We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in Patong beach - Brilliant setting and within walking distance of the action on Patong”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amari Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amari Phuket
Ranked #2 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Patong beach - Brilliant setting and within walking distance of the action on Patong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

A truly excellent hotel. 2nd time we have stayed there. They put on such a special spread for our honeymoon, a cake, roses on the bed - staff are so amazing. Breakfast spread is brilliant. Location is phenomenal - take your mask and snorkel - probably the ONLY place on Patong where you can snorkel. They have a fantastic pier on the resort that goes right into the bay. Definately book a deluxe room and request a 2nd or 3rd floor room - they are RIGHT on the beach and it is beautiful to sit and watch at night. We HIGHLY recommend this hotel you will not be sorry (and this is our 4th time in Phuket).
Superior rooms are smaller and dont have nearly as nice a view - All deluxe rooms - all 3 floors have a view like photos as it is laid out across the beach front.

Room Tip: Book deluxe room - 2nd or 3rd Floor - SEA VIEW
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZAExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,879
    1,035
    199
    57
    22
See reviews for
1,187
2,708
173
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,034)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

After Reading the other reviews for this hotel I was shocked to see there was even one negative comment!!!

My partner and I agree that this is the best place we have ever stayed. We did get upgraded to a superior room which was gorgeous, with views out over the sea, it was quite a large room, with a good sized, very private balcony.

The food was absolutely amazing, the changing buffet each night was so impressive! And of a really high standard! Huge selection of food from all over!

The Thai restaurant in the hotel was a little expensive, but if you pay for your bill at the end you get a percentage off... The restaurant would be much more expensive if it was in England as the food was spectacular!

The atmosphere in the hotel bar was a little quiet but with live music very night and views over the ocean it wasn't really an issue. 2 happy hours per day too which can't be bad.

One thing we really enjoyed was the hotel's private jetty... The perfect place to watch the sunset wig a cocktail in hand.

The hotel was a haven from the busy patong bay. I would highly recommend this hotel for couples although there were some families there that were enjoying themselves too!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hmoore82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

Were delighted to be informed that due to this being our 1st visit to Amari - we were being upgraded to a Deluxe Room (7115). Coming from a 3 night stay at a budget hotel (Seaview Resort - southern side Phuket) - the Amari was indeed luxury. We wanted to experience hotels on the northern and southern sides of Patong Beach. The professionalism, graciousness and friendliness of staff - as well as the aesthetically pleasing and peaceful environment of the hotel - made our stay extremely worthwhile.

Be prepared for a some exercise - which I welcomed - as there are quite a number of steps to negotiate. The walk to Patong beach is 10 minutes. The incline on the bridge as you return to the hotel is quite steep- but if you take it slow - it should not take you more than 10 minutes to get back to the hotel.

The breakfast buffet offers a wide variety - but the overall ambience in the breakfast area (the sound of water all around you - and the view of the sea) makes it a wonderful setting.

The Amari restaurants are quite pricey - resulting in us eating out in the Patong area most of the time. (Subway for fresh rolls and fillings for lunch) During the evenings we only ventured into those restaurants that were extremely busy - my way of judging that they were serving good food. If you have a sensitive stomach - stay clear from any of the Thai restaurants and stick to familiar places you know.

I did not spend too much time at the pool - and made the daily walk to Patong beach. Most people at the hotel did however seem to like sitting at the pool area for ages. Although it was always reasonably full - you could always find a lounger at the pool. The beach area outside the hotel is definitely not for swimming - only for taking a stroll.

Personally I really did not find anything worthwhile in the markets or at the hundreds of stalls on the street. ( Probably depends on what you are looking for.) I left all my shopping for Bangkok, and only purchased two small souvenirs in Phuket. Loved the Lady-Boys Caberet show (Simon's Caberet) as well as the 5 in 1 Safari. My most memorable experience - receiving a back massage from a Thai elephant. Priceless!!

Overall an enjoyable stay in Phuket.

Room Tip: Always ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theroncee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

We spent 8 nights at Amari Coral beach and found it to be a fantastic balance of peaceful gardens and pools with lovely views and a nice beach frontage. THe staf are friendly and eager to help. It was so close to the hustle of Patong Beach that it was just perfect. A Tuk Tuk into the middle of the action is 200 Baht. We had a superior room which wasn't palatial in size but for 2 people had just enough space and a nice little balcony with a couple of chairs and a table to enjoy the fantastic views across the bay and out to sea.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicktaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

We were recommended this hotel by friends of ours.

We were not impressed. We mixed up paradise and shopping on our honeymoon and Phi Phi Island Village Resort was the paradise side and this stay in Patong was meant to be the shopping side, which it was but the hotel let us down.

The location of the hotel is beautiful, the beach doesn't look great when its low tide but thats not a problem at all. The location on the left of Patong beach is great to get away from the hum drum of Patong shopping and nightlife. Its not too far that you can't walk there. We walked everywhere in Patong. It is definitely the best hotel on that beach. they also provide a free shuttle to Kata beach which is beautiful. Much better than Patong beach.

BUT, its a little run down. The staff are friendly and helpful but the decor is slightly outdated and the rooms are trying to be more modern but aren't achieving the desired effect. Th rooms are all close together and we could hear the people on either side of us all the time. The bathrooms are cramped. The dining room for breakfast is a great but the buffet area is a bit crammed in. The food was good, it wasn't amazing but it was nice. I couldn't fault it. The pools were a huge let down. I understand that they have limited space there due to the location on the hill but a bigger pool and pool area would be a huge asset for this hotel. Kids make lots of noise and generally disturbed most people.

I would not stay there again. I would recommended people go to the Merlin on Tr- Triang beach instead. There are two Merlins in Patong, the one I recommended is the one away from Patong itself but close enough to catch a taxi there. That was an awesome hotel!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brend17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

This hotel was wonderful from the word go. When we arrived, we were directed to reception where we were met with genuine smiles and a beautiful sample of home-made iced tea and refreshing cooling towels infused with a soothing scent. Within minutes, we were whisked off to our room (Superior double) and our bags magically met us there shortly after. Each and every staff member would greet us when passing from check-in to check-out. The room was well kept, clean and modern/fresh and was just the right size - nothing over the top - just a few special touches like flowers placed on beds in the evenings. Sea view was superb - we were in the front row right on the beachfront.

The area/ location was fantastic - far enough to be away from the frantic (but fun) nightlife in Patong but close enough to walk there when needed. Hire a scooter - best decision and it'll save you on Tuk-Tuks back and forth. Around 200thb per day to hire - but be careful (it's not for the faint of heart nor for 'hesitant' drivers). Breakfast was plentiful and the tour advisor was on-the-ball organising day trips and evening shows with tranfers included. And room service! Best Phad Thai i've had yet!

I understand the comments about the massive number of steps and depends on where your room is as to how many you have to contend with - but it was a tiny inconvenience and everything else was so excellent that i forgot to even care about those stairs. Ate at La Gritta - found it over-priced but enjoyed the food. Only negative woul be the beds - not the kind you can 'flop' onto and are rather stiff mattresses- but still had a good nights sleep...

All in all, i'd return and reccommend in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask 4 a room near La Gritta Restaurant (front row)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andaluma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederikssund
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

We have stayed at Coral beach before, so our expectations were high, and as always they were completely fullfilled. The hotel has a great location away from the noise of Patong, but still in walking distance. The rooms are nice and all with sea view. The restaurants and breakfast buffet are all great. But best of all the staff is very friendly, smiling and helpful so you feel welcome at all times and really able to relax.
We have previously stayed at other hotels in Patong, but we will never do that again. We will without any doubt return to Amari.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_Sundet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
18.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Phuket

Property: Amari Phuket
Address: 2 Meun-Ngern Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Amari Coral Beach Phuket)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#1 Spa Hotel in Patong
#1 Family Hotel in Patong
#2 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#2 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#2 Business Hotel in Patong
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away on a secluded beach near Patong, Amari Phuket (formerly known as Amari Coral Beach Phuket) is the ideal Phuket vacation spot no matter what you are seeking. With first-class restaurants, affordable luxury accommodation and a quiet private beach, this island resort hotel offers a holiday experience unlike any other. You can indulge in some well-deserved relaxation at the renowned Breeze Spa, offering a whole range of spa treatments and massages. Reward yourself, and come celebrate the magic of Phuket with Amari Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Amari Hotels, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amari Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Coral Beach Phuket Hotel Patong
Amari Coral Beach Hotel
Amari Coral Beach Patong
Amari Coral Beach Resort
Amari Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing