel regarding airport transfers with the full flight details so we can check on the planes arrival times. I know many guest when booking on line request airport transfers however many times the booking form from the agent is vague and we need confirmation but most online do not give out the email address of the Guest so we have no way of contacting them. So please always send and email request for airport transfers to info@patonghemingways.com.
The hotels location is always a plus factor as we are located so close to everything but in a quiet location so no loud music and traffic noise.
In this day and age one would think all hotels would offer free Wi-Fi in the rooms Many of our guests love spending time sunbathing at the pool deck while using their laptops, tablets and iPods etc. Those without can use our free internet station at the front lobby. Sorry about having no view, We do try to meet guests requests unfortunately sometime we do not have the availability. Guest can easily ask our reception if it is possible to change and we always try our best, Being a party town many of our guests actually prefer not to have the bright sunlight so that they can sleep late
Thanks again for your kind review and we look forward to your return.
Regards
Victor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rijeka, Croatia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Great central location , 3 mins from Bangla, 10 min walk from beach.
Great staff, especially receptionist TOON!!
Rooms and clean and comfortable. Mini bar decent.
Restaurant next to reception very good, with big menu choice, and also great waiters.
I strongly recommend this hotel, and will be coming back, next time when visiting Patong.
Not to forget, value for money is TOP TOP TOP.
Cannot find one negative complaint.... Cheers






Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank MarLo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear MarLo2011,
Thank you so much for your kind review, I am sure Khun Toon our receptionist will be delighted for the special mention. We always pass the information from Trip Advisor to let our staff know how well or indeed how badly they have been assessed. As you mentioned the hotel's location is one of its bests assets being centrally located but in a quiet area without the noise. We look forward to your next visit. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we can continue to give our guests a quality of service.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erina, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night in Sept 2013,room was small with slight musty smell,bed was hard,food overpriced and charged for bottled water at checkout...better cheaper options around Sansabai.
This was my fifth trip to Phuket but stayed here first time due to good reviews,but really can't find much good to say apart from the rooftop bar and pool area which looked nice with good district views.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Steve L,
Thank you for your review, I was actually at first extremely concerned about your review however having now read your previous reviews for the Yorkshire hotel restaurant and The Expat hotel both located nearby and noted your even lower score in these reviews I now understand feel much happier. However for Guest reading your review please note, The hotel is happy to arrange for extra padding to be placed on the beds if they find them too firm for their taste. If you had informed us we could have easily done this for you. In regard to the charge for a bottle of water, The hotel provides two bottle of water free of charge which are next to the fridge however if you use the mineral water from the fridge this is chargeable and clearly shown on the minibar price list. Your comments on the food being overpriced is somewhat subjective. We do not add service charge or tax to the price as many restaurants do at the end when you ask for the bill, but the tax is included in the prices shown so you when you pay your bill it is exactly the same as the price on the menu which many of our guests appreciate.
many thanks for your review.
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This was a family trip for us and going to Phuket for a short vacation of 3 days and 2 nights stay, we wanted to enjoy the time spent there and decided to stay in Patong Hemingway Hotel located in Patong area which we knew that it was located nearby to Jungceylon Mall, which was a Plus for us, doing some shopping as well besides going to the beach. Everything was within walking distance from the hotel.
We didn't have to walk too far to the shopping mall, and also to Banzaan Market sells fresh food, seafood, everything, upstairs, they even have eating stalls which will cook for you with a small fee for the fresh food and seafood that you buy!
This hotel has comfortable beds plus comfy pillows too.The Management and staff are friendly too. The breakfast provided may not have a vast variety but it was sufficient and tasty to our liking. There was a swimming pool on the rooftop of the hotel and nice view of the surrounding area of Patong.

We shifted to two different rooms on the 2nd night as we wanted to have 2 connecting rooms. One room had twin beds and another had a double bed. However we regretted changing to these rooms as the rooms had a bit of stench smell, also one of the bathrooms, the shower area, the water didn't flow well into the outlet thus the water flowed right to the room and to the other connecting room, much to our dismay.
As it was already late at night, also the hotel was fully booked, we just stay put and the staff did ask us if we wanted to shift to another of their sister hotel but they need to check on the availability. Since it was already late at night, we didn't want to. The staff apologised and quickly attended to cleaning up the wet floor.

We reported to the Management of the incident the next morning and they regretted and apologised. I am sure they then attended to get the maintenance staff to look into it soonest after our incident.

To sum it all,we enjoyed our short stay there. Comfortable hotel, comfortable beds, friendly staff. Location great!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Grace,
Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is a very much plus point when staying in Patong Beach there are many hotels in Patong beach that are some distance from the shopping area and the night life and guests can easily spend over 400 Baht extra a day on local taxis getting to and from the beach, shopping area or night life. Again I apologize for the problem with the bathroom water flow and smell unfortunately it was rather late in the evening for our maintenance people to fix, However I understand it was repaired immediate upon you check out. Your review has been passed to our staff and they thank you.
Regards
Victor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for five nights earlier this month and absolutely loved it!! Before we arrived in Phuket i sent the hotel an email enquiring about an airport shuttle and got a reply back within the hour. We used Agoda to make our booking and booked a double room not including breakfast for £16 a night for the two of us so we weren't expecting great things for this price but we were pleasently suprised - when we arrived and were checking in we were greeted with free fruit cocktails, the room is cleaned with fresh sheets and towels every single day. The mini bar was bar prices and not the usual mini bar extortionate prices. The room service itself was free so we took full advantage of this during a hangover day and the staff were so polite and even came in to our room and laid out the food nicely for us on the table. All of the staff throughout the hotel regardless of what their job was would greet you with a smile and always say hello. The roof top pool and bar were just an another bonus if you ask me. The hotel is close enough to the beach and main strip (5-10 minute walk) but far enough away so you are not kept up all night! Have recommended this hotel to several friends already and will continue to do so! Thank you for such amazing service!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHemingways, General Manager at Patong Hemingway's Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Jenna801,
Our staff loved your review and ask me to ensure that I thank you. The hotel owners, management and all our staff do their very best to ensure that Guests enjoy their stay with us. We appreciate that not all three star hotels change the bed linen each day or indeed provide room service, We are so delighted that you also enjoyed our roof top pool and bar. Many of our guests comment on the quietness of our location because we are so near to the hustle and bustle of the night life and shopping area. We are pleased that you will be recommending our hotel to your friends and we look forward to them staying with us, Please however note that the high and peak seasons are approaching and it is advisable to book early, for the best rates and for latest availability it probably better to book direct through the hotel website at www.patonghemingways.com
Thank you once again for your kind review
Regards
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#36 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acca Patong
Acca Patong
#133 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elegancy Sansabai Hotel
Elegancy Sansabai Hotel
#81 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Expat Hotel
The Expat Hotel
#101 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#58 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Gig Hotel
The Gig Hotel
#99 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Hemingway's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Hemingway's Hotel

Property: Patong Hemingway's Hotel
Address: 179/95-98 Soi Sansabai | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#52 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Patong Hemingway's Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owners Steve and Nuch welcome you to their second 3 star family owned hotel Patong Hemingway's, a contemporary Thai style hotel, on the beautiful and exciting island of Phuket. The hotel is staffed by a well trained and charming team who are here to serve.The reception team will direct you to your room via the elevator. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated; they have all of the usual facilities, such as, Telephone, Safe deposit box, WI-FI, Cable TV, Mini bars are fully stocked and beverages are sold at bar prices, not hotel prices, tea making facilities and even room service. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served in the Mango Tree restaurant and bar on the ground floor. The restaurant serves a fantastic selection of Thai food, Seafood and International food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Patong Hemingway's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patong Hemingway's Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing