We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired and dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Paradise Hotel & Spa
Ranked #64 of 321 Hotels in Patong
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
279 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Tired and dated”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This was our 4th stay at the Royal Paradise in the last 5 years, and unfortunately it will be our last. We have noticed a gradual decline in the hotel since our first stay, the outside of the hotel was being painted when we stayed and that was badly needed, the inside now needs to be done. The inside is looking very dated when you consider the other new hotels being built in Patong.
The variety available at breakfast has declined over the past 5 years, it has about half the food available as when we first stayed here. (the toaster has been fixed!)
The location to Bangla Rd is good, and I would recommend a high floor in the tower to avoid the noise of the nearby night clubs.
The attendants around the pool seem more concerned with the amount of towels you take than serving in the pool bar. They officiate the handing out of pool towels like prison guards handing out rations! Not something you want to experience on your holiday.
There is no way this hotel can be considered 4 star, it is 2.5 to 3 star at best. We paid just under $100AUD per night, and in Patong this is overpriced. Whilst we were in Patong we had a look at a couple of other hotels at around the same price and we will definitely stay elsewhere next time.
Really the future for the Royal Paradise is either a major upgrade to retain it’s so called 4 star rating or drop their prices to match other 2.5 to 3 star hotels.

Room Tip: High in the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skaz67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operation M, Manager at The Royal Paradise Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Good Morning ,
Many thank for taking the time to share your experience with us after you leave here. About the breakfast we have a lot of choice for our customer to select . The Room normally we have renovated every years we 're doing for the painting and vanish our furniture . we would like to apologize about the painting because we have plan to paint the color of our building for improve our hotel .
Thank you again for choosing us once again as your home away from home
And we are looking forward to see you on your next trip to Phuket .

Best Regard,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    542
    296
    114
    103
See reviews for
235
388
120
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed here for 6 days in October 2013. Check in was smooth and they gave us a complimentary welcome drinks while waiting for our room to be ready. We are lucky to get a corner room on the 16th floor...views very nice! Staff a friendly and our room was clean. Only thing is, there's no wifi in our room...just in the lobby, but that doesn't really bother me. Walking distance to everything....I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Corner rooms especially facing the ocean and hills...they have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria_Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operation M, Manager at The Royal Paradise Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Good Morning ,
Many thank for taking the time to share your experience with us after you leave here. We were more than happy to beat your service and are proud to have enjoyed your time again .
It is a joy to read what a fantastic time you had once again while here and we thank you for spotlighting our staff too. We have shared your comment with them .
Thank you again for choosing us once again as your home away from home .
And we are looking forward to see you on your next trip to Phuket .

Best Regard,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We checked into this hotel which was booked through TripMasters. The hotel smelled moldy, it was run down. The rooms don't look at all like the pictures you see here and the manager behaved like he was interrupted during his nap time when we insisted on checking out immediately.

The hotel patrons were mostly of the quality you would see at a hostel or 1-star backpacker-type of accommodation. I have toured around the world twice and have backpacked too. I don't want to sound snooty or arrogant. This hotel was a disappointment.

There are MUCH better options nearby. We ended up staying at Destination Resorts for around $80 per night. It was right next to the beach and was outstanding in accommodation and luxury for the price.

Room Tip: Destination Resorts booked through Expedia in Thailand
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morad_Askar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operation M, Manager at The Royal Paradise Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Good Morning ,
Thank you for your review on The Royal Paradise Hotel and Spa and i am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
For your comment about the hotel smell moldy actually every time when our staff finish clean up the room they will spray in the room before they leave . We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future .

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Patong hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is a Hotel that is completely run down and the staff do not care. This hotel in the USA would not earn a star ratting at all and it would be a $35 a night there. Go to google maps to get a good idea where it is located.

Room Tip: The higher the better to avoid noise pollution
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ub40gbGb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operation M, Manager at The Royal Paradise Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Good Morning ,
Thank you for your review on The Royal Paradise Hotel and spa . and i am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
For your comment i will share to our Hotel Management and we appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future .

Best Regard ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Just returned from 9 nights at the Royal Paradise. On first arrival we went to our Deluxe room in the Royal wing (this is the smaller, semi circle building next to the pool). 3/4 of the room was beds (given one double and a single and a matress type chair). All very hard so uncomfortable for my partner. The room was clean though and overlooked the pool from the second top floor.

In the room there was a letter from the hotel sitting in the room saying renovations were being done over a three month period and we walked out on the balcony to find men painting right outside our room. Hoping they would leave, we waited a day before notifiying the hotel we wanted a room swap. To be honest - I was really surprised that this room was given to me, considering I had booked months in advanced and could have been given a room that didn't have renovations happening right outside. There was no privacy at all and we had to keep the blinds shut. Might as well have stayed somewhere without windows at all.

When we notified the manager about the issue they did kindly upgrade us a junior suite room. It was large and in the Paradise wing on the 20th floor. It had great views and we were satisfied with the swap. However, that night it rained and our bathroom lights began leaking over the bath. Not great for a room which is supposed to cost guests around $280AU a night. And again, it was only another day or two before the painters were on our balcony again. This time they were actually ON the balcony. They were spraying water on our windows and balcony floor which wet our towels. Although the room was definitley larger and the view better, unfortunately the problem remained.

We also had issues with the maids turning off our air conditioning. We would go for a walk to the shops and come back to find the staff had come into the run and shut off the air conditioning. We would return to a hot room and this happened every single day of our stay. Seems pointless to give guests a card for electricity in the room when they just turn it all off the moment you leave!

Beakfast at this hotel was good - I have had better buffets at other hotels and with more variety. Here there was basically the same stuff every single day. They missed little touches - like muffins, sweets, different types of potato every day or other little things for foreigners like peanut butter or vegemite which you can find at other thailand hotels.

I will say the location of this hotel in regards to Bangla Road is great. Its about a two minute walk, and maybe a five to ten minute walk to the beach. The only other thing about it is that its run day. I will admit that after the painting works were completely the hotel definitley looked better, but unfortunately its surrounded by lots of other buildings and houses as its in the middle of Patong and they are all dirty and falling apart which brings the general appearance of the Royal Paradise down.

The staff were nice though.

All in all - I would probably not recommend this hotel. Stay somewhere closer to the beach. Its nice to walk out and look at the sand and sunset than someone elses dirt washing line or something. It would need to be redone inside AND out to get my vote. With changes to the breakfast, the light fixing, the privacy issues and a few other things.

I would only maybe recommend this hotel to gay men, as the hotel is located outside at least two lanes of gay bars which give you access to the main road and on your way to Bangla. Very close for those people interested.

Room Tip: Stay in the paradise wing (tall building). Its easy to get to from reception and has better views. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ng91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operation M, Manager at The Royal Paradise Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Good Morning ,
Thank you for your review on The Royal Paradise Hotel and spa and I am Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel . For your all comment I will share your comment with our team . I am sure that this feedback will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope you must visit us again .

Best Regard,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I came to this hotel for an evening drink at sunset. There is a great view on the 24th floor but only enough seating for four inside to see it. You can sit outside too but its on a dirty and run down balcony with no seating unless they drag a table outside for you. If you got up to the 25th floor the view is better but only for those dining at the restaurant. This place is in a great location not far from Balgla rd. No free WiFi.

1 for 1 cocktails after 5pm as well though mine was not very good sorry.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5_star_chikita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operation M, Manager at The Royal Paradise Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Good Afternoon,
We very much appreciate your comment regarding your stay at The Royal Paradise Hotel and Spa . For your comment about the balcony at 24 floor we would like to apologize because that period stay we are painting our building then it will be a little bit dirty .
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future .

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

great location & view, breakfast was good, swimming pool seems nice but for the rooms old furniture , bathroom poor cleanliness,staff not nice, no free WiFi, if iam going to visit Phuket again, i won't pick this hotel .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heba Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operation M, Manager at The Royal Paradise Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Good Afternoon ,
Thank you for your review on The Royal Paradise Hotel and Spa and i am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel . For Your comment about the Wi Fi actually we provide free wifi at the second floor in front of the coffee shop and around our lobby area . If you would like to use the wifi we have in the room also but we charge for 100 baht for one day .
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future .

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#26 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
0.4 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#7 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Paradise Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Paradise Hotel & Spa

Property: The Royal Paradise Hotel & Spa
Address: 135/23 Rat-U-Thit 200 Years Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Patong
#37 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Paradise Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Paradise Hotel & Spa is located in famous Patong Beach on the tropical island of Phuket. Centrally located, the hotel offers easy access to the vibrant entertainment & shopping district, with the stunning Patong Beach and a variety of memorable tourist attractions just a short walk away. We are a contemporary hotel ideal for holidaymakers, families as well as a group of friend and independent travelers. Most room from Paradise wing have the Panorama sea view with their private balcony. While rooms from Royal wing have pool and mountain view with the private balcony. We provide car parking area for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Paradise Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Paradise Patong
The Royal Paradise Hotel & Spa Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing