We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene Experience.”
Review of Amari Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amari Phuket
Ranked #2 of 321 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Noida, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Serene Experience.”
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Date: August 2010
Amari Hotel is one of the best hotel available in Phuket. We upgraded our rooms and the staff was very cordial and gave us that perfect discount to upgrade to a more luxurious room. The scene outside the room with the view of the beach is awsome. And don't miss the Jetty, it is perfect for a romantic walk

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RajeshMajji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,013
    1,057
    203
    57
    24
See reviews for
1,226
2,793
179
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,069)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
173 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We stayed at the Amari Coral Beach resort in April from the 15th to the 25th. This was our second trip to Patong and we stayed at the Merlin Beach resort last year. We wanted something a little closer hence the move to the Amari.From check in to check out , our experience with the Amari was wonderful. The staff were lovely anf friendly and embodied fully the Thai ethos of "The land of smiles".
The Buffet breakfasts each morning were great with plenty of variety.The property itself was maintained and clean,we were upgraded from a Superior room to a delux on arrival, and the room was clean and roomy with lovely water views.
There are a lot of stairs in the resort, however we did not find this a problem.
Physically challenged people, or the elderly, may have some difficulty with the amount of stairs. We did not eat at the resort restaurants, simply because of price.This was the only downside to our stay, as we would have liked to have dinned within the resort, but not at 3 times the price of outside restaurants.
The walk into Patong itself took 10 minutes, and sometimes we caught a tuk tuk back when loaded with shopping, otherwise we walked both ways on most days, with no problems at all.The resort is far enough away from the noise yet close enough to shopping and restaurants etc.
Overall a great stay. We would stay here again, and rate this hotel as good as The Merlin Beach where we stayed last year.

Room Tip: ask for upgrade if it is not given
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tawmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Having read some of the reviews on TripAdvisor shortly before travelling we were a little nervous about what we would find at the Amari Coral Beach. Our first impressions were excellent as we travelled through the lively town of Patong to this quiet hotel set away from the noise and bustle. Those first impressions continued throughout our 9 night stay. The two pools were plenty big enough for the number of guests during our stay, and we were able to get a sunbed at any time of day with no problem. The rooms were relatively basic but comfortable, bright and clean with very effective air conditioning. Views from the balcony, particularly at sunset were beautiful. We particularly enjoyed the happy hour at the pool bar!! Breakfast provided a large choice of foods and we never ate the same thing twice. Our other food experiences at the hotel were not so great and personally I would recommend eating in town rather than in the restaurants which never quite managed to get it right, without getting it awfully wrong either. We walked into Patong every night - not far and a good way of working up an appetite!

Definitely take advantage of the number of activities on offer - although you will probably get them cheaper in town than if booked through the hotel. Do use the hotel bus to Kata Beach though - very effective and a beautiful beach.

The spa was in a beautiful setting but overall we felt very expensive for what it offered, and we had equally effective massages in town at a fraction of the price!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Preciousholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

After escaping our last accommodation in Patong and wanting a hotel with a little bit of luxury, this place really stood out. Unfortunately the weather wasn't the best when we were there, but i would LOVE to come back here again when the weather is fine. Our check in was great, we had a complimentary tea and refresher towel on arrival. We arrived early so had to wait for our room. We decided on their 3 night package deal and selected a non-smoking room, unfortunately when we were shown to our room it was like walking into a smoky bar. I immediately went to reception and complained, and we were told that all of their rooms were smoking but they would remove the ash tray if we wanted it non smoking (why offer non-snoking on your website if people are allowed to smoke in the rooms???) Anyway, with a little bit of persuasion they upgraded us for free to a deluxe room in another part of the hotel. Thankfully this room was what we were waiting for (I would have been bitterly disappointed with the place had we stayed in our original room). All the amenities you could ask for were supplied, the room was spotlessly clean, the main area had been recently updated (although the bathroom smacked of the early 90s). There were two pool areas, three beautiful restaurants, several bars, happy hours galore, the best breakfast EVER, a beautiful private beach and with jetty/jetty bar/sun loungers the works. I wouldn't say that this is a five star hotel due to the few hiccups we had, but we had an amazing time nonetheless. 200 baht tuk tuk into town, but why leave this slice of heaven?

Room Tip: Check Amaris website for good package deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilly1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

We stayed in this hotel for one night during our honeymoon in Thailand. We were greeted by friendly staff in an overheated and smoky lobby. From there we were shown to our room (approximately a 10 minute walk up and down stairs). The room itself looked shabby and run-down. It smelt musty and moldy. After 5 minutes we discovered mold and fungus growing on the walls and around the air conditioner. My wife developed a headache. We complained and were shown to a new room within 10 minutes. No mold here but same shabby furniture.
From the room we were told to have a nice view of the ocean and the beach. Ooops, low tide...ocean is gone, the beach is approximately 30 by 10 feet the rest is a rocky reef. So we have a giant hotel (several 100 rooms at least) with no beach and two small pools. That's not what I expect of a wonderful tropic vacation on the beach. If you want beach you need to get a cap or a tuktuk and go over to the main beach.
A big cruise ship was laying at anchor in the cove while we stayed ther. So for the entire night shuttle boats would go back and forth between Phuket and the ship an we heart every single one of them.
Breakfast next morning was horrible. It is set up in a buffet room that smells like burned grease. The food is in metal serving dishes that get hot and release upon opening a cloud of hot steam, Ouch. I tried a bunch of different things, all of which were mediocre at best. There we about 5 couples sitting there and tons of waiters but none bothered to refill our coffee. We were glad to get the hell out of there and will never return. I cannot recommend this place to anybody and would particularly advice family with children and people having a hard time running up and down stairs at 90+ temperatures to stay away from there.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank JP-Munich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Hi everyone - coops 51 back to write a report on this hotel

This is one of the nicest, friendliest hotels I have had the pleasure of staying at (and I'v done a few).
Great breakfast, lovely staff, lovely service.
Its in a great location to Patong beach & shopping, you can walk off your indulgences or take a short 'Tuk Tuk' ride up the hill.
I have stayed in this hotel on 3 occasions and it rarely disapoints.
My only complaint is that they should make the whole of the 'breakfast' area - NON SMOKING - so that everyone can enjoy thier food without the continuing 'wafting' of smoke. The same around the pool area, not everyone wants to be subjected to smoke in a relaxing area.
Thats my only complaint of this hotel (much better than my recent stay at the PATRA hotel in Bali) - i submitted a review of that place.
Whenever I go to Phuket - this is the one place I will continue to visit.

Room Tip: Well worth returning to
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coops51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Like the other guests said, the hotel has many stairs and the stairs are quite steep. Staff are friendly and helpful, though their English is not that good. We got an ocean view room (though i wonder how many rooms are non-ocean view); we just transferred from Millennium Resort Patong, that place is more like a hotel, and Amari is more like a resort. I did want to compare are the amenities, as I am surprised toothbrush weren't provided until we asked; yet the staff didn't understand I need two toothbrushes; luckily I have one on hand so I save the hassle of asking again. Also, there weren't any hair conditioner is also my other surprise. Another concern is there are many insects, but I know we can't complain coz we are so close to the sea and it just rained.

Pool is nice and we enjoyed sunbathing on the beach chair while looking at the ocean, the jetty seems nice but it's too far and we are lazy to walk to, i wonder if there's golf carts to bring us there instead. We dined in La Gritta which i DO NOT recommend. Food is rather pricey and the quality is disappointing. We ordered minestrone soup which is too salty, lobster risotto, lobster not fresh enough and the risotto is tasteless; salmon pizza with the crust not crispy enough and the salmon too dried and not fresh. Such price do not come with such standards; though I admit the view around sunset is stunning. The breakfast omelette is superb, however there are flies flying around the fruits (i know it's kinda inevitable, but please cover them up)

Anyhow, I'd like to thank them by throwing a surprise to us for putting a "happy wedding cake" in our room as I told them it's our anniversary. The environment is really enjoyable, I'd also recommend this hotel to others, yet I wont recommend dining in La Gritta.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e_siu_je
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
18.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Phuket

Property: Amari Phuket
Address: 2 Meun-Ngern Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Amari Coral Beach Phuket)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Patong
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#1 Spa Hotel in Patong
#2 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#2 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#2 Business Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away on a secluded beach near Patong, Amari Phuket (formerly known as Amari Coral Beach Phuket) is the ideal Phuket vacation spot no matter what you are seeking. With first-class restaurants, affordable luxury accommodation and a quiet private beach, this island resort hotel offers a holiday experience unlike any other. You can indulge in some well-deserved relaxation at the renowned Breeze Spa, offering a whole range of spa treatments and massages. Reward yourself, and come celebrate the magic of Phuket with Amari Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Amari Hotels, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amari Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Coral Beach Phuket Hotel Patong
Amari Coral Beach Hotel
Amari Coral Beach Patong
Amari Coral Beach Resort
Amari Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing